We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well done Sean!”

The Alma Inn and Dining Rooms
Ranked #2 of 43 Restaurants in Harwich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $52
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Alma Inn and Dining Rooms has been at the centre of Harwich life since the 1850s serving ale to the citizens, sailors, soldiers and farmers of the wind that passed through.We offer food seven days a week. Go to our 'Whats On' page to take advantage of our food offers. Ideally located within moments of the quay or a five minute walk from Harwich town station.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Well done Sean!”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Sean the restaurant manager was a sincere and wonderful host. I just want to say a big thank you for how you looked after my parents last weekend during their stay. They thoroughly enjoyed their experience. The food and service was top notch and your customer service was exceptional. The way you handled with the mix up with my meal is an example to all other restaurants in London. No question. No fuss. You dealt with it quickly and professionally and the gesture you offered on top was above and beyond what I would have expected. The fact that my Mum has been on at me every day this week to ensure that you get the credit is a testament to how you operate. Mum and Dad say thanks and so do I.

Will from Old York Road

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WillSachOct2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    101
    21
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in Harwich.”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Just thinking about going to the Pier for a meal last Tuesday when my wife spotted a pavement board at the end of a narrow street, advertising pub food. Found ourselves in The Alma, a traditional pub full of atmosphere. Good range of real ales and a wonderful menu for all tastes and pockets. This is where the locals eat. Went back again on Thursday for another splendid evening. Thanks Nick.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Basilto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colchester
Level Contributor
193 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Aspall's cider and Sunday lunch perfect”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Went to the Alma inn for a drink , saw the food , and with plenty of people eating we thought the food must be good and decided to have a Sunday lunch . The Alma is a great little pub with nice outside court yard area where we sat in the sun . The pub has a great atmosphere , with lots of locals . Had roast beef and chicken with roast potatoes , Yorkshire pudding and fresh vegetables all excellent . They charge top end prices for a pub roast but it is very tasty . All the staff are very friendly . The sell Aspall cider to , a great pub for food and a drink in Harwich .

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank colchesteradrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
290 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Great fresh fish and food”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We dropped in by chance on Monday having found ourselves with a couple of hours to spare in Harwich. We were so impressed with the menu that we made a detour yesterday to revisit, we were not disappointed the fish and chips were excellent and the crab linguine was to die for. The service was very friendly and everything happened in a timely manner, the only thing I am sad about is that we live so far away.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Simba3262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Hello Sailor”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Great little back-street pub conveniently located for arriving sailors. Good selection of well-kept ales and draught wheat beer too. Food fresh, tasty and well-presented - fish & chips, Alma sausage and chicken chasseur were all excellent. Service a tad slow but friendly, attentive staff and convivial atmosphere make it worthwhile.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GibbonArms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Alma Inn and Dining Rooms also viewed

 

Been to The Alma Inn and Dining Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing