We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday snack lunch”
Review of The Museum Inn

The Museum Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Farnham
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Museum Inn is a superb 17th Century country inn situated in the delightful village of Farnham, Dorset, on the glorious Cranborne Chase, an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and a renowned countryside pursuit's destination. The 2 Rosettes restaurant serves seasonal British cuisine and you can expect that every plate on the Museum Inn menu is as fresh as it can be and is expertly crafted with a passion for the local countryside. With low ceilings, flag stone floors and a roaring log fire, the Museum bar has a cosy, traditional feel with a relaxing ambience that ensures a steady stream of local clientele. It offers a wide selection of imported drafts and local beers as well as an extensive wine list.
Tisbury, Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sunday snack lunch”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Summer sunday light lunch of two thick slices of rare roast beef served on an open roll with dressed green salad and horseradish.
The beef was tasty, rare and very tender, salad well dressed if a little spare
Beer excellent - as usual
Expensive but reliable and lovely atmosphere
Rather busy so service a little slow but charming and happy never the less.
Great smart bistro pub

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    55
    33
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Go to the King John Inn instead!”
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Was very disappointed with the service and food at Museum Inn. Arrived 15 mins late (as our taxi from King John Inn where we were staying was late picking us up) and they had already given away our table! Bar area was very crowded and there was limited room to have a Pre-dinner drink whilst waiting for 30 mins for another table to become available. Entrees were of poor quality - scallop and crab risotto was too thick and seafood lacked flavour. Duck 2 ways main course was average and could have cooked better at home. With hindsight, would have eaten at King John Inn again (we were on a 2 night stay in Tollard Royal and had dinner at The King John Inn on the Friday and thought we would try something different that seemed to be highly recommended on the Sat).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brownieontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had not visited this pub for food for some time but found it busy, with plenty of staff totally on top of taking orders, serving wine, refreshing drinks orders and so on. The food choice was good and amongst six of us we sampled a wide range of dishes and everyone was pleased or better with what they got. Not a low cost meal but certainly the quality of what was delivered to the table came through. Thankfully it also seemed to be a proper pub in parts; people enjoying themselves in the bar next door and no annoying music.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dorset_On_Holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A little disappointing”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Having dined at the Museum a couple of times previously (2-3 years ago) we decided to stay overnight en route from the West Country. Based on our (admittedly limited) previous experience the Museum didn't live up to our expectations. the pub was pretty much empty all night, no music so no atmosphere. The food was OK, but not the same standard as we had enjoyed previously. the room was spacious with an exceptionally comfortable bed and pillows but was incredibly dark - only 2 bedside lamps and a very small window. The loft hatch in the ceiling was covered in filthy fingerprints, black mould-like substance behind the bath taps. Thought we should have been told that the Inn was not staffed at night and should have been shown how to exit in case of emergency/how to contact staff in the event of an unexpected requirement (no instructions apart from normal fire exit poster apparent in the room). Staff really pleasant and engaging. Overall, however, didn't leave us wanting to return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Redbaron4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a shame !!!”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

we visited this afternoon after good trip advisor reviews so decided to travel 25 miles to have Sunday lunch. We dined with 6 adults and four children.
As we looked at the limited menu where the museum certainly wanted to "showcase" their roasts we all opted For the beef roast and what then came was shocking !!!!
2 slices of beef and a home made Yorkshire then the vegetables which were cold !! Hardly cooked and then the so called roast potatoes were cold, hard and not really roasted !! Not want I or my family wanted at £16 per roast . Also the service was slow and we had 1 waiter coming for what seemed miles withe 2 plates at a time so by the time the last plates were delivered the first plates were cold !! Perhaps another waitress could have helped ?? Feel they have really missed an opportunity to showcase the good English roast dinner.
We then ordered dessert which was ok - quite a dense sticky toffee pudding however what shocked me more is that someone had let the dessert leave the pass with to massive chips ( not the potato variety )on the plate which could have cut myself as it was really sharp. I did point this put when it was given to me but to nothing was done.

I did give my feedback to the blonde headed owner who was sorry to hear our experience but offered nothing in the form of luring us back or saying it was unusual to give this pub a good reputation - what a missed opportunity for a lovely pub ........... But there are much much nicer pubs to dine at and considerably better value for money.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theburge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Museum Inn also viewed

Tollard Royal, Wiltshire
Wimborne Minster, Dorset
 
Tarrant Monkton, Dorset
 

Been to The Museum Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing