We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunchtime visit for two”

Nailsworth Garden Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Quick Bites in Nailsworth
Restaurant details
Reviewed May 7, 2019

Cafe was quite busy, service a bit slow. Food was excellent though once we got it. Table clearing not very prompt, and didn't see any tables being wiped. Wicker chairs surprisingly comfortable! Cappuccino coffee was lovely.
Garden Centre itself pretty good, although service at checkouts was a bit strange. We queued behind a lady who was being served by a male assistant, who promptly disappeared when it got to our turn! Came back reluctantly when we protested!
Toilets not very good, one of them appeared to be leaking.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ChristinEJohnson11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Journey60767551666, Manager at Nailsworth Garden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2019

Hi and thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to us.
Glad you liked the garden centre and enjoyed the food!
I'm sorry the service wasn't as expected in cleaning tables or on the tills, not sure what happened? I'm happy to look into this further and as we've just had a full refurbishment, we are experiencing some pressure points dealing with the extra amount of customer whilst we fully recruit.
I'm also pleased to report the leak has also now been fixed!
We look forward to seeing you in our Garden Centre again very Soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 77 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2019

We visited the new Nailsworth Garden Centre this morning, was quite surprised by the amount of work to the place, lots of new stock, fresh and new shelving, looking very smart.
We thought we would have some lunch there, as we had heard about the refurbishment, that has been going on, so we thought that they would have lots of meals on the menu, but we only found 5 items on the specials menu, which were a surprise, so we went elsewhere, a little disappointing after our visit.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Natalie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Journey60767551666, General Manager at Nailsworth Garden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2019

Hi Natalie and thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit with us.
I'm pleased you like our new and improved centre - quite a transformation!
So sorry you didn't find enough choice on our menus and not sure why as we have a main menu as well as our specials. However, we have now printed out more copies and placed them in more prominent places to ensure they now get seen by all.
Thanks once again and look forward to seeing you in our centre again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2019

We used to love this place in the past, then it changed hands and the food disappointed.
Looks like there's been a change in the kitchen and the food is now back to reasonable quality.
Worth a visit.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank 752nigelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Journey60767551666, Manager at Nailsworth Garden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2019

Hi

Thank you for taking the trouble to review your recent visit to us.

Glad you had a good visit and we have definitely changed for the better!

We would like to welcome you back in the hope we get to 5 stars very soon!

Many Thanks,
Jon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2019

Had time to kill, so popped in for a bite to eat. Ordered a fish finger sandwich at 5p short of seven quid. Expected therefore, chunky fish fingers with nice white bread.

Nothing of the sort. Regular ready sliced bread and supermarket (and cheap ones at that) fish fingers. Grey inside and dry, I expect they were cooked ahead of time and then kept warm for some fool like me to pay way too much for.

What a rip off, that must be around 50p worth of ingredients at most?

First and last visit...

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Journey60767551666, Owner at Nailsworth Garden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2019

Dear Rob S

Thank you for taking time to review your recent experience in our restaurant.

I am sorry that it wasn't to your satisfaction and nor is it the standard that we aim to give every customer on every visit.

Since your feedback, I am happy to say that we have changed the supplier of our bread and also changed the recipe for our fish fingers.

We hope you will return and experience us again. If you would like to contact myself at jon.dunn@bluediamond.gg I will be happy to welcome you back as our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2019

Lovely afternoon tea with Huge slice of homemade cake , I couldn’t eat it all had to take half home would definitely eat here again everyone table had people enjoying there meals Deffinatelt recommend

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KarenD4613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Journey60767551666, Manager at Nailsworth Garden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2019

Hi KarenD

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience with our Garden Centre restaurant.
I’m very pleased you enjoyed your visit and yes our cakes are homemade and are getting very popular!
I will pass on your comments to our restaurant team and look forward to seeing you back here very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nailsworth Garden Centre also viewed

 
Nailsworth, Stroud
 

Been to Nailsworth Garden Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing