We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location, very kind landlady”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yew Tree Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Northleach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb location, very kind landlady”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This was our haven for four nights before going back to Germany. We really enjoyed relaxing here in the evenings, after trips to the north Cotswolds and Oxford. Our room "Beams" was spacious, comfy and quiet to sleep in. The DVD collection helped us to improve our knowledge of essential British culture on a rainy afternoon (Inspector Morse pt 1+2 ;-). Vivien's breakfast was delicious and we are grateful for the little conversations we had about subjects beyond the weather ;-)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank_and_Steffi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    10
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
19
150
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed in this beautiful cottage in May of 2013. Our room was everything we had hoped for - comfortably, clean and the house was beautiful. Vivian was friendly, helpful and cooked a wonderful breakfast. Vivian was also able to recommend some lovely local walks and provide some useful tips about places to visit nearby. I would fully recommend this accommodation to somebody looking to enjoy a quintessential Cotswold experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topiarist, Owner at Yew Tree Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Many thanks for your lovely Review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Virginia, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My husband and I had finished up a week of mission work and wanted to extend our holiday with an anniversary trip in the Cotswolds. We chose the Yew Tree Cottage and were not disappointed! It was just a delightful and beautiful home with absolutely glorious gardens and views. Bumble, Bee, and Atticus were our welcoming committee followed closely by Vivien. We were put in a lovely room with more than the comforts of home. The tiny village of Turkdean is, indeed, off the beaten path, but the perfect distance for taking day trips out to all of the sights around the area...or just relax in the pretty bedroom or gorgeous gardens there on her property! If we are ever blessed to be back in this beautiful part of Britain, we will definitely stay here again. Cheers, Vivien!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

A little piece of paradise. We booked late; by some miracle the utterly charming owner, Vivien, of this beautifully quaint Cotswold cottage, had a room left. The rooms are full of character, beamed ceilings, comfortable beds, tea tray and biscuits in your room. You wake to birds singing and peace ... and then a breakfast feast of fresh fruits and compote, toast, cereals, juice and coffee or cooked. The cottage has tiered gardens that overlook fields to the rear and church grounds to the front, all set in a small village. When its sunny you can sit, drink wine and soak in the tranquility in the garden or if there is a sudden downpour (as in our case!) you can make a dash for the summerhouse. Fantastic weekend ... and only minutes from some good country pubs and about 25 miles from Blenheim and likewise to Bicester Village. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Only two double rooms; one en-suite and one with bathroom just outside the bedroom door. Both charmi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessandTeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uldum, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The very best. We were happy to stay and nothing missing, exellent service and nice rooms. If we are ever in that part of the World Again, we know where to stay. Thank's Vivien.
Love from
Karin and Niels
Henrik and Anette

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Anette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topiarist, Owner at Yew Tree Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
I shall always remember your jolly stay for the Centenary event for Goldies at Cirencester Park and the blazing sunshine - thank you for being such lovely guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My adult daughter and I stayed at Yew Tree Cottage for 2 nights at the end of June. Set in a quiet village away from the hustle and bustle of other Cotswold villages but only a few minutes drive away.
We were welcomed by Vivian and her gorgeous labradors and immediately made to feel at home. We had a beautiful large double room with a private bathroom. This historic Bed and Breakfast was our last in our trip around England and it was the perfect finish. The house is something we just don't see in Australia and felt like it was out of a picture book. The beams in the bedrooms the warm farmhouse kitchen and beautiful gardens. This is a true Bed and Breakfast sharing your hostess's home. Our only complaint was that we hadn't booked for long enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YvonneConway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topiarist, Owner at Yew Tree Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your lovely Review - I am so glad you enjoyed your short stay - three days would be better and allow more time to relax into country life!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

What an amazing lady and cosy home. Everything was perfect and beautifully done.
Vivian was superb. She even organised a taxi for me to attend a party locally.
My room was absolutely wonderful and full of the small touches that Vivian creates with such elegance to create a homely touch. I didn't want to wake up and get out of bed as it was so incredibly comfortable. I wish I was staying for more than one night.
I had breakfast on the large kitchen table, which was delicious and was accompanied by several homemade jams.
I would recommend Yew Tree Cottage to absolutely anyone staying in the area!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topiarist, Owner at Yew Tree Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you Linda for your most generous Review - I wish you had stayed longer too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northleach
4.8 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,186 reviews
4.3 mi away
Dial House Hotel
Dial House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
529 reviews
4.6 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Upper Slaughter
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
544 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Wheatsheaf Inn
The Wheatsheaf Inn
#1 of 6 in Northleach
751 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Red House East B&B
The Red House East B&B
#4 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yew Tree Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yew Tree Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Property: Yew Tree Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Address: Northleach, Northleach GL54 3NT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Northleach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Northleach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury cottage B&B in the heart of the Cotswolds. This cottage B&B is a quintessential Cotswolds home providing every modern comfort in a very traditional setting. A perfect 'cottage break'! Located in a small village in the beautiful rolling countryside between Cheltenham, Stow-on-the-Wold and Bourton-on-the-Water, Yew Tree Cottage serves as an ideal base from which to explore the Cotswolds. At Yew Tree Cottage we aim to provide modern comfort with old world charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Yew Tree Cottage Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yew Tree Cottage b&b
Yew Tree Cottage Hotel Northleach
Yew Tree Cottage Bed And Breakfast Cotswolds/Northleach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing