We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A perfect start for a cruise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pier at Harwich

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Pier at Harwich
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Harwich
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A perfect start for a cruise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

The Pier Hotel was perfect! We had room 8 which was in the boathouse next door. It was spacious with a small living room great and comfortable bed, and spacious bathroom. The meals were delicious and the breakfast (included) was amazing, full english breakfast, with a continental buffet. We were there for 2 days prior to a cruise. There isn't a whole lot to do in Harwich but our stay at the Pier made it all worthwhile!

Room Tip: Room 8 is on ground level (no lifts at the hotel) and is very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mcdess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    117
    37
    18
    10
See reviews for
57
191
5
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southwold
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Business trip with a colleague. He was very impressed with hotel as was I. Bar meals were excellent as was breakfast. It's a great location and very handy for working in Harwich, Clacton or anywhere within a 10 mile radius.

Room Tip: Sorry no fitness or pool but I couldn't turn off the buttons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julieawin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

A beautiful meal in a lovely setting with great friendly staff. We had a main course fish curry and the sea bream both well cooked and perfectly served. Two delicious desserts to follow treacle tart with the best stem ginger ice cream I have ever tasted and a plum pudding. Thoroughly enjoyed our day out to The Pier.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Again my wife and I and two friends had a meal in the "downstairs" restaurant and as usual they
came up trumps. On the advice of "sweet Caroline" I had the venison and what a choice it was.,
All the staff were great and attentive (as usual). We all left the Pier feeling well "Fed Up" and
well satisfied.
Well done the Pier and its staff

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nick w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on the night prior to leaving on a cruise from the Port of Harwich. We chose to have dinner in the Bistro and thoroughly enjoyed the meal with friendly and efficient service. The accommodation was excellent and found the front desk staff to be very courteous and helpful. The room was large with a comfortable bed and separate sitting area. The breakfast which was included in our room tariff included continental selection and boiled eggs with soldiers with several other choices. The young waiting staff were delightful and friendly. Would definitely eat and stay at this hotel when in Harwich again.

Room Tip: In room 8 where we stayed there was a step between the sitting room and the bathroom which was a tri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dramarama53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We went for lunch in the restaurant downstairs recently, a first time visit for us but a few friends have recommended it . It was very good, we thoroughly enjoyed our food. We had oysters followed by skate wings both of which were excellent. We both liked the fact that you were never rushed and the staff were very helpful and had just the right manner. Would definitely recommend going and we will certainly return, in fact thinking of staying at Christmas. We were shown some rooms all of which were nicely presented some had wonderful views and others varied in size but I would have been happy in any of them.
Altogether very good.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank silverfox026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is a terrific place to stay, not cheap but wonderful. We had two rooms, and had the dinner bed and breakfast package. Dinner delicious, breakfast sensational. The highlight was catching the sea shanty singers on Sunday over a cheeky glass of midday fizz.
Whilst they are dog friendly and Sybil the schnauzer loved it there, they do encourage dogs to keep to one area which I think is just about right.

Room Tip: Ask for sea facing. If in a larger group ask of the second building as it has a massive private li...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DeliaH440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harwich
0.9 mi away
The Tower Hotel
The Tower Hotel
#3 of 5 in Harwich
4.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Harwich Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Hotel Continental
The Hotel Continental
#1 of 1 in Dovercourt
3.5 of 5 stars 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
12.5 mi away
Chudleigh
Chudleigh
#1 of 18 in Clacton-on-Sea
5.0 of 5 stars 344 reviews
13.1 mi away
Maison Talbooth
Maison Talbooth
#1 of 3 in Dedham
4.5 of 5 stars 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pier at Harwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pier at Harwich

Property: The Pier at Harwich
Address: The Quay, Harwich CO12 3HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Harwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Harwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pier at Harwich 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We thank you for your feedback, however we do not respond to individual comments. Following on from a 1.5 million reinvestment over the last 5 months, The Pier at Harwich is once again open and set to become East Anglia's number one coastal destination for food and drink. The redefined brasserie is located on the first floor of the completely modernised 1860 listed building in historic Harwich. Experience all-day dining (all-year-round) and outdoor dining - whenever the sun shines - with a menu celebrating modern classics, an exciting grill menu and wonderful fresh fish and shellfish landed on The Pier's doorstep. Guests can select from a predominantly European wine list or enjoy Prosecco-based cocktails, craft beers and cask ales. The stripped back and raw textured interior, designed by Geraldine Milsom, makes reference to the industrious and hardworking Harwich port, but achieves a balance between function, luxury and glamour. The harbour wall is only 20 metres from the door and The Pier's newly extended first floor balcony (for drinks and outdoor dining) overlooks the water, ships and working docks. With estuary views from every table, The Pier, only a stone's throw from the confluence of the Stour and Orwell estuaries is a very special destination for lovers of great food and drink. NAVYÄRD on the ground floor is a continental bar and terrace adjacent to the working harbour, the ideal place for fun and relaxation. Cask ales, craft beers, a great drinks list, Prosecco-based cocktails and one of the most carefully sourced and extensive gin lists makes the NAVYÄRD 'the' go-to bar for The Pier's neighbours, friends and welcomed guests. The NAVYÄRD is undeniably and unashamedly a 'love letter to the continent' - celebrating and championing the influential and historic links that Harwich holds with Scandanavia and wider Europe. The wines, beers, ales, drinks list and a gin library have been sourced from across Europe and are complemented throughout the day by Nordic-inspired small-plated food. Great coffee, fresh pastries and the simplest tastiest late breakfasts (think eggs, rye bread and avocado) through to open Scandinavian sandwiches, sharing platters and fresh oysters. The 14 bedrooms are individually styled to match the seascape and take full advantage of the brilliant light that you only get when staying on the coast. Harwich enjoys glorious sunsets with molten coloured horizons and the setting sun on the Stour estuary is a special feature of staying at The Pier. All bedrooms are equipped with complimentary soft drink mini-bars, Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products, Sky In-Room and free Wi-Fi making The Pier an exceptional small hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HRS, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Pier at Harwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pier At Harwich Hotel Harwich
Pier Hotel Harwich
The Pier Hotel Harwich
The Pier At Harwich England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing