We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good meal, no frills”
Review of The Bulls Head

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Bulls Head
Kendal
Level Contributor
70 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good meal, no frills”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My wife and I ate here while staying overnight at a local B&B on the recommendation of the B&B's owner. This is a no-frills village pub, and not particularly attractive inside or out, but the friendly welcome of the staff and locals, coupled with good food at reasonable price, made it well worthy of its 4/5 rating. Note that the Bulls Head is in Arthingworth, several miles to the south of Market Harborough.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    19
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
8
20
3
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
reading
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed over to attend a friends wedding. A late check out was no problem. The room was a really good size. It was very comfortable and clean. The evening meal and breakfast we had were both very good and all the staff were friendly and accomodating.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peewam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Excellent accommodation, first rate food, cosy bar, friendly staff, value for money!

Does what it says on the tin. It is an excellent slice of country life in a village tucked away ten minutes from the A14

Room Tip: All the rooms are in a quiet village location - if you want a restful stay, you cannot go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Estragon01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Only 10 mins from A14 but out in the sticks. Accommodation was good value for money, the evening meal and breakfast were brill, the staff welcoming, and friendly atmosphere from locals in bar.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Estragon01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Being this was my first visit to an authentic English pub I was quite impressed with the local feeling of the restaurant. It wasn't very crowded upon our arrival but quickly filled around 7pm. Clearly everyone knew everyone in this quaint little village and it was nice to see such, since you rarely see that in the metropolitan areas of the mid west USA. The food was delightful as I wanted the Fish & chips, which I enjoyed. As good as the food was, the owners and local people made this a great 1st experience for me.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FollowthepathCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

The starters were well presented and tasty,

The main courses - one overcooked the other far too salty, (had better meals in 2 for £10 offers)

As for desert - I ordered Belgian waffle (described as Belgian waffle chocolate sauce and ice cream, I was asked if I wanted ice cream with it),
I have never been served 1/2 a waffle as desert before maybe I should have said no to the ice cream then I would have been given a whole waffle.

The staff were disinterested and abrupt, with slow service

Would not recommend eating here and will not be returning

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grim12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Seemed a friendly enough place, the food was edible but they are trying to serve dishes beyond their capabilities (or at least the chefs) with a little training/help & guidance they could succeed in their efforts. If you do eat here maybe stick to the pub classics and not the 'Specials' so you won't be disappointed.
The waitress just dumped plates down in front of us without asking whose dish was which and then shot back to kitchen so we had to swap the plates over, this happened with two other tables.
Note to staff - we could hear every word of what was being talked about in the kitchen, would be a good idea to talk - not shout at each other, all we heard all evening was the kitchen staff moaning about customers! Nice!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharpep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Market Harborough
4.0 mi away
The Three Swans Hotel
The Three Swans Hotel
#2 of 5 in Market Harborough
1,069 reviews
4.1 mi away
Angel Hotel
Angel Hotel
#4 of 5 in Market Harborough
261 reviews
4.0 mi away
Travelodge Market Harborough
Travelodge Market Harborough
#3 of 5 in Market Harborough
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Kilworth House Hotel
Kilworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Kilworth
908 reviews
3.3 mi away
Travel Plaza Market Harborough Hotel
5.3 mi away
Rushton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bulls Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bulls Head

Property: The Bulls Head
Address: Kelmarsh Road, Market Harborough LE16 8JZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Market Harborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Market Harborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bulls Head 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Bulls Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing