We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding value for money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Tower Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Harwich
Certificate of Excellence
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

The second time we have stayed at The Tower and it;s better than ever. This visit we stayed in the Pattrick room, beautifully furnished and very comfortable. The bathroom, complete with Jacussi bath and separate shower was spotless and supplied with very good quality towels and toiletries incl razor,and shaving foam and toothbrush and paste. Bedroom facilities even included CD player in the clock radio. Plenty of complimentry beverages including hot chocolate and milk pots . Lovely comfortable King Size bed and plump pillows,

We had Full English Breakfast which was very good - nice sausages and particullarly succulent and thick bacon, poached egg, mushrooms and baked beans plus as much cereal , juice etc as you wanted. More toast , more tea or coffee nothing was too much trouble for the lovely friendly servers.

Dinner in either the elegant dining room or the comfortable and friendly bar was equally good and excellent value. The Beatles themed Rigby;s Bar has good atmosphere and was well patronised by both hotel guests and non-residents. The adjoining terrace area and garden was very pleasant for drinks after dinner.

I cannot fault The Tower on facilities or service which was efficient and very friendly. If you want stuffy olf fashioned service go somewhere else. If you want excellent friedly service from a great staff team with a sence of humour then The Tower is your sort of hotel, It deserves more than the 3 stars it's got.

Room Tip: If available choose one of the named rooms rather than the numbered standard rooms. They are well wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geoff k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    57
    24
    11
    13
See reviews for
58
99
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor Co Down
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Only stayed one night here as we joining a Baltic cruise the next morning. Room was large and bed comfortable, good sized en suite shower room. Staff all lovely, friendly and welcoming. Had lunch in Rigbys bar and dinner in the restaurant, good British fare. Really nice garden area with a fountain and plenty of tables and chairs. Just so you are aware there is no guest lift and no porter. My husband had to carry the suitcases up 2 flights of a grand staircase. He managed but if you were less able it might be a problem. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would recommend it if you are touring in the area or going to the port. Harwich itself is a very small town.

Room Tip: We had an executive room which was large,bright and spacious. I would say its worth paying a bit ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freddy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Myers, Fl.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Stayed here before sailing the Baltic. The Jones suite is beautiful. Was surprised to find the large whirlpool tub in the bath along with a shower. Room was large and the bed comfortable. We had dinner in the dinning room, found the food very good and the prices reasonable. Enjoyed an after dinner drink in Rigby's the bar/pub. Very comfy with a Beatles theme. Spent time it the garden/courtyard area,and enjoyed the wedding party that was there. Had a traditional english breakfast the next morning, it was delishious. The Hotel arranged for a taxi to the port for us. The entire staff was Very friendly and helpful. Kinda wish we booked two nights. The entire hotel is decorated beautifully, very
welcoming and friendly. Close to Harwich port a great start to a cruise vacation. Would absolutely stay there again.

Room Tip: Check rooms on the web site, the Capt. Christopher Jones room is big and comfy. Keep the drapes clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank squishynfurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
322 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed one night, on a trip around the Essex coast. The room we were allocated was very nice indeed. Large, airy, with good facilities. A great bathroom with an excellent shower and jacuzzi. We had dinner in the hotel, and the food was excellent, and service pleasant and friendly. The only gripe I had was that they microwaved the croissants at breakfast. That is a no-no as the croissants collapse, which is what they did! Other than that, the breakfast was adequate, but not included in the room price, which I was a little surprised by. If I had to be in Harwich again though, I'd definitely stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: The Jones room was absolutely lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickigirl1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, Scotland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

Booked The Tower for a pre-cruise, one night stay. Arrived rather weary after a 8.5 hour drive from Central Scotland but the friendly helpful welcome by the girls on reception immediately helped us start to unwind and relax. We had booked a standard room but still had a view of the sea. We choose to eat in the restaurant in the evening and very glad we did, great menu choice and the food was delicious again with friendly helpful service. The restaurant decoration in particular had also been amazingly restored in the Italian style to, what semed, its original former glory and the chandeliers above the imposing entrance hall and grand stairway were so impressive. Had a very restful night in the comfortable beds and an excellent breakfast to keep us going until boarding the ship later in the day. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel. The key feature was the great service by the staff who really worked as a team to make our stay very enjoyable, even the night porter, leaving to go home, asked if we a had a good night as we were loading our cases in the car. The staff seemed to really care that guests had a good experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C_JF-M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

The standard of this hotel is good, particulary for the price. Three of us stayed in a large family room for £105.00, and it was very comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. We were recommended to book for the restaurant as it gets busy, and then found we were the only ones in there. The food was ok.
The bar area is nice, but again sadly deserted. I would stay again if catching a ferry, but there isn't much in Harwich to recommend itself.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelaround187055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halstead, Essex
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

Recently stayed at this hotel whilst at a party being held at the Cliff Hotel. Our room on the top floor was very nicely decorated and had a good internal bathroom. We ate in the bar and had a few drinks before going out. The breakfast was tasty too. Good value.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank senoritatraviesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harwich
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Harwich Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Pier Hotel at Harwich
0.9 mi away
Alma Inn
Alma Inn
#2 of 7 in Harwich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
11.6 mi away
Chudleigh
Chudleigh
#1 of 18 in Clacton-on-Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hotel Continental
The Hotel Continental
#1 of 1 in Dovercourt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tower Hotel

Property: The Tower Hotel
Address: Main Road, Harwich CO12 3PJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Harwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Harwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, HRS, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tower Hotel Harwich, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing