We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant”
Review of The Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Tower Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Harwich
Certificate of Excellence
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Elegant”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel was amazing. It is a converted residence. The original owner was the businessman that imported the cement for the Tower Bridge in London. The cement came from Italy through Harwich.
Your first impression is the the grand staircase. The restaurant on the left of the lobby holds beautiful pastel plasterwork on the ceiling.
The room was small, but bathroom fixtures were modern. We had a wonderful view of the cruise ship port and saw our ship in the morning when we woke up.
We stayed here 2 nights and will return when we sail out of Harwich again.
The staff was very friendly. They helped with sightseeing suggestions and called a taxi for the short ride to the cruise ship. We arrived early after a flight over the Atlantic, and the staff was great about storing luggage and preparing a light lunch.
Breakfast was very good.
It is at the further edge of town, but was still an easy walk to the historic part of Harwich for this 61 year old traveler.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albequerque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    61
    25
    13
    13
See reviews for
61
103
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
colchester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

visited for meal with friends as was there 50th birthday,bad points first was that we all wanted to be seated together but they was unable to do this so 12 sat on one table while 4 and a baby sat beside but on a seperate table not ideal but no choice,that was the only bad point otherwise would have gave 5 stars as staff were great ,food was great ,menu offered a variety of starters and mains ,we went for fish and chips and we was not dissappointed ,fish was a large portion could not eat it all,and im a big eater,we all seemed to have something different to eat including starters and all were happy with food.bar was in a different part to dining area which was good and well staffed so no long wait,also prices for food and drink was fine,one of the best point is the hotel itself the ceilings with fantastic decoration ,with bits of history displayed around the walls,this place is well worth the visit even if its just for a drink in the most comfiest bar i have ever been in,we will defo visit again,thanks,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley BC Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We recently spent the night at the Tower Hotel, prior to a cruise. I had researched many places online and we had spent two nights in London prior to wanting to ge in Harwich overnight before boarding. So we travelled to Harwich early morning, arriving at the Tower around 11am. I had corresponded with Karen, the manager, prior to our visit and we had booked the Pattrick Suite. This hotel was nothing short of wonderful! Elegant, old-world charm and absolutely wonderful people to deal with! The room was spectacular with 12' ceilings and antique decor - but with the fabulous addition of a very modern bathroom with huge jacuzzi tub! I was in heaven! The bar downstairs played Beatles music in the background and served great food and cold beer - perfect for us. After we settled in, we went for a walk around Harwich - a truly typical quaint British town - returning to the hotel for a wonderful dinner. Had the best nights sleep and then went down the next morning for what my husband now refers to as 'the best full English breakfast ever!'. Indeed it was so good that 12 days later, when we docked in Harwich again before sailing onto the second portion of our journey (we had back-to-back cruises), we jumped off the ship at 7 am and walked over to the Tower Hotel for breakfast again! Just love the people there and they could not be more helpful and friendly! We will certainly be going back to England again, but will be planning our itinerary around staying at the Tower once again - it really was that good!

Room Tip: The Pattrick Suite was fantastic - highly recommend!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level Contributor
132 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is a beautiful old building, sympathetically restored with lovely ceilings and chandeliers. The rooms are very spacious and well furnished and very clean. The staff are charming and attentive. The beetles themed bar was very interesting and unexpected. The food was good and plentiful. We will definitely stay again when cruising from Harwich. It is very handy for the port and shops for last minute purchase.

Room Tip: We had the Nelson suite which was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank critiquenottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed overnight for a wedding in Dovercourt, lovely hotel well positioned in the town. Decor lovely, rooms excellent everything you would need. Staff very helpful. Had a lunch in the bar area, food and decor excellent. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gasmeter33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The hotel is very nice, the building looks very grand. We were there for a wedding and the only rooms available was a twin one, next time we would have a double. The staff were very helpful, the breakfast was good and we had a great night sleep.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paola I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Whenever we visit family in Harwich we always choose to stay at the Tower. We have tried other hotels and they are not a patch on the Tower. The staff are always courteous and helpfull, and the rooms are extremely comfortable and excellent value for money. The entire decor of the hotel has been sympathetically and tastefully restored and the ceiling in the dining room is amazing! On our most recent stay, I left something in the room by mistake. I contacted the hotel and they were happy to send it onto me - great customer service and satisfaction!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bobbieblue_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harwich
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Harwich Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Pier Hotel at Harwich
1.0 mi away
Alma Inn
Alma Inn
#1 of 6 in Harwich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Chudleigh
Chudleigh
#1 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
24.0 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Kingscliff Hotel
The Kingscliff Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holland-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tower Hotel

Property: The Tower Hotel
Address: Main Road, Harwich CO12 3PJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Harwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Harwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tower Hotel Harwich, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing