We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Old Chapel - Nortleach, Cotswolds”
other travelers have booked this property
A fabulous, converted former chapel, in the village of Northleach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A fabulous, converted former chapel, in the village of Northleach
Detached, impressive holiday home Open plan living space, with wooden floors and stone arched windows
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
14 reviews
A fabulous, converted former chapel, in the village of Northleach
Detached, impressive holiday home
Open plan living space, with wooden floors and stone arched windows
Dining table seating up to 5
Dining with character!
Looking up from the ground floor, towards the mezzanine bedroom
Modern kitchen
Spiral staircase, leading up to the bedrooms
View across Northleach from one of the leaded windows
Main double bedroom, with impressive features
Beautiful, ornate stained glass window
Characterful oak roof beams
Modern family bathroom
Reverse image of the bathroom, showing the shower
The mezzanine bedroom, with a double bed and a +1 single chair-bed
Looking from the mezzanine room out onto the landing
The rear of The old Chapel
Beautiful, curved stonework
The side of the chapel, with elegant, leaded windows
The imposing front door
The Old Chapel
Just moments from rolling fields...
....and rural landscapes
Northleach village, filled with character and old world charm
The local butchers, for those nights dining in!
The impressive church in the village centre
Welcome to Northleach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Northleach, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Teo B
1 review
“The Old Chapel - Nortleach, Cotswolds”
Reviewed November 1, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Really impressed with the Old Chapel. I read previous reports about it being a tad cold but we found the heating to be spot on. Upstairs where the bedrooms are, it was actually roasting! Really good set-up, well appointed and very clean. Bedrooms and bathroom particularly splendid with beautiful stained-glass windows throughout. Just a 2 min walk from the village centre and right at the centre of the most popular locations in the Cotswolds. Would happily recommend this place to anyone - very pleased with the choice of holiday let.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 9, 2017
Thank you for leaving such a positive review, we appreciate the feedback. We hope to see you return again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eleanor G
Tring, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pretty Chapel - perfect for a uinsque place to stay.”
Reviewed March 29, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I booked The Old Chapel for a weekend away to celebrate my partners birthday. It was a good choice for us - beautiful building & very comfortable stay. Great location - Northleach is a pretty small town (more of a villagey feel) - not as touristy as some of the more well known places in the Cotswolds but within easy reach of them by car. The Wheatsheaf pub is a few minutes walk away & we had a fantastic meal & great service there on Friday night. The bistro in the village square is also nice for drinks & sharing platters. Easy drive to Cirencester - always a pleasure to potter round there.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bittis_12
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Birthday Treat ”
Reviewed January 30, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

My son and his friend booked this old chapel for both sets of parents as a joint Christmas and Birthday present. First impression was that it is a beautiful building that has been well restored whilst respecting it's previous role. The accommodation is clean and tidy and the bathroom is particularly nice. I would happily recommend The Old Chapel to family and friends

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very tired holiday let suitable for a couple not at all suitable for four people”
Reviewed October 17, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We are currently staying (or rather struggling to sleep) in this tired, soulless cottage. When we arrived on Friday night our only greeting was stale cigarette smoke and noise from the domineering nursing home next door. The sofa,chairs and dining room chairs are filthy, and should have been replaced after the initial comment about them 2 years ago. I contacted Dawn, of the home management team the very next day and stated that:
1. The bed linen smelt
2. The cottage was not cleaned to an expected standard ie cobwebs, kitchen floor and very dusty furniture.
3. The filthy sofa and chairs .
4. cottage not really suitable for 4 guests
I phoned the management team the next day and Dawn excepted that the sofa and chairs should be replaced (no help to us) - but agreed to change the bedlinen as the strong cigarette smoke was due to the previous guests.
Today Monday we have decided that we have had enough of this miserable cottage and instead booked our two guests into alternative accommodation. Interestingly, since contacting Dawn the visitors Comment book has disappeared!!!! So I an posting this comment online - the cotswolds are full of lovely cottages avoid this one if you want a good nights sleep and a cheerful, positive experience - meanwhile my husband and I will soldier on staying in this tired, dirty soulless cottage for 4 more nights after that NEVER again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: nothing
Liked least: everything
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 10, 2016
"Character Cottages, as a marketing agency, does not look after or maintain any cottages. The following is written by the owner's appointed property manager at The Old Chapel: "We treat all guest feedback with great importance and, when necessary, take action as required. This guest telephoned on the morning after arrival to say that the bedding had an odour of cigarettes. We explained that the previous guests were discovered to have been smoking in the property, and that following their departure, the duvets and pillows had been washed, along with the bed linen, and the property had been thoroughly cleaned. However, there was still a lingering odour, which was understandably not acceptable. Having apologised for the situation, we said that we would immediately purchase new duvets and pillows, visit the property and replace everything. The new bedding was purchased and fitted within the hour, and the existing was removed from the property. The guest was grateful for our speedy attention and promised to leave a favourable response in appreciation of our assistance and empathy.

Having checked the description and photographs on the Character Cottages website, I can confirm this provides an accurate representation of the property.

Whilst at the property, an inspection was completed and only one small, new cobweb was found and removed. The guest was correct in mentioning that the sofa was marked and, as stated to the guest, the purchase of a new sofa had been authorised by the owner, which is now in place in the cottage.

The guest asked that we read the Visitors’ Book, which we took from the property during the visit, to read later that day. Of the 26 guest reviews, only one mentioned the marked sofa – all the others were reflective of very positive experiences in The Old Chapel and some commented that they were looking forward to returning at a future date. We are confident that this beautiful property will continue to offer our guests an experience to remember, for all the right reasons.""
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guypurdy
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Perfect Getaway!”
Reviewed August 27, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Fantastic properly with lots of character situated in a brilliant location for exploring the Cotswolds. The property is in great condition and thoroughly clean. We will be recommending this place to our friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
afrizim20...
Harare, Zimbabwe
2 reviews
“Cute chapel”
Reviewed August 5, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This is a quaint little chapel, with some nice features (stained glass windows, exposed stone). It is well maintained, and any oroblem we had was quickly adressed by the managers. Northleach is perfectly placed to explore the cotswolds. Travelling with kids, we would have appreciated a few kiddie books or a couple of games in the cottage. We like to cook, and again, a few more accessories (lemon squeezer, whisker, mortar and pestle) as well as more plates, that we wouldnt have to do the dishes after every meal would have been an added bonus.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sun_n_fun...
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Unique and Authentic Stay in the Cotswolds”
Reviewed September 6, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and three kids and I loved the old chapel! It was within walking distance to everything in town. Yes, there are wood louse, but it only saw them downstairs. We are from Florida, USA and are used to way larger insects than those. No biggie. We rented our own car and made a day trip to London. We also visited Stratford-Upon-Avon, Chipping, Stow,and surrounding areas. The female bartender at the pub at Sherebourne Arms was lovely! The mechanical music museum was fantastic, and the circus was something not to miss. We want to return next summer for a month and see the cheese rolling event.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing