We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unwelcoming”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Britannia Inn

Britannia Inn
Ranked #3 of 27 Restaurants in Nailsworth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $32
Cuisines: Bar, Pizza, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Warm bar and dinning, friendly staff, relax and comforting!!
Warrington, Uk
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Unwelcoming”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

In Nailsworth for a girlie weekend (mixed ages - mid 30's to mid 40's) and we walked into the village for an afternoon drink. Sadly, the Britannia made us feel very unwelcome. Not able to sit at a table unless purchasing food (which if we'd been able to enjoy a drink we would have certainly wanted to eat) and lthough we were offered the upstairs to sit down, it was out of the way and left us feeling completely unwelcome. We quickly finished our (expensive!!!) drinks and made enroute to the Village Arms - completely fabulous, accomodating and welcoming. Certainly the better option of the these 2 pubs!!! Visit the Britannia again? - not likely - I like to spend my money for food or drink where its welcome!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank AliJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    88
    38
    28
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“visited twice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

very good pub food been twice in about 3weeks fish and chips superb and excellent steak ciabatta evening meal very good

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ceredigionbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelteham
1 review
“ummmm, pub? discusting service, amazing food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Can't belive I'm writing a review about a pub, but here goes!
Clean, poorly run pub in a little village called nailsworth. It's really appalling! The you order mussles and fish soup starter, OMG! Amazing! Better than any seafood I've had before?? (Pub)!! THEN, gurnard main corse, veal and venison casserole. It just got better and better!! The food JUST! Out shines the negatives!!
I can't coment on the pizzas and cheaper stuff on the menus.
Bit 10/10 on food . Everthing else is a 3/10! :( what a shame

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jonesfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Poor service and food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

I used to be a big fan of the Britannia so was extremely disappointed on my last visit.
First of all we were not welcomed into the restaurant at all, next a mistake was made on our food order, the food took an extremely long time to arrive despite the pub not being very busy at all. When my food was sent back to be corrected it arrived for a second time cold.
The service was poor, with no check backs on food, no refills on water jugs, long period of waiting before an order was taken and a cold reception.
The Britannia has certainly gone down hill in my estimations, the food is not value for money and the service is poor,

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mhl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“My favourite Nailsworth pub with food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

First visit 22 years ago when I first arrived In Nailsworth

Seen many changes

Now it is a lovely place to eat

Nice warm fire in the winter and lovely garden in the summer

Best pizzas

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trish01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Britannia Inn also viewed

Nailsworth, Cotswolds
Nailsworth, Cotswolds
 
Nailsworth, Cotswolds
Stroud, Cotswolds
 

Been to Britannia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing