We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Up To The Usual Great Standard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nailsworth
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Up To The Usual Great Standard”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We regularly eat at Egypt Mill during the week as there is an excellent deal for lunch time diners.
However, we decided to try the Sunday lunch on 6th January. We were not disappointed.
As usual, we received a friendly welcome and were immediately shown to our table and served with drinks.
We did not have long to wait for our Sunday roasts and the food was absolutely delicious - plenty of meat, beautifully cooked and separate dishes of vegetables - a really good variety and all tasting great.
I am sure that like lots of people who read and write reviews for Tripadvisor I have high standards. Egypt Mill exceeds my expectations in terms of food and excellent customer service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    169
    73
    28
    13
See reviews for
121
216
4
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

A centuries old mill with lots of history with a water mill and a fast flowing river which I believe is the river Cam highlights the beauty of this hotel. We stayed in the house where the bedroom is spacious and full of character, bathroom could have been a bit bigger !. The restaurant meals are superb with a great variety with simple dishes scoring well, my liver and mustard mash was superb.
Breakfast was equally good and at all times service and staff was excellent.
The town of Nailsworth is quaint and worth a couple of hours and nearby Tetbury also worth a visit for a half day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnowen2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Overall the service was very slow with child sized portions where the meager fries were dripping in grease. The building was lovely and the staff polite but that was about it.
I would not visit again or recommend it for meals.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rgbadders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egyptmill, General Manager at Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
I am sorry to hear that this lunch did not meet the customers’ expectations. A food complaint can generally be rectified at the time if we are made aware, I will look into these comments and see if the guest can be identified.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 22, 2012

It's all in the title, amazing food (fillet steak especially) great staff great service & fantastic location. Nice in the winter better in the summer, perfect location for going for a mooch around Cheltenham, Oxford & to a lesser extent Gloucester. Highly recommended.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank AdamH187047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Super restaurant, freshly cooked food, menu is quite varied, Shirleys steak and kidney pudding is not for the faint hearted, very tasty! Nice bread and dips whilst waiting. nIce ambiance inside with the mill wheel and good decor. Lovely surround, in summer can sit outside by the lake.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShelleyWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

As a large family over the years we have made this our special eating hole, when ever we need to celebrate a special occasion we all agree this is the place for us, we dont need to have long discusstions on where to eat as at Egypt Mill we know we are going to have a nice meal thats comes with friendly attention.


Thanks Egypt Mill

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

A beautiful location with a warm welcome and delicious food, which is good value for money. Parking is very easy too. The atmosphere is great and when the weather is warm it is lovely to sit outside by the river; in fact sometimes it is difficult to move!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanQ24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nailsworth
4.5 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
5.9 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Burleigh Court Hotel
Burleigh Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Minchinhampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
17.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
8.4 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Stroud Road, Nailsworth GL6 OAE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Nailsworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nailsworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the charming Cotswold town of Nailsworth, Gloucestershire, the 16th Century Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant provides the ideal setting for a memorable stay. The uniqueness of Egypt Mill is realised in its delightful, full of character, bedroom accommodation. Your stay could be either in the charming Mill House, with it's 28 rooms wonderful atmospheric antiquities and furnishings, or the rustic comfort of the adjoining converted Jones railway building. All rooms are fully appointed with en suite facilities. Egypt Mill itself boasts 10 beautifully appointed bedrooms offering stunning traditional Cotswold detail making a wonderful environment for that very special romantic weekend away. Egypt Mill's restaurant offers some of the best food around and provides a great setting for that business lunch or special celebration with family and friends. While staying at Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant you could discover the Cotswolds wealth of treasures and cultural attractions, explore the many Cotswold villages and towns such as Stratford upon Avon and Cheltenham or visit the Roman towns of Bath and Cirencester. Egypt Mill is only a short drive away from the M5 (J13) and M4 (J18) Motorways. Need a function room? Egypt Mill's fantastic ambiance and beamed function suites are perfect for that special Christening, Wedding or Birthday celebration. Egypt Mill is highly favoured as a place for holding conferences and business meetings. Our comfortable conference rooms offer wireless broadband access and enjoy the benefit of natural daylight. We can provide packages to include full refreshments and accommodation throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, LateRooms, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Egypt Mill Nailsworth
Hotel Egypt Mill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing