We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Week end with no children”
Review of The Kilcot Inn

The Kilcot Inn
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Newent
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Newly refurbished inn on B4221. Opened a few week's ago after major renovation. Owned by Weston Cider family. Bed/breakfast.+ good food/ales/cider/perry
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Week end with no children”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

What a stunning little place, the rooms were very clean and cosy, fantastic nights sleep in a very comfy bed!! We went to the restaurant /bar and had a gorgeous meal, the menu was excellent and food to match, will 100%go back again!... One more thing the staff were fantastic also

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    100
    33
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hereford
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Choice of food could be improved”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I went on a weekday eveing and the place was not busy. We had a warm welcome for the bar staff and was quickly shown to a quiet table. I was disappointed at the choice but there did seem to be something for everyone. The food was well cooked and presented but I did not feel it was good value for money. I will give it a few months and try it again to see if there is a greater choice of main courses.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lottie292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Decidedly mediocre”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Very friendly service (apart from one apparent employee playing on his laptop all day)
Well ranged menu although for the money I expect more finesse.
Overall a fine experience if mediocre.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank InquisitiveHazelnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
383 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Nice lunch”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Visited this inn with family,(who have frequented on several occasions),warm welcome from staff.They offered a daily menu and a specials menu.The inn has been beautifully refurbished,the food ticked all the boxes,and the desserts were delicious. There are tables and chairs for outdoor dining. A good dining experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnpatricia4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Worst food I have tasted.”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Have had lunch here a few times, this was ok, nothing special. Then on 25th September we called in for an evening meal. We both order the gammon main course, well I have never tasted anything like it..... disgusting!! Both the chips and the gammon were so full of salt they were inedible. I called for the manager, who, tried to blame the Butcher?? This will be the last time we use this place, and I will contact the owner to let her know of our experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheF0xHat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kilcot Inn also viewed

 
Newent, Forest of Dean
 
Coleford, Forest of Dean
Upton Bishop, Ross-on-Wye
 

Been to The Kilcot Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing