We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Meal”

Wild Garlic Bistro & Rooms
Reserve a Table
Bookatable
Ranked #4 of 30 Restaurants in Nailsworth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $69
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Wild Garlic has held Two AA rosettes since opening and is a family run, family friendly, bistro style restaurant. Above Wild Garlic there are five lovely bedrooms, each boasting four AA gold stars. Set in the heart of the Cotswold town of Nailsworth on Cossack square with a sunny terraced dining area to the front. Chef Patron Matthew Beardshall works closely with Head Chef Joe Francis to produce delicious seasonally inspired menus showcasing the wonderful, seasonal produce from the surrounding Five Valleys. Restaurant Manager Henry Bannister prepares delicious classic and contemporary cocktails and the wine list is full of small artisan produced wines. Looking for something a bit 'Wilder'? Try our sister restaurant just over the road on Market Street - 'Wilder' is where Chef Patron Matthew Beardshall serves an eight course tasting menu, four nights a week (Wed - Thurs), perfect for special occasions and those looking for a full on foodie experience.
Reviewed June 4, 2019

Friday evening meal for 3. We all had different meals and all very much enjoyed the food on offer. Contrasting this with London, the venue would be packed. Notwithstanding service and quality of meals all excellent.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (523)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 523 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2019

Not the cheapest of restaurants but well worth it for a special occasion, or just to spoil yourself and enjoy some very good food, cooked realy well. Service can be a little poor,b ut put that down to the very young serving staff?

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank mark h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2019

booked having not been here for a long time what a wow lunch the restaurant is very modern the service is spot on waitress know how to deliver a first class service the food all we can say delicious hot plates a bonus the crab salad starter was so fresh then I had the best cooked sole ever husband a perfectly cooked steak all in all a lovely sunday lunch time lunch would 100% return

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank julie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2019

we have been frequenting this restaurant for quite a few years but have noticed lately that its got expensive & some of the portions are too small for the money, a mickey take i think ! the other night i had whole dover sole which was very good BUT what came with it amounted to NOTHING for £18 ! if i had dauphinous potatoes & green beans this would have been
a stggering 25 notes !!!! this meal should have come with asparagus & jersey royals
which are in season & still been £18 !!! also the organic larger is £6.80 a bottle REALLY its only £4.50 in another place we go, !! COME ON GUYS you need to up
your game with the food portions & prices, WE ARE NOT ALL STUPID & we can take our money where you cant take this place !! menu needs updating more & for 18quid
you need THE LOT not have to pay another 4quid for this & 3quid for that !
our days of doing £120 dining in this place are now gone , TAKE NOTE if you dont up your game youll end up like the oldstones next door CLOSED !!!!!!!!!

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank speddways-mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2019

I'd been looking forward to eating at Wild Garlic as I'd heard positive reviews. Staff were very pleasant and the restaurant is comfortable though the music too loud as we had a speaker directly above our table (but the staff did turn it down straightaway). Two of the mains were very good but my whole Brixham plaice was below standard; minuscule piece of fish with mushy flesh. I did let the staff know I hadn't enjoyed it and was promptly offered a pudding as way of an apology. I thought that was handled very professionally until I looked at the bill a few days later only to find we'd been charged for the complimentary pudding!
Probably will try Wild Garlic again next time we visit Nailsworth and hopefully all the meals will be super - and I will be asking for my complimentary pudding!

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Grateful77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Garlic Bistro & Rooms also viewed

Nailsworth, Stroud
Nailsworth, Stroud
 
Stroud, Stroud District
 

Been to Wild Garlic Bistro & Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing