We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a brilliant museum!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mechanical Music Museum

Mechanical Music Museum
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“What a brilliant museum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

This was a little gem of a museum. We were not sure what to expect but from the moment we arrived, it was obviously going to be fascinating. The man behind the desk told us about the well known musicians who play in the pub on Christmas Eve - that was a good start! The guided tour of the museum with the instrunments was quite simply fascinating and we could happily have spent hours just asking questions and finding out more. It is a museum not to be missed.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    38
    4
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Odd but fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

You'll find lots of things you never knew you really needed.... The service was excellent, the staff have a passion for musical items.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank _David_T_Patrick_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A place to take friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Guided tour around the house to see all kinds of musical items from record players to pianos, pinolas and juke boxes. You get to hear the music from certain items. The guide was informative. Well worth a visit.

Helpful?
4 Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
289 reviews
173 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 375 helpful votes
“A one hour tour through just one room!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I would never have believed that it would take one hour to tour just one room and still not actually see everything in it. The tour guide takes you through the history of mechanical music with live demonstrations. It is great for people of all ages and because you don't leave the room you don't need to be physically fit, they have chairs for those who need them. The only thing I would say is that it doesn't seem to have disabled access due to the age of the building and the steps (not many) you have to go up to get there. It's a great activity for a rainy day.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Eaglet64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MechMusicMuseum, Web Admin at Mechanical Music Museum, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Please Note: Flat access is available upon request to 100% of the attraction, gift shop and facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Brilliant and Interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was the 3rd time my husband and i have visited the museum and each time there is something new to see. Even though the museum is small there is so much packed in to see you will not be disappointed.You are taken from the first music boxes and gramaphones through to pianos that play themselves!. Each time we have been we have had David as our guide who is fascinating to listen to as he is so enthusiastic and knowledgeable about everything in the museum.
There is a gift shop as well which sells goods from stocking fillers to grandfather clocks.
If you are in the Cotswolds this is a must for you to see.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol9159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mechanical Music Museum also viewed

Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
Northleach, Cotswolds
 
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
 

Been to Mechanical Music Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing