We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Lunch Christmas eve”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nailsworth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Overall the service was very slow with child sized portions where the meager fries were dripping in grease. The building was lovely and the staff polite but that was about it.
I would not visit again or recommend it for meals.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rgbadders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egyptmill, General Manager at Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

I am sorry to hear that this lunch did not meet the customers’ expectations. A food complaint can generally be rectified at the time if we are made aware, I will look into these comments and see if the guest can be identified.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (567)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

425 - 431 of 567 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2012

It's all in the title, amazing food (fillet steak especially) great staff great service & fantastic location. Nice in the winter better in the summer, perfect location for going for a mooch around Cheltenham, Oxford & to a lesser extent Gloucester. Highly recommended.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank AdamH187047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Super restaurant, freshly cooked food, menu is quite varied, Shirleys steak and kidney pudding is not for the faint hearted, very tasty! Nice bread and dips whilst waiting. nIce ambiance inside with the mill wheel and good decor. Lovely surround, in summer can sit outside by the lake.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ShelleyWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

As a large family over the years we have made this our special eating hole, when ever we need to celebrate a special occasion we all agree this is the place for us, we dont need to have long discusstions on where to eat as at Egypt Mill we know we are going to have a nice meal thats comes with friendly attention.


Thanks Egypt Mill

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

A beautiful location with a warm welcome and delicious food, which is good value for money. Parking is very easy too. The atmosphere is great and when the weather is warm it is lovely to sit outside by the river; in fact sometimes it is difficult to move!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank SusanQ24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

perfect!! staff went out of there way to help, both before and during the wedding. food was perfect, rooms were amazing, all the guests that stayed over where happy too. 100%. They arranged early check -ins for all our guests who had travelled long distance so they could get ready for the wedding. I cannot fault this place, they even returned an item of clothing a guest had left in the wardrobe.

Room Tip: ask for rooms 11 or 12 if there available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We attended a wedding at this hotel in late October 2012. I really can't fault the place at all! It was a lovely hotel and a beautiful wedding venue.
We arrived on the morning of the wedding and were shown straight to our room. We were a bit earlier than the usual check-in times but the room was ready. We were in the main part of the mill, right above the bar and restaurant. I was concerned that we might be disturbed by noise from downstairs, but that wasn't the case at all. All we could hear was the river rushing by outside and the odd duck!
The room itself was gorgeous (room 11). Big, clean, rustic. It had a big bed, wardrobes, desk, table, chair and bedside tables. There was a tv and tea/coffee making facilities. The bathroom was also fairly big and clean. They provided the usual toiletries, shower gel, bubble bath, soap. Lots of towels.
It was actually right up in the rafters! The big wooden beams ran right across the room and down to the floor, it was really beautiful to look at. Ok, so there wasn't a lot of floor space - Because the beans ran from a point at the top of the room down to the floor. It's difficult to explain, but the room was in an upside down V shape. But it didn't matter, the room was lovely and really suited the hotel.
I don't know what the restaurant food was like, but assuming it was as good as the food served at the wedding, I would absolutely recommend it! Everything was cooked to perfection and the portions were a decent size.
The service was amazing and the staff are a huge credit to the hotel. Everyone was polite and happy to help. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel and look forward to going back!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank apperley17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nailsworth
4.5 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
709 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
4.9 mi away
The Ormond at Tetbury
The Ormond at Tetbury
#6 of 6 in Tetbury
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
1.6 mi away
Burleigh Court Hotel
Burleigh Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Minchinhampton
259 reviews
4.9 mi away
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
#5 of 6 in Tetbury
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Stroud Road, Nailsworth GL6 OAE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Nailsworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nailsworth
Price Range: $110 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the charming Cotswold town of Nailsworth, Gloucestershire, the 16th Century Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant provides the ideal setting for a memorable stay. The uniqueness of Egypt Mill is realised in its delightful, full of character, bedroom accommodation. Your stay could be either in the charming Mill House, with it's 28 rooms wonderful atmospheric antiquities and furnishings, or the rustic comfort of the adjoining converted Jones railway building. All rooms are fully appointed with en suite facilities. Egypt Mill itself boasts 10 beautifully appointed bedrooms offering stunning traditional Cotswold detail making a wonderful environment for that very special romantic weekend away. Egypt Mill's restaurant offers some of the best food around and provides a great setting for that business lunch or special celebration with family and friends. While staying at Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant you could discover the Cotswolds wealth of treasures and cultural attractions, explore the many Cotswold villages and towns such as Stratford upon Avon and Cheltenham or visit the Roman towns of Bath and Cirencester. Egypt Mill is only a short drive away from the M5 (J13) and M4 (J18) Motorways. Need a function room? Egypt Mill's fantastic ambiance and beamed function suites are perfect for that special Christening, Wedding or Birthday celebration. Egypt Mill is highly favoured as a place for holding conferences and business meetings. Our comfortable conference rooms offer wireless broadband access and enjoy the benefit of natural daylight. We can provide packages to include full refreshments and accommodation throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Egypt Mill Nailsworth
Hotel Egypt Mill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing