We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stinchcombe Hill House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Dursley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I stayed here with my girlfriend , we are from Sweden but live in Dublin and I have to say that this is the place you think of when you imagine the English country life. The hosts are so sweet, the house is amazing, the nature is perfect, the wild garlic growing around the house is fenomenal to mix in your mash potatoes :) Its one of the best places I have ever stayed at. I even made a little film to promote the place since the people running it really deserves some recognition for all the work they put in. Thanks for a wonderful weekend !

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9ADjqR1lWSg&feature=youtu.be

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VJARL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 165 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

By the time we reached Dursley we'd been on the road for 39 days and so were looking for a real break as we explored Gloucestershire for five days. We chose Stinchcombe House because of the website and have had a great time here. It's a huge, rambling country house built in 1907 but the Lister family. No expense seems to have been spared with lots of timber panelling downstairs, and leaded windows set into stone frames everywhere. As a result the place has a real manor house feel. Our room was off in a wing by itself so it was private and very comfortable. There's a large sitting room downstairs for the use of guests, with a fire burning when it was cold and windy. The dining room where breakfast is served is huge. The hospitality was faultless with our hosts warm and unintrusive. A real country house experience and one of the best we've experienced in our travels.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank EdM389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Our stay at Stinchcombe Hill House was part of a surprise birthday weekend I had planned for my husband. The wonderful old, rambling house is set in the beautiful Gloucestershire countryside and was the perfect setting for a get-away-from-it-all weekend. My husband stays in hotels with his job at least once a week and the one thing I didn't want was to stay in yet another cookie-cutter hotel where the rooms are soulless and the same whichever city you are in. Stinchcombe provided exactly this uniqueness I was looking for.

We were greeted by Dolly, the lovely old chocolate lab, on our arrival, followed swiftly by a very warm welcome from the owners, Jane and Graham Burrell, and a very cute, playful Jack Russell called Gertie.

The room was clean, spacious and charming, with an equally lovely en-suite shower room. The views from the window over the Severn Estuary were stunning. Lovely white-painted floorboards and colourful rugs, a comfy bed, wardrobe, drawers, hostess tray with prettily patterned bone-china and a TV.

We had a dinner reservation on the Friday evening at the Pepperpot Inn (highly recommended) in the nearby village of Lower Wick, and Graham kindly offered to drive us there and pick us up later so we could have a drink or two.

Breakfast is served in the oak-panelled dining room, around a large oval table - so much more sociable than little individual ones! Every combination you could want for breakfast was on offer; from cereals and toast to full English, complete with delicious free-range eggs.

Jane and Graham were delightful. welcoming and accommodating hosts who could not do enough for us. They provided us with a real home-from-home atmosphere and Stinchcombe Hill House provided a restful sanctuary that you can't help but relax in.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My fiance and I stayed here for two nights with my parents, while walking the Cotswold Way last week. The house is gobsmackingly gorgeous and we were warmly greeted by the hosts upon arrival. In the evening they even offered us a lift into the village so we could all have a drink or two. Two sweet dogs came with the package, Gertie who was a very sweet, bouncy thing and Dolly, who sadly was kept outside. We found this a little unsettling, particularly on freezing cold, rainy nights when we returned home late to find Dolly sat outside looking forlorn. When asked why she lived outside they simply replied that 'she just always has'... A bit distressing when Gertie was allowed run of the big warm house.

This aside, the rooms we stayed in were lovely. Comfy beds with fluffy pillows and thick feather duvet. Only downside was that there were old, half-used toiletries in the bathroom, some Tesco shower spray and no shower gel at all. I'd suggest having either NO toiletries, or having new, clean ones for guests to use. This brought the tone down a little.

Breakfast was delicious and really set us up for the day when walking.

Thanks for a lovely stay!

Room Tip: Ask for the room in the 'nursing wing'!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank emiliehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane B, Owner at Stinchcombe Hill House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments. I would like to assure you that Dolly is far better off outside than inside. She grew up on farm with several other dogs and as a result has a thick outdoor coat. She sleeps indoors during the winter but at other times the vet advises that it would be cruel to keep her inside.
Also I am sorry if you believed the toiletries were old. They were in fact home made soaps. Hadn't quite got them into perfect straight lines but I promise that we do not leave old soaps in the bathrooms. I am glad you enjoyed your stay.
Best wishes
Jane Burrell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I had pre-booked for an overnight stay during a walk from Bath to Monmouth. I was welcomed by Dolly the labrador snoozing at the front door. The house was imposing and characterful on the outside and the inside matched. Jane Burrell welcomed me warmly and Gertie the Jack Russell entertained me while I consumed a very welcome pot of tea and a huge slab of jam sandwich cake in the most comfortable surroundings of the "hall".

Jane drove me to/from Dursley for a pint at the Old Spot (which I would highly recommend but NB food apparently only on Monday evenings) and an excellent pizza at the nearby Italian restaurant at no extra charge.

I had a simply furnished, clean and comfortable room of generous size with a boarded floor and a large wc/showerroom with modern fittings and apparently the best views in the house.

Breakfast was in a large panelled room at a grand table. The food was superb, the cooked breakfast a work of art. Delicious home-made jam (but watch the damson stones!).

All in all, a rare find in this price range and absolutely first class.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stinchcombe Hill House is a beautiful oasis surrounded by lovely Cotswold countryside. Straightaway, we started to unwind after a very hectic few months and much needed holiday, whilst waiting to move into our new home in Dursley. There is plenty of space to take a walk, play with the friendly dogs and in our children's case run in the extensive lawned gardens. Comfortable and peaceful, delicious home cooked breakfasts. Jane and Graham have created a homely environment and give a feeling of warmth and welcome. J and P (parents)

Stinchcombe Hill House is absolutely amazing! People are so friendly! But, we can't forget about the food! It is amazing! Me and my brother and sister had loads of fun, racing in the garden, playing with the dogs. The scenery around is brilliant, with flowers, and nature all around. We also love to take walks in the hills around. It is beautiful! We love this place, and definitely recommend you to stay here. (Sarah, 11 Years)

Stinchcombe Hill House is full of happiness! If I would have been to a 7 star hotel then Stinchcombe Hill House is a whole world better because it's a lovely environment, it has extremely
friendly people, and the food is AMAZING!!! Stinchcombe Hill House is a great place for children and adults to stay! Stinchcombe Hill House is highly recommended by all of us! (Anna, 9 years)

Absolutely brill stay, we had lots of laughs and lots of fun! (Matthew, 13 years)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rags_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank remoloetscher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dursley
3.5 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wotton-under-Edge
174 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Pepper Pot Caravan Park
2.8 mi away
Stouts Hill Cotswold Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stinchcombe Hill House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stinchcombe Hill House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Stinchcombe Hill House Stinchcombe Hill, Dursley GL11 6AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Dursley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Dursley
Price Range: $119 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjoining Stinchcombe Hill Golf Course which is laid out on private hilltop trust land, Stinchcombe Hill House is set in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and enjoys a peaceful and secluded position on a spur of the Southwest Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Stinchcombe Hill House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stinchcombe Hill House Bed And Breakfast Dursley, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing