We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect except for the music” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wheatsheaf Inn Restaurant

The Wheatsheaf Inn Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Wheatsheaf Inn Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Northleach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Pub, Bar, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cotswolds,
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfect except for the music”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

The Wheatsheaf, once an ancient coaching inn, is a deservedly popular resrauant with rooms (unseen by me)in a very attractive small Cotswold town. Notthleach attracts far fewer tourists than many other of the area's beautiful villages, despite its handsome stone C16-C18 houses, a fine church and stunning walks in the area (Turkdean particularly lovely)..
Food is from a relatively small, seasonal menu (always a good sign!): imaginative and well cooked dishes, perfectly presented. The young serving staff judge everything exactly right they are friendly, helpful, professional but not intrusive. The interiors are stylish but in a subtle way that reflects the age of the building, the garden redesigned to incorporate rising terraces, providing privacy between beautiful flower beds. It is no cheap but certainly worth the prices and the car park was full (of expensive cars!) on a midweek lunchtime.
The only problem we encountered was that on a very hot July day, the cool, stone-flagged interior seemed to hold most appeal. But we were driven out by the music - which the manager was reluctant to turn down (despite there being only one other table occupied-and that bya quite elderly couple and a child). Of course some like music, some don't- but it seemed incongruous here and at one point the heavy reggae beat meant that we had to raise our voices to hold a normal conversation and so we fled to the garden where just the bees and the subdued conversations of other patrons let the peace of a rural summer day prevail.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethSpeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    106
    49
    20
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great pub restaurant in a lovely small town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Our third time here, and pleased to report standards remain high. On a lovely Sunday we had a floral NZ Riesling and an IPA in the delightful wild flower strewn garden before heading indoors to the rustic dining room. Consider but well thought through menu, we started with mint pea purée, broad beans and feta crostini, a taste of summer. Hake was a terrific tranche, crispy skin and melting flakes on a bed of samphire tomato and leeks, my overnight roast beef was as soft as a baby's bottom, with deeply rich roasted veg plus peas, sugar snaps and broccoli.And roast potatoes. And Yorkshire PhDs. Yeah!!!!
Washed down with a bottle of Framingham Pinot Noir, it was a lovely lunch in the company of attentive staff and an interesting mix of customers, from old timers to expats to yuppies here for the weekend.
It's not cheap here, but quality is remembered long after price is forgotten.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Great but avoid room 5”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

I had a few days off work and after a great family do here in May I decided to stay one night.

The place is really nicely decorated and I could not fault the food and staff who were all very friendly and clearly enjoy working here.

My only gripe was that I was in room 5 on a hot night and there was a very loud fan just outside the window which prevented a good nights sleep and I was hoping for peace and quiet in the Cotswolds .

I mentioned this to the staff on check out and emailed them on my return to be told the manager would get back to me.

As yet I've heard nothing so I'm very disappointed as I would like to return and recommend to friends .

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dale B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Good English Fare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

A special night out with my wife for her birthday - Saturday Night in high summer, - one would imagine this was a recipe for a spoiled evening, but not a bit of it. This was a great meal in a good Inn. We both had the signature starter, the cheese souffle and it was fantastic. For some reason we fancied fish, so I had the Plaice and my wife the Hake. Both were excellent, a good portion with fresh vegetables to suit the dish. Wines are available by the small carafes as well as by the bottle, and this suited us too, Rosé for one and White for the other. Good cheerful service. The fact that the place was heaving didn't seem to phase the staff or the kitchen. Great experience

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wardieeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola, Malta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quick service high prices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

Place was packed at around 2 pm on a Sunday. Good food with a quick service but prices a bit too high. Portion sizes adequate.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank map079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wheatsheaf Inn Restaurant also viewed

 
Aldsworth, Cotswolds
Northleach, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Wheatsheaf Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing