We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well placed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Three Swans Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Well placed”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Have stayed in this hotel on a few occassions and find the rooms over the function suite are better standard but can be noisy when there is a function on. All rooms are ok though and the free wi fi is a must now and connectivity is great. Reception staff are pleasant but I wouldn't describe them as friendly - a bit of work to do on this area for me. Breakfast is typical but plentiful and they manage to keep it hot too. Central location is great, car parking can be a bit tough when hotel full but have always managed to get a spot. Nice outside area but overused by staff for smoking, and always remains of cigarettes around on floor from residents and staff. Conservatory restaraunt food is OK rather than great and I find the plastic furniture rather off putting, public bar is a bit dated but ok, it serves food too but haven't tried it yet as there is so much choice outside only a minutes walk away. Decent value for money over all.

Room Tip: Away from function suite if event being held at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fromhome1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    419
    137
    57
    29
See reviews for
252
401
39
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We held our wedding at the Three Swans Hotel Market Harborough in December 2012. From our first contact with the wedding co ordinator earlier in the year we received a first class service, nothing was too much trouble. The planning was made a pleasure and any worries were taken from us. On the day of the wedding it went like clock work, every member of staff without exception was helpful, approachable and smiling! They are obviously very experienced in organising these events! The rooms were well set out and tastefully decorated, the food was superb and plenty of it. In the evening we moved to large conference suite for an evening disco and hog roast. The disco, A&M roadshow was brilliant, and the hog roast perfect. We cannot thank the staff team enough for giving us the perfect day. Our accomodation was spot on too! Lots of our guests have since commented on how great the day was and how impressed they were with the hotel. We are happy to give this hotel and its staff team our highest recommendation! Mr and Mrs H

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heatherphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed in this hotel as was attending a business meeting in one of the function rooms.
At first it appeared quiet old fashioned, but upon closer inspection, it was a really just nice and homely. Much like a welcoming country house hotel, albeit in the centre of town.

Plenty of parking (free) and easy to locate.

The bedrooms were surprisingly large, spotlessly clean with big bathrooms. The bedding was clean, comfortable and a choice of pillows. Satellite TV and a good selection on the beverage tray.

I was a bit surprised that some of the rooms are in various out-buildings from the main hotel block, but this didn’t cause any problems.

Free Wi-Fi (password obtainable from reception) and a big desk in the bedroom to get work done.

The food was excellent:
Dinner, there was not a huge variety, but it was excellently presented, cooked well and delightfully presented.
Breakfast was a buffet, but a huge choice, all freshly cooked and excellent service. Also happy to cater for individual needs or dietary requests.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff.

Really surprised this hotel has only achieved 3 star rating, as I was pleasantly surprised.

The one negative point is that there are church bells within earshot which chime at every 15 minutes, including during the night and this did disturb my sleep, but I believe if you request a room at the front of the hotel, you are less likely to experience this.

Room Tip: Request room away from the church bells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerrieb86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate
Level Contributor
143 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is a centrally located hotel with good car parking in the centre of Market Harborough. I was concerned that being on main street of the town that it might be noisy, however our room was at the back and was spacious, comfortable and enabled us to have a good nights sleep. Breakfast is buffet style with plenty of choice. Very reasonable price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rubymanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I recently stayed here for my companies conference and everything about it was professional done, the staff were superb and very helpful, the food was lovely and the rooms were a good size and a very good standard. I would definitely book this hotel myself as it is set in a perfect location on the main high street which is very quiet and in the beautiful countryside in the heart of England.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Nice welcoming relaxing break from the hectic Christmas stress. From start to finish all the staff could not be more helpful. The food was presented beautifully and very tasty. Hubby opted for the sweet potato and pepper soup and I had the Stilton filo pastry with mushrooms which we both enjoyed. We did not have to wait long before the second course arrived. I choose the sea bass baked perfectly with the crusty topping and a lovely fish mousse to accompany. Hubby choose the medallions of pork with an Almagnac plum sauce. I followed up with a lovely lemon torte tart. The conservatory and upper restaurant is very well appointed with a relaxing seating area and a nice touch of complimentary canapes offered before dining. The drinks prices are very reasonable and a small but good wine selection is available. Breakfast is served in the upper dining room with plenty of choice again very tasty. We found the bedroom accommodation very spacious and nicely presented, however I found the bath tub to be on the small side. Plenty of hot water and a very powerful shower. Biscuits were arranged with a nice collection of various beverages a nice thoughtful touch. Plenty of parking is to the rear which is accessed via a street away from the main entrance (sign posted). Special mention to Will and Joe in the restaurant who were attentive and friendly and added to this this lovely winter break. Thank You.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are allocated away from the main hotel in block configuration so the church clock...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANGELA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I came here in November 2012 for a family members bday. There were 12 of us, and we had a good evening. the food isnt the best ive tried, but its still very nice, and the atmosphere was calm, and fresh, with their conservatory being light and airy. The only problem was that i booked again for me and my mum for her bday in December and they forgot our reservation and were not apologetic. It was then too late to go anywhere else since everywhere was booked, so i complained and got a reply really quickly. So i would say overall the Three Swans is a nice place, with average food, and i would visit again, so long as they remember ive booked!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemzj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Market Harborough
0.1 mi away
Angel Hotel
Angel Hotel
#4 of 5 in Market Harborough
261 reviews
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Market Harborough
Travelodge Market Harborough
#3 of 5 in Market Harborough
240 reviews
8.4 mi away
Kilworth House Hotel
Kilworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Kilworth
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Rushton Hall Hotel and Spa
19.1 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oundle
1,045 reviews
11.6 mi away
Kettering Park Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Three Swans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Swans Hotel

Property: The Three Swans Hotel
Address: 21 High Street, Market Harborough LE16 7NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Market Harborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Market Harborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Three Swans Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Three Swans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The 3 Swans Hotel
Best Western Market Harborough
Market Harborough Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing