We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step back in time...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yew Tree Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Northleach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2012

The spacious Beamed Room is set in the oldest part of the house and gave us a feeling of stepping back in time. The deep window seat was perfect for reading. Our view was edged by a honeysuckle vine that had been trained up the side of the house, the front garden, a road, and church property beyond. (Traffic was too light to be troublesome.) Modern comforts included a flat screen TV, DVDs, lots of books, and tea things.

The bathroom, across the hall, was large with a deep soaking tub, and an optional hand held shower head.

Rain did dampen our stay, but not our spirit of adventure… We took pretty walks along the marked public pathways that led through nearby farmlands. In the end, however, we very were fortunate that Vivien took pity on us. My husband had rinsed off the mud from our shoes, outside. But, we might have had wet (useless) shoes for the rest of the trip. Vivien invited us to dry our soaked shoes beside her Aga, and by the late afternoon they were dry and warm.

I had hoped to walk to the nearby town of Northleach for dinner, but it wasn’t practical. Again, Vivien came to our rescue by offering the number for a local taxi company – who charged 20£ roundtrip for the two of us. Dinner at the Whitesheaf (reservations recommended) in Northleach was lovely. The following day, we craved something light and casual, so we visited a few stores and cobbled together an al fresco dinner. Vivien very kindly laid the kitchen table for us, and we in turn were delighted when we were able to coax her into sharing our dinner.

Homemade jams, stewed fruit, and “Full English” breakfasts by Vivien were always very good. There was something heavenly about her Aga-cooked mushrooms.

Highlights of our drives and walks a bit further away from our Yew Tree Cottage home base included a riverside walk between Lower and Upper Slaughters, and lunch at the Trout Inn, in Lower Wolvercote, just next to the river Thames.

Room Tip: The pretty Gabled Room has an en-suite bathroom. The Beamed Room is spacious and full of character...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lemonposset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 205 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2012

We spent three nights at Yew Tree Cottage Turkdean earlier this week (June 2012) . I would unreservedly echo the compliments of other recent guests. Vivien was welcoming and a very considerate and warm host. (For example, we did not have to ask to have the heating put on when returning at the end of a cold and wet English summer day. Vivien was always very mindful of the comforts of her guests.) The house is a quintessential English cottage located in a pretty and very quiet little village. It has been beautifully restored and and all the rooms are decorated and provisioned to a very high standard of comfort. Breakfast was excellent with Vivien's home-grown fruit on offer along with a wide range of menu choices. All food served was of the highest quality.

It is situated in a very attractive area of the Cotswolds. However, Turkdean is a little isolated so expect to have to drive to local pubs or restaurants which are numerous and of high quality.

We have stayed in many B&Bs over the years. We would rate Yew Tree Cottage as one of the very best B&B we have ever visited in England. Reading the other reviews, Vivien thoroughly deserves all the plaudits that she has been given.

Room Tip: One of the two rooms is en suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GordonCMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

If there would be an award for Bed & Breakfasts similar to the Academy award for films etc. Booker for Books, Vivien at Turkdean would be THE clear winner without any doubt. No more needs to be added - except that Yew Tree Cottage is perfection.

Room Tip: All superb - makes no difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Stayed at the Yew Tree for a night in May 12. The owner Vivien was a very friendly old lady, who welcomed us with a nice pot of tea and cookies! Her two Black Labradors were also very playful, especially the puppy Bumble (the older one being Bee. Apparently there was another named Gulliver who was killed recently in a car accident)

The place is nice, and we were lucky enough to get the room with the ensuite bathroom. However Vivien turns off the heater at night, which can be... inconvenient, for those who have phobia of cold! Breakfast is glorious, with Vivien serving up a hearty English breakfast, with homegrown tomatoes and a home made rhubarb jam.

Turkdean is also very remote, so there are no tourists and almost no vehicles.... And as a result, there's no facilities nearby! No pubs within walking distance etc. So it's great for a getaway from akk the hustle and bustle but if you are looking for things to don then other villages like Bourton-on-the-water or Stow-on-the-Wold would be better bets.

Room Tip: Request for the ensuite room, if it's an important feature
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stormweaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We spent two nights at Yew tree cottage, actually as a mini honeymoon after getting married in Dorset 2 days before. Vivien was a fantastic host, making us feel very at home. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious, we particularly loved the homemade stewed fruits! She has two absolutely lovely black labs, and a beautifully maintained garden around the cottage with her own topiary! We had lovely weather while we were there and went on a great walk around the area in the morning, followed by exploring the local villages recommended by Vivien in the afternoon.
We ate both nights at the Wheatsheaf, in nearby Northleach, we don't usually go to the same place two nights in a row, but the food was really good there. On the whole a really enjoyable stay, and a perfect base for discovering the Cotswolds, which are unbelievably beautiful.
We ended up leaving our phone charger behind, which Vivien very kindly posted back to us!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jules G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We have just arrived back from Yew Tree Cottage after another wonderful home from home stay with Viviene, Bea and Bumble her gorgeous and well delightfully wellbehaved labradors. We were welcomed by her beautiful well kept cottage gardens bursting with spring flowers, and the sight of her delightful chocolate box cottage. Again we enjoyed her fabulous hospitality and her delicious breakfasts of homemade jams and the most delicious homemade bread you will ever taste ! The bird life in the garden is just amazing , you can lie in bed just listening to the assortment of bird song outside the window, then watch them feed from the numberous feeders around the garden, even whilst sitting in the quaint cottage kitchen, where they do their acrobatics on the feeders. Thank you for a well needed bit of rest and relaxation in your lovely home. See you soon Viviene, Bea and Bumble xxx

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark_Tabbernor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

After travelling throughout England for two weeks with my family and girlfriend, and staying in a plethora of bed and breakfasts, you start to notice the little differences that set apart the truly great from the good.

Yew Tree Cottage is no exception. From home stewed friuits and home made jams, to Viviens early morning drives to pick up just laid hens eggs, to drying out our muddy boots next to the Aga stove; this place is a must visit on any travellers journey to the Costwolds, and was undoubtedly the highlight of our trip around the UK (not to mention the best breakfast by a country mile!).

It truly feels like a home away from home, with big comfy beds, lovely Cotswolds charm, and would suit a variety of holiday makers. From the outdoors types who enjoy hiking, to stressed out city dwellers who need some R and R, or to gourmands who want to eat their way around the Cotswolds (as we did!), Yew Tree Cottage is a must visit. Faultless. Charming. Wonderful.

Thankyou Vivien for your wonderful hospitality.

The Wards (and Stephane)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nigeljamesward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yew Tree Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yew Tree Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Address: Yew Tree Cottage Northleach, Northleach GL54 3NT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Northleach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Northleach
Price Range: $155 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury cottage B&B in the heart of the Cotswolds. This cottage B&B is a quintessential Cotswolds home providing every modern comfort in a very traditional setting. A perfect 'cottage break'! Located in a small village in the beautiful rolling countryside between Cheltenham, Stow-on-the-Wold and Bourton-on-the-Water, Yew Tree Cottage serves as an ideal base from which to explore the Cotswolds. At Yew Tree Cottage we aim to provide modern comfort with old world charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Yew Tree Cottage Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yew Tree Cottage Hotel Northleach
Yew Tree Cottage b&b
Yew Tree Cottage Bed And Breakfast Cotswolds/Northleach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing