We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Harwich Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Harwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The staff are so friendly and helpful, that we forgive the hotel for the hot non air conditioned room, the proxy shower and the smelly reception. Room however was clean and bed comfy, just needs updating.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Bexley2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (477)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 477 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights before our cruise. We arrived here by train. It is right at the cruise port and also next to the train station. The room was great, very clean, nice white bedding, coffee and tea, cable TV. They have a great front desk staff, very helpful . We walked to town and back, and saw absolutely everything !
We did not have breakfast included but bought the light breakfast. Food was very good but I do feel for what we paid for the room, breakfast should be included with every room.

Room Tip: stay in the back of the hotel where it is quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BajaBuddies2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The room was clean, large and bed very comfy. Very handy hotel for an evening arrival from the Hoek van Holland or an early morning return.
However the service in the attached mayflower restaurant is simply awful.

We decided to opt for the £22.50 meal deal: 3 course meal, drink and breakfast.
We ordered and were seated by 9pm. We had waited, as instructed by a not very friendly notice, for about 5 minutes for a table before having to find someone to take us to our table. Clearly no one was going to notice us.
The restaurant was less than half full.
The staff appeared to have little concept of customer service. My wine had to be repoured into a glass without lipstick. Pate was served with only a knife to eat it with. Toast was like bullets. My main course of chicken tikka was served with a plate piled up with rice, naan bread and poppadoms in a tower all on top of each other. I used a paper serviette to put the food on so that it didn't fall all over the table.

As we were eating, the tables and chairs behind us were being stacked up by the staff: it felt as if we were keeping them from being somewhere else and that we were eating in a warehouse.

As other diners finished and left, tables were left uncleared. Probably because staff were busy setting up breakfast for the following morning. Again. Hardly a relaxing and welcoming dining experience.

By 10.15 (the restaurant closes at 10 I understand) we were, after a long day's travelling, simply fed up of sitting in the debris of our meal and waiting for the deserts we had ordered and left the restaurant. No member of staff had been to see if we were OK although at least 2 of them were having a chat in the doorway. By now the other tables (but of course not ours) were being cleared. We were quite simply ignored.

The waitress who was on duty at breakfast the following morning was super and clearly has a much better understanding of the concept of customer service and we had a decent breakfast.

However we won't be troubling the evening staff on our return to the ferry. Too many other options.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elizabethn188633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Our room was very clean and comfortable. The staff were all very helpful and friendly too. The car parking was easy and the restaurant next door so you had everything you needed close to hand. Very accommodating at letting us book in early so we could get changed before going to a wedding which was a real bonus.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The hotel is very well situated near the Cruise terminal in Harwich, just 5 minutes by taxi. Good rooms but not special. Friendly staff. They have also a good restaurant but it is very crowded. It is not so quiet nearby because it has a Lidl market a few meters away. It does not have air conditioning, so this is not very good for the summer time. A little bit expensive I think... anyway you do not have many choices for transit here...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cstatescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I booked this hotel based on the reviews on this site and was not disappointed. It is very close to the cruise port. Less than a mile. You can actually walk it but I don't recommend it. The staff was extremely gracious and friendly. I was traveling with a family of four and we were one week into our vacation before we had to board our cruise ship. My friend had tons of laundry that she would have liked to have done but there are no laundry facilities at this hotel. There is one in town, however. The staffer behind the front desk offered to take her laundry home and do it for her and then return it. How is that for customer service.? The hotel has a pub and restaurant attached to it with great pub grub and there is a supermarket in the same parking lot if you wanted to buy anything. We bought water for the ship because nothing ticks me off more than paying $4.00 for a bottle of water. The only reason why I did not give this hotel five stars is because there was no air conditioning in the rooms and it was in the 80's when we arrived. There is an elevator and the rooms are quite large. I am a travel agent and have spent quite a few nights in hotels prior to cruises and I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS ESTABLISHMENT. Don't let the picture on their website discourage you. It is a lovely hotel and I would tell you to book early as it is a favorite for precruisers. We met several passengers on the cruise ship who stayed here.

Room Tip: We booked through booking.com and didn't have to pay until we completed the stay. There is no ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Valerie1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We were boarding a cruise at Harwich and looked at other places with a little more character to spend the night before our departure, most of them however were either fully booked or too far from the Port.

We booked a room at the Premier and were not disappointed for the price. Looking at some of the other reviews, we must have been luckier with our room as it was clean, fully functioning and provided a very good night's sleep.

Have to agree about the VERY slow restaurant service for dinner. We checked in at about 17.00 and were advised to book for dinner (at 20.00) which we did. The room was at full capacity and obviously understaffed. From memory, there were only two staff on bar duty and they were both fully occupied booking food orders and taking payments so with the lengthy queues getting served at the bar was taking around 20 minutes while waiter served drinks were about 30! Food was of a decent quality however and good VFM.

Breakfast on the other hand was excellent in both service and content.

The standard late-ish checkout was perfectly timed for the three minute drive to the cruise terminal parking and I would say that from hotel departure to getting on the ship was no more than 30 minutes although this would lengthen as the day went on and more guests arrived.

Had never sailed from Harwich before and this would now be our choice over Southampton but only if we could get a room at the Premier.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harwich
0.8 mi away
The Tower Hotel
The Tower Hotel
#4 of 6 in Harwich
246 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Pier Hotel at Harwich
1 mi away
The Bottle Kiln
The Bottle Kiln
#6 of 6 in Harwich
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Alma Inn
Alma Inn
#1 of 6 in Harwich
94 reviews
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Felixstowe Town Centre
4.5 mi away
The Orwell Hotel
The Orwell Hotel
#3 of 5 in Felixstowe
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Harwich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Harwich Hotel

Address: Parkeston Road | Dovercourt, Harwich CO12 4NX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Harwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Harwich
Price Range: $59 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Harwich Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heading for the passenger ferry? We're less than five minutes from Harwich International Port ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Harwich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Harwich Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing