We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual, comfortable, friendly, efficient.”
Review of The Old Crown Inn

The Old Crown Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dursley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Crown Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Dursley B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Excellent experience. The staff at the Old Crown in Uley (Dursley) was friendly and customer oriented. Comfortable beds and quality food. Clean bathrooms and hot water. I gave these guys an excellent rating because their service was excellent. Family run feeling -- but capable and professional. It was clear the previous guests had caused problems -- they yanked off the grill to get to the heater and turned it off, they caused the room to need to be aired, and removed the stool that would have enabled me to close the windows. But the staff had cleaned the room and it didn't smell. Carpets were clean, room was clean. The bathroom was clean. Had nice hot water for shower. Bed was comfortable, and all the staff was friendly and ready to help me when I needed a hand with windows and heater. The food was excellent too. Quality stay. Delicious food. Friendly staff. Hard workers -- no lazy lay-abouts. Impressive.

Room Tip: They make excellent packed lunches, just need to tell them the night before.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank walking4beer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
There are newer reviews for The Old Crown Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 53 of 53 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2012

Nice friendly inn located on the Cotswolds Way. Food was ok, best avaoid the veggie options in my view. The staff were excellent, although the room did need a face lift. The owner was happy to give us a lift the next morning. No vodafone signal.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALAN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Arrived for a weekend stay for a short walk around the Cotswold for the day. This Inn is situated right at the start of the Cotswold (Uley), in the heart of the beautiful Gloucestershire countryside. Even though we arrived late for our bed and breakfast booking, and didn't arrive till 11.45 pm, they still accommodated us with out fuss, and even cooked an evening meal, after we had suffered hours of traffic delays. We awoke late, were still served breakfast, even though we were very late rising. Our host (Mary) ensured we were driven to the beginning of the Cotswold path (this is the perfect place to start from).
After a wonderful day, we arrived back in time for a relaxing meal and a comfortable nights sleep. I must also add, that Folders were also provided in each room detailing walks that can be made, and the distances involved.
All in all, I would definetley stay here again. The rooms were clean, warm and of a high standard, and the hosts were like home from home.
Five stars from us

Mike and Sue
Manchester

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

This is a good place to have a beer with locals and eat fairly good pub food, but not as nice for overnight accommodations. On the plus side, the two twin-bedded rooms we used had a lot of space. On the negative side, there is a dog who resides overnight in building and woke us up with his barking. Also, our rooms were not tidied the next day. And the toilet didn't work well. The busy staff is primarily focused on the bar and restaurant, not the guest rooms. But it's a good value if you aren't too picky.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mary h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

The Old Crown at Uley is a fantastic coaching inn where the proprietors are very welcoming. They cannot do enough for you. The rooms were clean and warm and Mary and Ben (our hosts) were very helpful. Lovely cozy fireplace in the Inn. The food was fantastic and very good value for money. The locals are friendly too and our 2 dogs loved it there. Lots of lovely walks close by. I cannot fault this pub and therefore do not understand the previous comment on this web site. Keep up the good work Mary and Ben!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharonAtkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

This is a country inn in an area of outstanding natural beauty.It offers 4 ensuite bedrooms described as 'high quality.' We stayed for 2 nights. There was no welcome by the proprietors; a staff member showed us first to a room which, unbelievably, had no windows, just skylights. When we objected we were asked to wait while laundry was cleared from one of the other rooms. There was more laundry on a rack on the landing. This room at least had a window with a view; so we tried to ignore the shabby peeling wallpaper. Tea/coffee making materals were provided, but the absolute minimum compared with other 3-star guest houses and inns we stayed in on our tour ie no biscuis or little extras. There was no soap in the bathroom; we had to request it. The room was not cleaned during the day; we returned late in the evening to find unmade beds and dirty cups. the next day we were woken by a screamng tirade, coming apparently from the kitchen below. At breakfast we ordered bacon and mushrooms -- precisely two minute mushrooms appeared on each plate! If this place has been awarded three stars what on earth are they for?

Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
5  Thank fradavgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dursley
6.1 mi away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
437 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wotton-under-Edge
160 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hunter's Hall Inn
Hunter's Hall Inn
#1 of 1 in Kingscote
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
687 reviews
3.6 mi away
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
3.1 mi away
Stinchcombe Hill House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Crown Inn

Address: 17 The Green | Uley, Dursley GL11 5SN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Dursley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Dursley
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Old Crown Inn Dursley, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing