We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautifully finished, well appointed and very...”
other travelers have booked this property
The Retreat in the foreground
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Retreat in the foreground
Looking West towards the Retreat The Retreat
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
The Retreat in the foreground
Looking West towards the Retreat
The Retreat
The Retreat Looking east
The Old Manse in May
Comfy sofa which can be used as a double bed for extra guests
Comfortable bedroom with oak furnishings and plenty of storage space
Dining area in the kitchen
Plenty of space for 4 to eat
Well equipped kitchen with dishwasher, microwave and induction hob
View from the living area looking towards the bedroom
Weill equipped bathroom with large mains shower
Looking from the bedroom towards the kitchen
View from the Retreat, May 2014
View from the door of the Retreat in autumn 2013
Nailsworth town clock in the centre of a bustling town with a wealth of independent shops
Dunkirk Mills across the valley from the Retreat - summer view
Explore the spooky abandoned mansion in the hidden valley of Woodchester
Award winning farmers market in Stroud town every Saturday morning
The Olive Tree - Italian style restaurant in Nailsworth
The Britannia Inn Nailsworth serving popular food and takeaway pizza
Explore the amazing restoration works and lovely walks along the Stroud waterways canal
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Nailsworth, Stroud, Stroud District, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
loul58
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Beautifully finished, well appointed and very comfortable.”
Reviewed August 21, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The Old Manse Retreat was a perfect base from which to explore the Cotswolds. Hosts were obliging and welcoming. Had a wonderful few days here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfortable furnishings and the view across the valley!
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed July 27, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Caroline...
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Simply Perfect !!”
Reviewed June 30, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We wanted somewhere that we could just escape the hustle and bustle of work and came across this little gem. It is a beautifully equipped and located apartment that has everything you need when you are home from home. The attention to detail is second to none and the pictures do not do it justice! We were stunned how much larger it was in real life (compared to the photos). Jackie and her partner were lovely and welcoming; there is you needed them but never intrusive. Thank you both for the opportunity to recharge our batteries!! We would have given you 6/5 if that was possible!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was wonderful, it is impossible to pick any one thing!
Liked least: Leaving so soon!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 14, 2014
What a lovely review, thank you. We are delighted that you enjoyed your break at the Retreat.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hannah076
england
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“perfect cosy bolt hole”
Reviewed June 3, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a week in May, although it was a very wet/windy week in May it was so nice every evening returning to a warm/dry/cosy apartment.
Absolutely everything you could need for a weeks stay was there, all the furniture and home accessories are to a very high spec. its all very modern and well thought out.
Parking is no problem at all, and the town of Nailsworth a 10 mins walk away with loads of lovely places to eat and nice shops... it's definitely the place to go if like us you are foodies!
We enjoyed meals at -oldstone/ mark@street /the olive tree. and many more..... We have already booked another week for next year!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath W
Chorley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A modern apartment/flat with fantastic views.”
Reviewed May 29, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Very clean, bright and modern accommodation. Every you need is provided in the accommodation and very convenient to the town centre and shops although it is a very steep hill for carrying shop back on foot!!! Very friendly owners who make you feel welcome parking in front of the accommodation is very convenient.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very comfy bed.
Liked least: Having to leave due to work committments would have loved to have stayed longer.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Reviewed May 26, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Navpreeti...
Level 2 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Stay”
Reviewed May 16, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Me and my partner enjoyed a 2 week stay here. Wow is all I can say. We both literally had the best time ever and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The owner Jackie is so helpful and really friendly. The views from our stay were breath-taking of the valleys. There are quite a few nice restaurants in the village which is a 15 minute walk away and we were pleasantly surprised with the selection of restaurants available. The Old Manse literally has everything you could imagine, it is very well equipped. This is a ideal location for a visit to the Cotswolds as you are right in the middle of everything and there are some really lovely country walks in the area, the view are breath-taking. I will definitely be coming back again and stopping here for our stay as it is real value for money and you will not be disappointed one bit. Thanks Jackie for a memorable and enjoyable stay, one I will never forget.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 17, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely comments.
We look forward to welcoming you back
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing