We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“LOVELY LITTLE GET AWAYS”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Bake House

The Quay, only a few minutes walk away
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Quay, only a few minutes walk away
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
35 reviews
The Quay, only a few minutes walk away
The Green in Summer, yards from the door.
Bake house entrance
The Prom and Low Lighthouse in Summer, on the door step.
Modern Wet Room with toilet and handbasin.
Utility room with washing machine
View from Harwich stone pier
The Quay and pier
The Quay and Pier
West Street old Harwich
A typical old Harwich street
The Old Bank Old Harwich
Lifeboat museum
Dovercourt Lighthouse
Dovercourt Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Harwich, Essex, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
christine...
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“LOVELY LITTLE GET AWAYS”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Small but very well decorated . Very clean . Good kitchen items [ egg cups ect ). Lots of places to eat. Flexistow is a good day out .

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house was so cute
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadameBut...
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
Reviewed July 5, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

My boyfriend and I have just come back from a fantastic stay at The Bake House. It is a charming property in a central location in the old part of Harwich. The accommodation was very comfortable and had everything we needed. It is in a great location to enjoy the surrounding area as well as Harwich itself. We were very impressed with the quality of the property and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Booking couldn't have been easier and communication with Paul (the owner) was excellent throughout.

Whilst you're in the area, we highly recommend a trip to Felixstowe on the foot ferry. There are also many lovely eateries and pubs in Harwich, highlights include The Alma Inn and The Pier Hotel. We had never visited this part of the country before and were impressed with both The Bake House and everything the area had to offer. We hope to visit again very soon

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 6, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: May 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Clare G
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed May 7, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

What a beautiful hideaway. This little cottage was perfect for our 4 day mini break and had everything we needed and more. It was spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated. Paul, the owner, couldn't have been more helpful . We will definitely be back!

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The private secure location and the beautiful bedroom
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clercqy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I'll be back!”
Reviewed April 30, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A beautiful bolt hole which was so needed by me as a single female. Paul Valentine was welcoming and could not do enough. I shall be back as Old Harwich is a friendly and welcoming place. Both Pier restaurants are amazing. The fish and chip shop, a Pieseas, is the best you will taste. As a runner and cyclist, the promenade goes on and on. The cottage is gorgeous. You will not be disappointed. Thank you Paul

Date of stay: April 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda W
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent, exceeded expectations”
Reviewed January 7, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The area is known to me and, although I regularly visit,I wanted to stay within the historic heart of the old town, rather than in Dovercourt. I knew this would be a great location but was really pleased with the accommodation itself. It was spotlessly clean, well equipped, warm and cosy.There was a plentiful supply of towels etc and cleaning products were available.There was even some coffee/hot chocolate and milk sachets available. The cottage was easily accessible with easy street parking. It was secure and would be ideal/safe for a female to stay alone. I will definitely choose to return here in preference to hotels nearby.The owner Paul was very helpful with the booking and went the extra mile to help with a special request. i really cannot fault it!

Date of stay: December 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall feel of the accommodation
Liked least: The only improvement might have been an additional shelf in the shower room
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
misscriti...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful.”
Reviewed September 17, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
4
people found this review helpful

What a hidden gem! The Bake House was a truly wonderful, and quirky stay in the Old Harwich centre, in between the narrow streets. The accomodation was absolutely ideal for us - we enjoyed the open plan kitchen / living space with the seperate utility area and bathroom. This meant we were able to cook dinner in each others company whilst utilising the Sky plus box to watch films we had recorded during the day - a bonus! The bedroom was stunning and the bed was extra comfy - the massaging chair was also a much appreciated touch. Paul (the owner) was excellent with communication, meet and greet and was a brilliant advisor of 'places to go'. I thank Paul again for his warm, friendly and professional approach both before and during our stay. We had no complaints or issues during our 3 night 'minibreak' and thoroughly enjoyed it. We are very much missing the Bake House already!

In terms of the local area - we had an excellent fish and chip dinner from the fish and chip shop opposite the Bake House - delicious and good value! We drove a short 5 minutes away to Morrisons to gather our supplies for our stay which was handy, and a local shop a short walk away from the property was handy for last minute stocking up. We visited The Alma pub which was beautiful and kooky, Thai Up the Quay which did the best thai food we've had to date, along with a extremely friendly team, we also visited The Pier for lunch which again was delicious. I would definitely recommend catching the 15 min ride 'foot ferry' from Harwich port over to Felistowe - we actually walked from the port to Felistowe centre with the lovely high street and countless amusements, however for those who prefer not to walk for too long there was a '77' bus running every hour from the port into the town centre. We took it upon ourselves to make the most of the surrounding area and enjoyed the long(ish) walk. High St has all the usual high street chain stores but lots of lovely independent stores as well.

I believe to drive to Felistowe (lots of car parking spaces along the seafront!) it takes about 50 mins. The ferry ride took 15 minutes (£4 one way, £8 return each) and besides the novelty, it was a lovely trip away across the sea!

All in all a wonderful break away from the hustle and bustle of 'city of London' life. Thank you again to Paul for your hospitality and I will definitely recommend this wonderful property to friends and family for the future!

Hannah and Matt x

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole property, I loved the fact we had a lounge / kitchen and beautiful bedroom / bathroom all in one little detached property, and our own little entrance down a lovely alleywall - we felt very hidden and self contained - very private!
Liked least: No negatives at all.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing