We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not at all up to expectations”
Review of The Wheatsheaf Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Wheatsheaf Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Northleach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Be warned. Their on line booking system does not function well .Made on line reservation on their website - when i heard nothing after a few days I called. They had not received my reservation so did it on the phone. Then made bookings for treatments -- they didnt receive this either so when we arrived nothing was booked and nothing was available. They were not at all sorry about this and it seemed like it was my fault.

So to the experience. This trip was for our wedding anniversary. As we had our 2 small dogs we booked a dog friendly room. They have 3 rooms for dogs . Avoid room 12 -- dark, small, no chair or wardrobe in the room although there is a freestanding bath! no slippers and no bath mat either although there are robes. No view from the room apart from the dog ends left outside the rear door and the kitchen extractor.

Internet did not function the whole time we were there and you cannot get a phone signal either unless you go and stand in the car park. Great when its 3 degrees below!

Food average and the only thing that saved this was the very helpful and pleasant James and a couple of his colleagues.

Room Tip: Avoid room 12 -- 10 and 11 overlook the garden so probably a good option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 362MichaelD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (779)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

534 - 540 of 779 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

Lovely pub, good food, great atmosphere. But our room was horrendous. The (small) double bed filled the room and there was NOWHERE to store anything at all. Not a shelf, not a drawer - and certainly no wardrobe. To open the shower room door you pretty much had to stand on the bed. And the heat from the pipes running round the skirting was akin to the heat in a sauna. There's just about room to put your suitcase on the floor - where it has to stay. Any attempts to unpack would be foolhardy, so cancel your plans to change for dinner. I'm sure we would have been offered another room, had there been one available - but the pub was fully booked, on a Sunday night in Feb, and the manager did offer a good discount on checkout. Sadly, though, it was such a horrid experience, it spoilt the weekend. Oh, and the price for this room? £130 per night! You have been warned.

Room Tip: When you book by phone, make sure you ask for a 'best' room. Our room was termed 'good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lorry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Having booked somewhere small,quaint and relaxing that is exactly what we got until we ate in the restaurant at night.
Disorganised,too busy for the small number of staff to cope with and just couldn't make up for the delicious food.
The restaurant isn't relaxing as you wait and wait and wait some more to catch the eye of a staff member running from the bar to a table to the kitchen...
We ate our starter,no bread offered,waited for our main...which took an age and then even though we were really excited about the dessert menu decided to give up and return to our room as we sat for a whole 20 mins with empty waiting to be cleared dinner plates...
The place is lovely,I'd love to return but if you want to park your car,stroll through the village and just eat at your hotel in the evening then it's a big disappointment and the reason I couldn't return.
Get more staff to cope with the demand in the restaurant and try to be more professional..casual service at breakfast and lunch is ok in a village inn ,just not in the evening when paying above the odds. It's really simple and these guests would return again and again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovenyc81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Traveled as a couple for part of a honeymoon. Our room was outstanding and the entire building was maintained to a very high level with landscaped gardens at the rear also. The rooms were decorated to a very high standard and the fixtures and fittings were top class with a fantastic sink,bath and shower. It was a really relaxing and beautiful place to stay. We dined in the hotel restaurant twice because it was so good and we were really impressed the food was amazing and of a really high standard. We would definitely love to come back again as it's a great hotel in a really beautiful part of the country. Lots of nice touches like complimentary water, chocolates etc in room and upon checkout, the toiletries were also premium brands.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

It started so well. Checked in our bags, ordered some fizz and were shown to a cosy parlour off the main restaurant with plenty of newspapers, magazines and books. Perfect.

We then went up to our room. Some hits and misses here. On the plus side, a very comfortable bed, excellent quality bed linen and a little goody bag containing essential items in case we had forgotten anything, plus lot of freebie chocolates. Oh, and a large Bang & Olufsen TV with Sky, which the literature in the room said we could use to record a programme to enjoy at our leisure when we returned to the room after dinner. But we couldn’t because the record function was not available on the Sky system. Only a small thing but annoying when a hotel promises a service which is not available.

On the list of misses: no wardrobe only seven hooks on which to hang things (to be fair the website does warn you that not all bedrooms have wardrobes). However, four of the hooks were attached to the toilet door and a further three were placed next to the sink – not ideal positioning. A wash basin actually in the bedroom (too reminiscent of student days for me) and, worst of all, a large shower with a glass door immediately facing and in full view of the bed. Personally I like a bit if privacy when having a shower and I’m sure that my partner doesn’t want to see me washing my nether regions whilst she is trying to enjoy a morning coffee in bed!

And about that coffee: there are no tea or coffee making facilities in the bedroom but the room literature does say that if you want tea or coffee you can contact reception and they’ll send some up. Fine in theory. In practice, I had to ring on four separate occasions before anyone at reception answered the phone. So the coffee I wanted at 07.45 eventually arrived at 08.20. Also, despite the room being a good size there was only very minimal storage or surface space – no desk or coffee table. Two very small tables at either side of the bed were filled by large lamps and a telephone, so nowhere to put the coffee tray (or anything else for that matter) when it did finally arrive!

Down to dinner and the staff had no record of our reservation. This despite the fact that I had phoned only two days earlier to make the booking and had a long conversation with a very helpful receptionist about where she would place us in the restaurant. Table eventually located we were sat down and ordered. Helped by an excellent sommelier who recommended a very good wine at a reasonable price, that was the high point of service for the evening. Although the waiting staff were polite and friendly, in a very casual and informal way, the service was completely incompetent. It was as if the management had invited a few students in during their holidays to get some work experience, told them to wait on tables and get on with it.

Our starters arrived but no bread. This despite the excellent Netherend Farm butter on the table. We asked twice and were eventually offered a tiny piece of granary bread – one piece only. We finished our main courses and waited a full 15 minutes before our dirty plates were taken away and this only after we had asked. We then waited another 10 minutes before the dessert menu was offered and, again, only after we asked. It was as if we were invisible to the staff – this despite the restaurant not being full. The poor service spoiled the evening for me, so we ordered coffee and returned to our room.

Unfortunately the room was above the restaurant area and facing the main road at the front of the hotel. This made it quite noisy, so if you’re a light sleeper, like me, I suggest you avoid room four.

Having read many very favourable reviews of the Wheatsheaf, I was disappointed by our experience. The cumulative effect of the poor service and strange room arrangements meant that the hotel did not live up to my expectations. Perhaps we were just unlucky and hit it on a bad night. Would I go back? Not whilst there is so much other strong competition in the area.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4 which I would not recommend if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NonPearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We met up with some friends here for a reunion last week. We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. The food was excellent and the staff exceptional. There is also a rather cosy snug to retreat to. We did think that it was rather expensive though, especially having to pay extra for full English and even porridge! However perhaps this will keep it exclusive.

Room Tip: All different. Make sure you specify your preferences
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I found the hotel via the Mr & Mrs Smith website, and it looked the ideal place for a quiet getaway.
We have stayed in the Cotswolds before, but not in this area.
The website has images of beautiful comfy bedrooms, and lovely relaxing space. On our arrival, it was exactly as it had looked.
Parking was no problem, in their own car park, and we had a friendly warm welcome at the bar when we arrived.
We had our bags carried to our room, number 15. We were given a demo of how to work the TV and sky, and detail about breakfast times etc.
The room was snug, but incredibly comfortable and very tastefully decorated. A large free standing bath as well as a large desperate shower. Luxury toiletries to use too :-)
Once we had explored the room we headed down to the snug area, where we enjoyed drinks on the sofa, and generally did very little.
We had made a reservation for dinner, and even on a Monday the restaurant was busy.
The food was amazing. Beautifully presented, and excellent service. We were also given an excellent wine recommendation.
After dinner we retired, to the amazingly comfortable bed.
Breakfast was lovely, you can opt for cooked items, but continental is included. Fresh fruit, berries, cereals, and toast. As well as fruit juices and hot drinks. The bread in particular was very nice.

We chose to stay here as we have very busy and stressful jobs, and a peaceful getaway was what we wanted. It delivered for us on every level.
The only detractions from perfect were that the heating wasn't working, and the useless hair dryer. The heating, though no issue in the bedroom thanks to an electric heater placed in there, did leave the bathroom chilly, and the heated towel rail stone cold.
And whilst the hair dryer may seem trivial to some, as most women with long hair know, a tiny travel dryer just does not cut it.
With such luxury toiletries, and a Bang & Olufsen TV, it seemed that the balance was slightly out somewhere!

All in all a rather perfect stay, and we will most definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsParrott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northleach
5.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,270 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
571 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
743 reviews
11.2 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 23 in Cheltenham
237 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wheatsheaf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheatsheaf Inn

Address: West End | Cotswolds, Northleach GL54 3EZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Northleach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Northleach
Price Range: $123 - $417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Wheatsheaf Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wheatsheaf Inn sits in the heart of the beautiful sleepy Cotswold village of Northleach. A traditional coaching inn with 14 bespoke bedrooms, blending a traditional coaching inn with modern luxuries. All have the key ingredients for a good night's sleep with beautiful cotton linens by Three Thieving Magpies, Hypnos beds and power showers complete with heavenly-smelling, organic and naturally scented bath salts and lotions from 100 Acres. The Wheatsheaf boasts a topnotch wine list, great beer and excellent seasonal food, locally sourced from only the best producers in either the neighboring counties or UK, we scour the British Isles for the freshest coastal Oysters and seek out the tastiest local game shot by our friends and customers. In the warmer months enjoy our blossom-filled garden, or in the winter snuggle up by the fire after a treatment in our secret haven outside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Wheatsheaf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wheatsheaf Hotel Northleach
Wheatsheaf Northleach
The Wheatsheaf Inn Cotswolds/Northleach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing