We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (573)
Filter reviews
573 results
Traveler rating
297
162
66
28
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
297
162
66
28
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mayflower suite fish kesgrave hall scottish lady main building complimentary soft drinks mussels shipping forecast first floor no elevator waiting staff watch the world deluxe room the ground floor lovely hotel duck staff could not have been more
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 573 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2018 via mobile

Very nice visit staff always very helpful and friendly. Food was excellent and very well presented. My only complaint would be that when they did the refurbishment they had put the restaurant on the ground floor, there were several people having quite a lot of trouble getting around the restaurant but it is great to have a lift

Stayed: October 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank 647marianu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2018 via mobile

Excellent all around ...very clean, stylishly remodeled but keeping with the mood and history, great service and pleasant staff, great location and views. The whole of Harwich is looking a bit shabby, but there are interesting things to see. The food is very good. I would gladly book The Pier again.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled solo
Thank Fern H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2018

I spent a day here with a colleague in the downstairs restaurant working while waiting for a Ferry departure.

All the rooms were booked but we were invited to make use of the restaurant to get some work done. Staff were friendly and attentive but never intrusive, we had coffee and tea as well as lunch while working and were well taken care of.

I will come back here and stay in the hotel as soon as I have an opportunity.

Jessica is a star employee.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the harbour
  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled on business
    • Service
Thank bluegiraffetv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2018 via mobile

The Pier

After 86 miles of riding the 14 of us arrived at the hotel to a warm welcome. Although only booked for food they very kindly let us use the showers without charge which made such a difference.

If the amazing hospitality wasn’t enough, the food delivered to the table was fantastic. It was well cooked tasted great and all arrived at the same time. I would recommend a visit to anyone in the area.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled on business
Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2018 via mobile

Jack is Incredibly knowledgeable on the qualities & flavours found amongst the wide selection of gins available at The Pier; of which we enjoyed a flight of 4 as part of our weekend package which was excellent value & included a 3 course dinner, bed & breakfast. The standard, choice & quality of the food was excellent & service amazing. I would recommend the Ginfest break to everyone. Couldn’t fault anything :)

Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Beverley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews