We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit disappointed...”
Review of The Wheatsheaf Inn

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Wheatsheaf Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Northleach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little bit disappointed...”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We booked up with The Wheatsheaf inn via the usually reliable Mr and Mrs Smith, however this was the first slip up.

Con's
1) On arrival, it's difficult to figure out exactly where you need to go to check in. For any future guest information, you need to go to the bar.
2) No tea/coffee making facilities in the room! Unfortunately when we requested tea and coffee to be delivered to our room it did not show.
3) The room was also extremely cold when we arrived, all the radiators were off. Luckily we were able to turn the dial to 5 and wait patiently for the room to heat up.
4) We were told there was sky movies in the room, but there was not.
5) They kindly provide crisps and choccies on arrival and bottles of water. When our room was serviced the following day the empty crisp packet was still on the tray (there is no bin in the room), the water was not replaced and no sign of any more choccy! Not impressed.
6) The bathroom was not cleaned when the room was serviced.
7) We stayed in room 1, apparently an excellent room, we would beg to differ. The noise level was quite disturbing as it very close to the hall leading down to the bar.
8) They do not allow/offer breakfast in bed, also if you want a full english it is not included within the breakfast.
9) We were pretty tired after our first full day in The Cotswolds and we really just wanted to order some room service for dinner but we were told this was not possible.

Pro's
1) The food was amazing! We ate in the restaurant both evenings and it was truly faultless, compliments to the chef!
2) The bath in the room was superb, huge and water was hot.
3) B and O TV is a bonus in the room with SKY TV.
4) Location, the Cotswolds is beautiful and there are so many wonderful places to see nearby that our disappointing experience at The Wheatsheaf Inn did not spoil our visit to this stunning part of the World.

We did call down to the reception to make a complaint about the condition of the room and 1 hour later we were told they could send house keeping up but by this time we had rinsed the bath and did not really want to be disturbed.

We certainly did not feel that we received value for money for the 2 days that we spent at The Wheatsheaf Inn and hope that this was just a one-off for them as we did read so great reviews prior to our visit.

Room Tip: Avoid room 1!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    185
    103
    67
    32
See reviews for
131
440
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2011

A most delightful inn full of character, log fires, superb food, great service and we left wanting to revisit.

Dinner was served in a spacious and comfortable room. The food was excellent - the highlight was definitely the Risotto! Breakfast was very good and little details all the way through made our stay a great success.

The staff were unusually helpful and wanting to please. We stayed in room 15. I would say T
the bed was a modest sized double. A very impressive TV system, free Wi-Fi, and a very spacious and well equipped Bathroom With a Bath and an impressive separate shower.

The Wheatsheaf Inn was a great find for us and we would recommend it with great confidence!

Room Tip: We were happy with 15. I understand 14 was more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2011

We stayed in the Wheatsheaf for one night in mid-December booked through "Mr and Mrs". We were taken to our room and our first impression was good with a nice big room and an even bigger bathroom! We had one of the largest beds we have ever slept in so we were more than happy. We later found out we had been upgraded to the best room in the hotel which was a nice surprise.
But the room was not practical. No cupboards, drawers or shelves in the bedroom to put your clothes--literally. We had to keep all our stuff in our case or on the floor. There was a rail in the bathroom for hanging clothes but with the steam from the bath and shower we didn't feel we could use it. No mirrors in the bedroom--the only mirror was above the whb in the bathroom. No electric point anywhere for an electric shaver and no coffee or tea making facilities.
Food in the pub was great as was the service generally.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2011

We booked out the entire hotel for our wedding last week. The staff were brilliant at helping me organise everything and very laid back and helpful throughout. The rooms are gorgeous, especially the bridal suite. And the food is just wonderful although it does take a bit of time to get served - but it is definitely worth the wait. I have one small minor complaint that the rooms were far too hot which made it difficult to sleep but don't let this put you off staying here - its very easy to turn off the radiators (just wish I'd realized this before hand). Enjoy your stay - we certainly did and will be returning soon if we can. xx

Room Tip: The bridal suite is fab. If you have dogs you will be put into an outside room but they are still ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

We had a very enjoyable stay at the Wheatsheaf on November 23rd.
As they were quiet they upgraded us to the top room no. 1 which was
amazing. The bathroom was as big as the bedroom with a marvelous
tub & large shower.
Food was delicious and they were very busy which gave it a buzzy
interesting atmosphere.
All the staff were friendly and helpful especially at breakfast we had a
nice chat with our waiter. Enjoyed Bucks Fizz to start the day.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2011

We had a lovely weekend checking out The Wheatsheaf ahead of our planned weekend to celebrate my husband's 50th there next year. The food was delicious and obligingly the chef was able to adapt a dish I wanted to make it vegetarian. The service was great and our "Excellent" room no 9 was tastefully decorated with an impressive bathroom. The private dining room looks amazing and we look forward to entertaining our 16 guests there next year.

Room Tip: Some rooms have baths/showers actually in the room so ask if you want privacy. Also, some rooms onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

The Wheatsheaf was really lovely - the food was great, rooms and common spaces very comfortable, and it had a fantastic vibe. Not stuffy at all, very hip and young feeling. The dogs everywhere were a welcome bonus! The service seemed a bit disorganised at times, but other than that, was a really great stay and a fantastic short break from London! We'll definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northleach
5.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,187 reviews
5.9 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Upper Slaughter
1,072 reviews
11.2 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 22 in Cheltenham
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
326 reviews
10.9 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,292 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about The Wheatsheaf Inn

Property: The Wheatsheaf Inn
Address: West End | Cotswolds, Northleach GL54 3EZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Northleach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Northleach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Wheatsheaf Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wheatsheaf Inn sits in the heart of the beautiful sleepy Cotswold village of Northleach. A traditional coaching inn with 14 bespoke bedrooms, blending a traditional coaching inn with modern luxuries. All have the key ingredients for a good night's sleep with beautiful cotton linens by Three Thieving Magpies, Hypnos beds and power showers complete with heavenly-smelling, organic and naturally scented bath salts and lotions from 100 Acres. The Wheatsheaf boasts a topnotch wine list, great beer and excellent seasonal food, locally sourced from only the best producers in either the neighboring counties or UK, we scour the British Isles for the freshest coastal Oysters and seek out the tastiest local game shot by our friends and customers. In the warmer months enjoy our blossom-filled garden, or in the winter snuggle up by the fire after a treatment in our secret haven outside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Wheatsheaf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wheatsheaf Hotel Northleach
Wheatsheaf Northleach
The Wheatsheaf Inn Cotswolds/Northleach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing