We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic Bohemian”
Review of Hobbs House Bakery

Hobbs House Bakery
Ranked #9 of 27 Restaurants in Nailsworth
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Our Bistro menu celebrates British food and produce of the South West, making best use of Hobbs House Bakery's handmade bread and wood fired oven. We have a focus on the carefully sourced; everything is bought directly from the producers and cooked with real care and imagination. We put a a strong focus on the traditional cuts of meat from our butchery alongside fish that may have fallen from favour, but lack nothing in flavour. We serve great teas and coffee from local roasters Extract. This is all complemented by a selection of local ales and ciders as well as our comprehensive wine list, put together by Nailsworth-based Raffles Wine. "Hobbs House has become one of the jewels in Nailsworth's crown", Gloucestershire Echo
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Chic Bohemian”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The cakes/sweets and breads are excellent. Good to takeaway or sit if you have the time. Nailsworth is an interesting little town to hang out in for a while.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank longbarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    47
    16
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Food good service not so good”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Thsi is a delightful small restaurand where there is a lovely menu choice for lunch.
However there is a long wait even for hot drinks and if you are hungry you need to get ther early as the service is very slow ! Staff are very friendly but seem totally disorganised

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“good food but sloooowwwwwwwwww”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

need to re train their waiting staff here. Friendly enough and good food with a nice menu but...had to get our own menus, had to ask them to take our drinks order, took an age to take our food order and then waited about half an hour for our lunch, then ordered our coffees and had to ask for our lunch plates to be removed!!! nice pizzas in proper wood oven, need to work on their tomato sauce though, seemed to be a drained can of tomatoes which is not quite up to the mark, wouldn't get away with this in Italy. Lovely range of cakes and breads to take home.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carmellasoprano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosmont, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
514 reviews
292 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Whilst the brothers are busy with TV, their team are doing just great with servicing a cosy place to bide sometime, particularly at lunch time.

Food top class bistro.

Strangely, they are a little mean with their bread on dishes I thought, but you can not fault flavour.

A must stop if you are in town

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cwyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Sad little bacon roll”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Expensive and the bacon roll was underwhelming! The floor could do with a clean. We were very disappointed.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hobbs House Bakery also viewed

Nailsworth, Cotswolds
Nailsworth, Cotswolds
 
Nailsworth, Cotswolds
Nailsworth, Cotswolds
 

Been to Hobbs House Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing