We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“over rated”
Review of The Gate

The Gate
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $19
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“over rated”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

the gate was recomended by friends & the reviews on here seemed to back this up. 5 of us went for a meal, and the best comment for any of was 'it was ok' .. we was all very disappointed with the food,, the service was very good,, but the food was sub-standard. the bolognaise was overpowered by cheese (not good if you dont like cheese) the vanilla ice cream tastes of lemon, the kids didnt like it at all, and as for the mageretta pizza , avoid at all costs, i quote ' it tastes like anchor butter on a thin base,, no cheese or tomato at all! we will not be returning , much better food at the local italian chain resturants ask/prezzo.. ect..

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank partick1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    51
    20
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex UK
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Always Good”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

we have never been disappointed, a warm welcome and good service. Always reasonable priced. Just have to remember to book in advance as it is always full. I try very hard not to have the lobster pasta as it is very good but so are many other things!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Prue50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great evening spent with friends”
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Good service. Generous portions of nice food. My steak was cooked to perfection. The staff charming and attentive.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DannyRCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaxted, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Really enjoyed the food, service was polite, only problem we had was.. we requested an alteration to a meal.. This was refused by the waitress, I wouldn't consider changing Ham for chicken a big ask! But this didn't put us off, will use again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service and atmosphere”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Don't be put off by the exterior of this pub. We haven't been before because of the look of the outside. The food was superb, the portions were large and great value. The wine list was reasonable and they have Peroni on tap. We had 4 starters, 4 mains (sea bass and steak) , 4 desserts (tiramisu and creme brûlée), a bottle of wine, 6 pints of Peroni, coffee and the bill was £132.00. They also give you Limoncello after the main. An excellent menu and great night out. Remember to book as this place is now VERY popular.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WendensAMbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gate also viewed

Saffron Walden, Essex
Great Chesterford, Saffron Walden
 
Saffron Walden, Essex
Newport, Saffron Walden
 

Been to The Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing