We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Staff good cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Saffron Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Saffron Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Saffron Walden
Suffolk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff good cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We booked the Saffron Hotel for a Dinner and Dance for 70 guests with our social club in January 2013, The hotel is lovely, the type of building which you would expect to find in Historic Saffron Walden, beams and comfortable surroundings.
We would like to compliment the chef on the quality of the cuisine, it certainly exceeded our expectations, serving so many people all at once is quite a task! The staff were friendly and helpful and could not do enough to help make our experience a good one.
We would certainly recommend this hotel and we hope to return soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    55
    41
    27
    28
See reviews for
34
62
11
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

I took my, very old, father here for a meal on Boxing Day.
Having said that he could not walk far, he is nearly 100, and requesting a table near the door we managed to get him up the front steps and were told that we had to go down the steps again, around the corner and in the side door. We were then escorted, through a deserted room, round to a table, not far from the bar, which was about 15 yards from where we started. We were escorted all the way by a very pleasant young lady.
The food was OK, but not, in any way, better than average; which, to be fair, suited my father.
Service was good and the staff very pleasant.
The building is old and full of character.
More could be made of of this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank douglascoutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

My partner's parents stay here fairly often and like it, they request a particular room but I can't remember which. I suspect one's experience varies quite a bit depending on the room - ours was nice and characterful with a comfy bed and a functional but small shower and toilet. Would have been content except for the connecting door - we could hear the banter and radio sing-along as they got ready for their night out then when they came back their voices were louder and the radio beckoned once more! We called reception who called them who were immediately quieter but a better door would help. Our floor also creaked a lot, we were on the top floor so no idea how this might affect people in rooms on lower floors.

Parking is painful, the staff helped but there's not much they can do as they only have a tiny courtyard.

It's an old interesting property which is reflected in the rooms, for me the risks in terms of noise and parking outweigh the charm.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExploreMindfully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed here on business, for a total of 5 days.

For the first 2 days, I ended up with a horrible single room, with no bath, just a shower, didn't think much of that.

The next three days, I was allocated a double room, with no bath again. The radiator was noisy and kept me awake half the night.

The hotel was full, but managed to get the last night in the Ashdon suite. Perfect room, very comfy, nice bath,bed, decor etc. very nice room, and was worth paying the extra for.

Wifi in the hotel was useless.

Breakfast was great and freshly cooked, very good.

As this is a hotel in a high street, parking was pants, we had to walk quite away up the road with all our stuff.

I would stay again, but only because, there isn't much else nearby.

Room Tip: Get one of the suites, or one of the doubles with a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank MBCMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saffron Walden hotels

Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

SW is an expensive, desireable spot, this hotel is a traditional old buidling, communal areas very traditional and welcoming. For me hotel rooms are somewhere to put your head down and I spend mist of my time out of the room, my demands are cleanliness, friendliness and value, it ticks all these boxes without any hesitation. Check in was effortless and efficient, room and bathroom very clean, good nights sleep. The car park is a bit restrictive but the staff were helpful in overcoming this (there were no cars in 1600's after all) Room was very small and bathroom very tight, this does not bother me as I am a bloke and when travelling alone I come with just a small bag with a pair of pants in it and a toothbrush. Great spot for town, would love to comment on the breakfast but unusually I slept thru it, either a thumbs up for a nice comfy bed or perhaps the easy access to nice local pubs the night before ! If you want a huge sumptious suite go and pay £200 elsewhere, common sense, traditional hotel which is clean and friendly spot on, thanks

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy_and_Daniel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Stayed here recently for 1 night as attended a wedding nearby.

The room was small but clean and had the facilities needed for a stop over.

The staff were welcoming and helpful (booking a taxi for us to get to the wedding), although this taxi was expensive. This was not down to the hotel though.

The breakfast was lovely and the staff were very attentive and asked if we needed or wanted anything during and after.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back of the hotel are probably quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Not the best experience of our UK visit. Only one night stay and I would shop around if we stayed at Saffron Walden again. Just didn't have the good friendly atmosphere usually associated with Old English hotels. Rooms small but clean.

Room Tip: Similar to other review, I am 6'+ and found the ceiling height an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogerdowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saffron Walden
3.3 mi away
The Crown House
The Crown House
#1 of 1 in Great Chesterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Cricketers' Arms
The Cricketers' Arms
#2 of 3 in Saffron Walden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Swan
The Swan
#1 of 1 in Thaxted
3.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
1.4 mi away
Queens Head Inn
Queens Head Inn
#1 of 1 in Littlebury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Saffron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saffron Hotel

Property: The Saffron Hotel
Address: 8-12 High Street, Saffron Walden CB10 1AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Saffron Walden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Saffron Walden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Saffron Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saffron Walden takes the second parts of its name from the threatening fortification of Walden Castle, erected by the Normans after the Conquest, and the first from the rare and precious saffron crocus, for which the town became famous, used in medicine, cooking and as the source of a rich yellow dye. The hotel has 16 en-suite bedrooms (all 100% non smoking) which all have tea/coffee and ironing facilities. The hotel also has a paneled Restaurant and Lounge/Bar area. We also cater for functions including parties and weddings in our Saffron Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Saffron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saffron Hotel Walden
The Saffron Hotel Saffron Walden, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing