We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food - wonderful puds”

The Castle Inn & Sleeper
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Market Harborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Castle Inn & Sleeper
Reviewed November 25, 2011

Ate at the Italian restaurant on a Friday night. Very warm, friendly welcome from all the staff.

Started with some wonderfully light, crisp just cooked focaccia bread, then we both had squid in batter. It was light, tasty with a lovely salad with a very nice light salad dressing. Then I had italian chicken in batter and spaghetti, the pasta was perfectly cooked with a very tasty tomato sauce, the chicken was delicious. My wife had lasagne which was very tasty and again surprisingly light.

Finally for the tour de force, the chef recommended to us we have chocolate fondant, which wasn't on the menu, so we shared one portion. It was heaven on a plate, one of the best puddings I have ever eaten (and I'm well travelled and a good age). Perfectly cooked, rich fondant, lovely ice cream, and a well presented small fruit salad on the side, all looking great on the plate.

All in all, exactly £50 for as good as a three course meal for two with a couple of drinks. Service was very quick, very friendly, maybe a little too enthusiastic, but very welcoming.

It's a long way for us to drive, but we'll be back, we both loved the food.

I've never written a review before but we enjoyed this so much I had to say thank you.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 26 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2011

We stopped here for 2 nights over the Birdfair weekend and were pleasantly surprised by the high standard of the room.
The room was modern, roomy, clean and the bathroom was first class.
The inn over the road is actually an Italian restaurant with a bar but serves excellent fresh food and pizzas, with a menu to suit all tastes - including English favourites such as steak pie and fish and chips.
My steak was perfect and my wife had a perfect lasagne.
The service was slow but we had all evening to sit and enjoy and with a packed house you can't expect express service.
The pizza chef was a whizz and although we didn't partake of one, many did and they looked and smelled wonderful.
The full english breakfasts were also good on both mornings - enough to set you up for the day.
Hopefully we will be back with friends later in the year.

Room Tip: Previous comments suggest there may be rooms in the inn itself but I would ask for a room in the sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

Thought we would go and try the new pizza menu as heard so many good reviews about it from locals. 10 in our party on a saturday night.
The service at the bar was very very slow.
When ordering our pizza's (8 of them) they weren't out of the oridinary, just a few minor changes due to preferences.
Having waited what seems like an eternity, 6 pizza's arrived together with side salads and chips. The remaining 2 pizza's arrived 20 minutes later when most had finished theres. One of the late ones had requested NO squid only to find that it was loaded with the stuff.
When we complained to the manager he said that he had had words with the chef before about managing orders and that the oven can only hold 8 at a time, and that she already had 2 in the oven from a previous order.
The long and the short of it is that he deducted 3 pizzas from our bill and was very sorry.
Would we go back - possibly in a smaller group because when they came the pizza's werre the best we have tasted for a long time and very full of filling.
Wouldn't recommend going in a large group or for special occassions because they just don't seem to be able to cope.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank StarMiddleengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2011

A dozen of us arrived (having given notice) for a warm-up and mid-week lunch - in January. The place was cold, miserable log glowing (just!) in the hearth. We bought drinks, ordered food, sat there for nearly an hour. food arrived, two orders wrong, dreadful and inappropriate Italian/Spanish music wailing far too loudly (they were serving jacket potatoes to a group of people in Rutland!!) which they refused to turn down. £5.95 for a mundane baked potato? We ate and left, vowing never to return!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timhCorby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

We booked a table for 6 at just 4 hours notice. The lady on the phone said they were full but after checking she came back to the phone and they offered to open up the conservatory for us.
On arrival we found that one of the dinners (me) couldn't fit his legs under the low table. The Owners daughter (slightly mad, very very attractive and really funny) called for help and lifted up the table and swapped it for another. The staff there were so unbelievably helpful, despite a couple of mis haps they went out of their way to make everything perfect. They catered for one or two of our parties weird ways and made our evening lively fun and one we would like to repeat as often as possible. Many thanks to everyone at the castle Inn, see you soon for more of the same.
Pete, Jo, Mike, Sue, Robin and Tracey

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cragman7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2010

Special Birthday party, booked one main room and the tables were spread out and you would have needed a megaphone to talk to each other, the Waitress ( or Co-Owner ) made it quite clear she was unhappy at moving them closer together and moaned several times. FOOD, prawns were tastless and the smallest I've seen, cold fishcakes, cold chips, main meals were served so far apart it was ridiculous. Apart from the steaks (2) out of the party of 18 only they enjoyed their meal. TERRIBLE SERVICE !!!!!!!!!! AWFUL FOOD !!!!!!!!!!!! Very disappointed as this was a surprise birthday meal that we had to pre-order the food for. Will never go back unless the ownership changes .................

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollyb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2009

I have eaten at the Castle Inn,Caldecott before and therefore decided to take some friends for lunch.
We arrived at 1pm, we were greeted with such a warm welcome.
Sitting down with our drinks, I looked through the menu, it ticked all our boxes, with a super variety of dishes all fresh cooked to order, not forgetting to mention the specials board! We were spoilt for choice!
I ordered chefs delicious soup with croutons, followed by Grilled Eyebrook trout with toasted almonds & lemon butter. It exceeded all my expectations! The service was quick and food cooked perfectly. We were all pleasantly supprised with the price of the menu as it was very competative.
We were informed that the pub had been taken back in hand by the owners, which are now running it. What a difference! It was obvious that it had been refreshed, go and check it out for yourself! What a find!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzy_vb81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Market Harborough hotels
9.1 mi away
Premier Inn Market Harborough Hotel
9.3 mi away
The Three Swans Hotel
The Three Swans Hotel
#1 of 5 in Market Harborough
1,275 reviews
9.2 mi away
Angel Hotel
Angel Hotel
#4 of 5 in Market Harborough
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
The Bulls Head
The Bulls Head
#4 of 11 in Market Harborough
53 reviews
9.3 mi away
Travelodge Market Harborough
Travelodge Market Harborough
#3 of 5 in Market Harborough
286 reviews
1 mi away
Castle Farm House B&B
Castle Farm House B&B
#5 of 11 in Market Harborough
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Inn & Sleeper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Inn & Sleeper

Address: Main Street | Caldecott, Market Harborough LE16 8RT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Market Harborough
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Market Harborough
Price Range: $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing