We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay with lots of History”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nailsworth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is a converted mill with an easy walk into town which has a number of pubs and places to eat. The rooms are very nice and well laid out. Very nice bathroom and a real home from home. We were attending a party and stayed the night but we plan to stay for a long weekend soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 16 century Mill next to the main mill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (583)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

393 - 399 of 583 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

Daytime fine dining this ain't but restaurant value for money it certainly is (until 6pm).Generous portions of fish and chips,sausages/mash and onion gravy and gammon steaks all at £6.50.Little wonder the place was rammed on Friday lunchtime.Speedy service and,deep joy,piping hot plates.Third time we have been there and will go again.Bar prices a little full,but with food prices at the current levels,it's to be expected.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mncrbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We have stayed there for 3 nights and this was are 3rd year very good value rooms are very nice,food excellent good value,good choice of breakfast staff very accommodating ample parking ,shop in close proximity so everything you need

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bingo69x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I took my parents here at the weekend after it had been recommended to me and wow, what a beautiful place to chill out and relax in. Lovely restaurant, very comfy and not crowded and to be able to sit outside with the ducks swimming very close to you is just a real treat. So peaceful and picturesque. I will be returning in the very near future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leeca69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Had my first visit to Egypt Mill this weekend. It’s a lovely place right on the river with loads of ducks to entertain you but the room I had wasn't good. The bathroom was grim with chipped tiles, a grimy old bath and sink and dirty grout. The toilet couldn’t flush unless you took the lid of the cistern because the flush mechanism had been taken from another larger bathroom set. I paid £120 for one night in small room with a bathroom that should have been replaced years ago (and the worlds softest most uncomfortable bed). Breakfast was included but the breakfast room was understaffed so it took 40 minutes to be served.
Egypt Mill is in a beautiful location, so go for drinks and maybe food but I would not recommend paying £120 to stay the night.

Room Tip: Give rooms in the 20's a miss.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0Callmewhatyoulike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egyptmill, General Manager at Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

I am pleased that you liked our lovely Mill but I am sorry that you felt the condition of your bathroom was not acceptable - we have a full time maintenance team and it should have been in excellent working order. I hope you brought this to our attention at the time of your visit. Although not to your liking, the bed you slept in was purchased recently and has a high quality mattress. Our weekend room tariff is based on 2 people and includes an excellent full Cotswold breakfast which we believe represents extremely good value. I am sure you will agree that our unique 16th Century Mill is beautiful and full of character and I hope you will give us another opportunity to look after you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This former 17th century cloth mill was converted into a stylish hotel and restaurant some 30 years ago with further improvements since then which has resulted in a unique, interesting and superb place to stay and eat.
I recently stayed with my wife for just one night, but wish it was for longer, because the food, service and accomodation is not only first class but is in such unusual and very comfortable surroundings. Some of the original mill machinery is on display as part of the decor, complete with mill wheel driven by the river Frome flowing past and a mill pond with ducks and moorhens overlooked by a spacious stone terrace bar and beautifully kept gardens.
Our bedroom (room 11) was a mass of ancient exposed beams but extremely comfortable and appointed to a very high standard and we both slept as soundly as the ancient beams that surrounded us.
There is an attractive bar overlooking the mill pond and two restaurants leading off together with an upstairs function room. We had an excellent 3 course dinner with generous portions in one of the very comfortable restaurants and the following morning had a really good breakfast from a wide choice of menu in the same restaurant all provided with efficient and friendly service.

We had a pre-booked special package which included dinner, bed and breakfast which for the high standard of food and accomodation offered proved to be excellent value.
Overall we fully recommend the Egypt Mill as a unique, interesting and first class place to either stay or just visit for a meal and we look forward to a return visit.
One slight drawback, is that it is located in close proximity to the busy A46 and there can be quite heavy traffic noise in the background at times, nothing can be done about that, but this is far outweighed by everything else that is on offer. Without the background traffic noise would give a 5 star rating without hesitation and consider this place does great credit to the management team.

Room Tip: The 32 rooms are individually designed so phone before booking to discuss which type best meets your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

As an American visiting the beautiful Cotswold countryside, The Egypt Mill Hotel provided the perfect setting to embrace all that one imagines when visioning an old English Inn. Situated in the picturesque village of Nailsworth, the hotel sits on the site of an old mill with a lovely view of the river. Having stayed there many times, I have been lucky enough to experience some of those "perfect ' English days when the sun shines, allowing me to sit on the lovely outside deck overlooking the river. Morning coffee, afternoon tea, or evening drinks are served there on such days. The hotel has rooms in the older section of the original mill house as well as some more modern rooms added at a later date. I have stayed in both. The newer section has larger rooms with more modern bathrooms and bigger closets, but I prefer the old section with its charm and cozy ambience. A full complimentary English breakfast is served in the restaurant daily. You can chose items like yogurt, fruit, cereal and juice from a buffet table, but a server always takes your order for a hot breakfast which is fresh and delicious. The restaurant serves dinner as well and is a popular venue for locals, day trippers and as a party site. The kitchen features local produce, meat, and fish. From the hotel, you can take a short walk into the village of Nailsworth with its many shoppes, cafes, and restaurants. The village is bustling and charming and affords a unique glimpse into English life that one never senses in London. The location of the Egypt Mill to Nailsworth is a huge plus. The area is also known for its beautiful walks and a bike path runs along the river as well. Close to Bath, Chelthenam, and Tetbury , there is much to do and see.
If you fancy a trip to the English countryside, I highly recommend this hotel and all that surrounds it!

Room Tip: Decide if you are into modern amenities or prefer a touch of old world ambience and pick your room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egyptmill, General Manager at Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful account of your stay at Egypt Mill. It is so heartening to read a review such as yours. Your obvious enjoyment and satisfaction with Egypt Mill is very gratifiying and I will ensure that all of our staff are made aware of your review. Your comments make all our efforts worthwhile and are a great accolade for Egypt Mill, it's fantastic staff and Nailsworth town itself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nailsworth
4.5 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
729 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
1.6 mi away
Burleigh Court Hotel
Burleigh Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Minchinhampton
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Stroud Hotel
3.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#6 of 7 in Stroud
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Stroud Road, Nailsworth GL6 OAE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Nailsworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nailsworth
Price Range: $117 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the charming Cotswold town of Nailsworth, Gloucestershire, the 16th Century Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant provides the ideal setting for a memorable stay. The uniqueness of Egypt Mill is realised in its delightful, full of character, bedroom accommodation. Your stay could be either in the charming Mill House, with it's 28 rooms wonderful atmospheric antiquities and furnishings, or the rustic comfort of the adjoining converted Jones railway building. All rooms are fully appointed with en suite facilities. Egypt Mill itself boasts 10 beautifully appointed bedrooms offering stunning traditional Cotswold detail making a wonderful environment for that very special romantic weekend away. Egypt Mill's restaurant offers some of the best food around and provides a great setting for that business lunch or special celebration with family and friends. While staying at Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant you could discover the Cotswolds wealth of treasures and cultural attractions, explore the many Cotswold villages and towns such as Stratford upon Avon and Cheltenham or visit the Roman towns of Bath and Cirencester. Egypt Mill is only a short drive away from the M5 (J13) and M4 (J18) Motorways. Need a function room? Egypt Mill's fantastic ambiance and beamed function suites are perfect for that special Christening, Wedding or Birthday celebration. Egypt Mill is highly favoured as a place for holding conferences and business meetings. Our comfortable conference rooms offer wireless broadband access and enjoy the benefit of natural daylight. We can provide packages to include full refreshments and accommodation throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Egypt Mill Nailsworth
Hotel Egypt Mill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing