We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxed Lunch”
Review of Red Lion Inn - CLOSED

Red Lion Inn
Cuisines: Bar, European, British, Pub, Norwegian
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Dagenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Relaxed Lunch”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We visited Northleach to see the Museum of Mechanical Music which I will review seperatly, but can thoroughly recommend. In addition, there is the Historic Wool Church which is equally beautiful and contains many brasses of interest. We visited the Red Lion Inn initially for a quick drink, but were greated by Carol and her partner with such friendliness and warmth that we decided to stay for lunch. This was prepared by Carol and I must say was excellent. The couple chatted with us and were very friendly - the inn being comfortable, warm and full of character. I would recommend a visit to Northleach for its friendly and fascinating history and unusal attractions. Well worth the visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    11
    2
    0
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
190 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Oh dear!”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

What looks like a wonderful traditional village pub on the outside becomes a drab uninviting cold room with a few hard chairs and tables. Even the open fire was depressed! A few locals were at the bar but apart from the four of us there were two other people in there and this was at lunchtime. It doesn't know what it wants to be - hard to describe the 'decor' as it was a real mish mash of bits and pieces and as for the 'facilities' if you can avoid them do.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank mouse010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
164 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Lovely little pub”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We did not eat here as it was the wrong time of day but we were really charmed by the lovely landlady who made us feel so welcome - chilly day and an open fire added to the relaxing atmosphere - will go back for sure and we wish the landlord and landlady every success in their running of a great little community pub.

Well kept beers.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lovely, local and friendly”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

A real pub run by real people. Great fires when it's cold. Beer properly looked after. And a great open mic night (2nd Thursday of every month). Looking forward to heading back and trying the food.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paxford
1 review
“Exellent!”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Passing through Northleach, I thought Id pop in for a swift pint. I had such a warm welcome. I wonderd in to a lovely warm bar with a roaring fire, i mentioned i was peckish and soonly had a lovely ham sandwich in front of me. It had clearly been made with love. I will certainly be revistiting next time im in the north cotswolds.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carlos H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Lion Inn also viewed

 
Northleach, Cotswolds
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing