We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chilled ”
Review of Bar and Kitchen

Bar and Kitchen
Ranked #8 of 19 Restaurants in Newent
Price range: $8 - $18
Description: Set in a grade ll listed building in an idyllic little town you find a contemporary but friendly restaurant/coffee bar, Unique in its decor, service and style this gem has traditional wood fired pizzas, wonderful specials extensive gin menu and boasting there own coffee blend. All this with a service that is welcoming and friendly yet professional.
Restaurant details
Description: Set in a grade ll listed building in an idyllic little town you find a contemporary but friendly restaurant/coffee bar, Unique in its decor, service and style this gem has traditional wood fired pizzas, wonderful specials extensive gin menu and boasting there own coffee blend. All this with a service that is welcoming and friendly yet professional.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a really lovely dinner tonight. The staff were very friendly, helpful and accommodating. They couldn't do enough to make it a lovely evening. The food was delicious, fresh and timely. Couldn't ask for more. Recommended.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank E6380WDhelenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (12)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 12 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2019

The quality of food served here is second to none . This is the second time ive eaten here and will continue to come here . The first time was when I had a Sunday roast which was the nicest roast ive had in a long time . This time I had the quiche and salad , beautifully prepared and tasty . The prices are very reasonable for the quality you get . Just good , honest home cooked food beautifully presented . The staff are really welcoming and helpful and its a beautifully decorated comfortable place to eat . Definitely the best place to eat in Newent . Highly recommended .

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Gareth125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2019

My husband and I visited for Sunday lunch.
I chose smoked haddock & pea risotto with poached egg to start followed by pan fried chicken with mushroom sauce. Both were cooked to perfection! Roast beef or pork was also available and looked delicious. The new chef has certainly put his stamp on the place.. the menu is small but I could have chosen anything from it and been very happy.
The place was buzzing with people.. an open mike session in the garden attracted a variety of age groups all enjoying the last of the summer sun.
We had a great day!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Lovetoeat4242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2019

I have come here since the chef changed over twice and had some really yummy dishes, including Gnocci and seafood Taglitelle, he steak tastes amazing as well as had some of my Fathers also the Sunday roasts are massive and tasty, I will come back and back! The beer garden is the best bin town and the music and atmosphere great!

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kate s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2019 via mobile

Was taken here for Sunday lunch. They had a roast ( thankfully)and a good choice on the menu. Two of us went for the roast beef ( being a Sunday) and two had the steak. The veggies were nicely cooked Being carrots, courgettes and cauliflower cheese. All dishes were nicely presented.and the gravy which was tasty came in little saucepans. The two who had the steak had very nice looking sauté potatoes and tomato and mushroom, the steak was cooked as requested and the sauce was again in a little saucepan. The flavour was good but could have done with a steak knife to cut it with. The sweets were generous and again nicely presented. It would have been nice to have a few new potatoes and perhaps a choice of veg( I can’t eat cheese with meat) but everything was quickly served and hot.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank HeatherR889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar and Kitchen also viewed

 
Newent, Forest of Dean
Newent, Forest of Dean
 
Newent, Forest of Dean
Newent, Forest of Dean
 

Been to Bar and Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing