We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 Star Setting 2 star food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nailsworth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The setting and ambience far exceeds the food...
Unfortunately the Prawn cocktail was not only a blast from the past but tasted exactly how my aunties tasted 30 years ago!
The tandoori chicken was very bland and the sauce watery....It had been marinated in beetroot, (according to the waitress)so looked quite bloody, which was so disconcerting to the couple who were at the neighbouring table, who were convinced it was raw uncooked chicken, that they declined to eat it. I however did eat it and lived to tell the tale.
My husband had whitebait (a huge portion) and the pork and bean casserole which he did enjoy at the time, but has suffered terrible indigestion since...

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lfaithlessfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (567)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

404 - 410 of 567 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013

This Hotel (32 rooms) as its name implies is a converted mill. There is ample parking and the old industrial building has been converted in such a way as to produce an ambiance that is attractive. The mill pond is frequented by a variety of ducks who provide endless entertainment if you take your drinks out onto the terrace.
The food is best described as 'very good pub grub'. It is well cooked, well presented and excellent value for money. We have eaten here twice and, on each occasion, have thought that the food exceeded our expectations.
The Egypt Mill is commended to Trip Advisor readers without reservation. If you are in Nailsworth beat a path to Egypt Mill.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sustainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

I was looking forward to this stay but was not impressed at all. Nice setting and yummy breakfast but there were some big flaws. Our room was located in the 'outbuilding' which made the room quite dark. The room itself was basic and nothing to rave about. One the glasses was chipped and the bathroom door was very squeaky. Even though these problems were raised with reception they offered so compensation or apology.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Wonderful character building situated by the river. Good choice of rooms and outbuildings so you can opt for a room away from the main building should a wedding/disco be taking place. Restaurant open all day/evening with consistently good food and very reasonable. Staff amazing and friendly and very knowledgeable about the area. Good rates for a hotel of this calibre. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: If on a social visit at a w/end ask for a room away from the main building. They are equally as goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sccatlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a few times for business. Best suited to holidays though. Characterful buildings, quite reasonable service, good food. Only thing to note is which rooms to have if a wedding is taking place, as this is many weekends. Will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5_0f_us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed here last month what a little gem of a place fab setting on the river good food fantastic friendly staff a real credit to the hotel good location for exploring some of the delightful villages of the Cotswolds hope to go back soon

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Upthedu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I recently attended a wedding at the Egypt Mill Hotel. It was very well organised, the staff were friendly and always on hand, and the wedding coordinator had clearly gone above and beyond to make the day special for the bride and groom. The food was good quality and there was lots of it, and the rooms used for the ceremony and reception were spacious enough but still with a cosy feel. The only criticism I have is that the check-in desk for the hotel is in the corner of the room where the drinks reception was held so there were people coming into the room to check in for that night while the wedding guests were mingling which I found a bit strange. But that was only a minor issue that didn't really affect what was otherwise a lovely, smoothly-run day.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Thank emma1851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nailsworth
4.5 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
709 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
4.9 mi away
The Ormond at Tetbury
The Ormond at Tetbury
#6 of 6 in Tetbury
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
1.6 mi away
Burleigh Court Hotel
Burleigh Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Minchinhampton
259 reviews
4.9 mi away
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
#5 of 6 in Tetbury
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Stroud Road, Nailsworth GL6 OAE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Nailsworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nailsworth
Price Range: $108 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the charming Cotswold town of Nailsworth, Gloucestershire, the 16th Century Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant provides the ideal setting for a memorable stay. The uniqueness of Egypt Mill is realised in its delightful, full of character, bedroom accommodation. Your stay could be either in the charming Mill House, with it's 28 rooms wonderful atmospheric antiquities and furnishings, or the rustic comfort of the adjoining converted Jones railway building. All rooms are fully appointed with en suite facilities. Egypt Mill itself boasts 10 beautifully appointed bedrooms offering stunning traditional Cotswold detail making a wonderful environment for that very special romantic weekend away. Egypt Mill's restaurant offers some of the best food around and provides a great setting for that business lunch or special celebration with family and friends. While staying at Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant you could discover the Cotswolds wealth of treasures and cultural attractions, explore the many Cotswold villages and towns such as Stratford upon Avon and Cheltenham or visit the Roman towns of Bath and Cirencester. Egypt Mill is only a short drive away from the M5 (J13) and M4 (J18) Motorways. Need a function room? Egypt Mill's fantastic ambiance and beamed function suites are perfect for that special Christening, Wedding or Birthday celebration. Egypt Mill is highly favoured as a place for holding conferences and business meetings. Our comfortable conference rooms offer wireless broadband access and enjoy the benefit of natural daylight. We can provide packages to include full refreshments and accommodation throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Egypt Mill Nailsworth
Hotel Egypt Mill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing