We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as it gets”
Review of The Museum Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Museum Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Farnham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“As good as it gets”
Reviewed February 12, 2010

A lovely proper country pub. Stunning food, a great wine list, good well cellared beers and lovely staff. I stay at the Museum 2 or 3 times a year and am always very happy. David, the owner is always keen to make sure you are happy and his team is equally attentive.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngleseyTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    59
    29
    14
    11
See reviews for
42
113
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2010

Spent a lovely night at this hotel to relax after the Christmas & New Year festivities. The room was lovely, newly refurbished and very tastefully decorated in browns and creams with a huge bed, scatter cushions and plasma tv.

In the evening we dined in the restaurant and the food was good. My husband particularly enjoyed the cheeseboard with 9 different varieties to sample. My only gripe would be the rather unimaginative vegetarian main course (mushroom tagliatelle) - but this is the same with many gastro pubs. The service was friendly and the quickest I've ever witnessed - we received our starters within 5 minutes of ordering. The bar area was very comfortable with a lovely fire which was perfect given the freezing temperatures outside. All the staff were friendly and approachable throughout our stay.

Breakfast was also a pleasant affair with complimentary newspapers to peruse and again the food arrived well less than 10 minutes after ordering.

Few minor niggles - the bathroom was pretty chilly as the original windows have been retained and so there are lots of gaps for the freezing air to breeze through. Also, there were no home made biscuits despite the promise made on their website! Although the huge bed was great and very comfy, it seems to have been 2 beds held together as there were 2 mattresses which created a slight lump in the middle - but we just kept to our own sides! Unfortunately during our stay there was an issue with the water system meaning there was no hot water. The manager was certainly extremely apologetic about this, and I believe the plumber was in attendance as we left so hopefully this was sorted quickly.

We would definitely return here.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeanCakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2009

My wife and I stayed here on a special deal back in the spring and liked it so much that we booked our wedding reception here. The Museum is under new management and I very much doubt whether any of the previous negative comments from a long time ago would still apply. We could not have been made more welcome. The planning and execution of the day were perfect and all our guests commented on the beautiful decor in the Shed and how good the food and service were. We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DorsetBingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overton, England
Level Contributor
62 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2009

We came across the Museum in a gudiebook while looking for somewhere to celebrate my girlfriend's 50th birthday with some friends. It seemed to meet our requirements, distance, price, location, good food and wine, etc. Having visited on a Sunday lunchtime to check it out and decided this as just what we wanted, we booked all of the 8 bedrooms and the small conservatory for dinner.

The organisation was flawless. We were given a menu to preselect our food, and an extesnive and interesting wine list. The menu options were interesting, and the food really very good indeed. The wines, beers, rooms and service were excellent. Everything happened with the minimum of fuss and all of our friends were highly impressed. And the breakfast continued in the same vein the next day. They even brought forward some nice sunnny weather by a day or two to make the weekend just perfect.

The inn's location is lovely, Farnham village is tucked away in a very pretty part of England and very peaceful. The pretty Georgian town of Blandford Forum is only a few miles away and well worh a visit - call in at the Dolphin for a great atmosphere and excellent pub food. And there's a nice leisurely walk to Tollard Royal and the King John Inn (but mind some of the local boorish and arrogant hooray Henrys who can spoil the excellent atmosphere, location, food and drink - I feel sorry for the landlord of the King John if they are regulars).

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themotorcycleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level Contributor
190 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2009

My wife and I dined here on Good Friday. We were staying elsewhere locally and so our comments are confined to the dining area. Apart from one other couple and a family birthday party, the restaurant was quiet, whilst the adjacent bar was virtually full.
We understand that the inn is under relatively new management. A warm welcome was given to us and we received attentive service. The ambience in the old village hall, now tastefully redecorated as the restaurant, is cosy; there is plenty of room between the tables. Our waitress and the restaurant manager were most concerned to check that all was well throughout.
The menu concentrates on local meat although fish is also offered. We had belly of pork for the main course. The presentation and portion quantities offered are just right - not too much but excellent in quality.
Prices are not the cheapest but we considered it to be very good value for money and would recommend it to anyone who has been disappointed by typical standards of country pub dining. This is NOT pub food - it is fine dining. The wine list is comprehensive and most wines are available by the glass - great if you have to drive afterwards. We wish the new management well. On the basis of our experience, they deserve to prosper.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank accidentaltourist_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farnham
4.0 mi away
The Langton Arms
The Langton Arms
#1 of 1 in Tarrant Monkton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Blandford Forum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
The Grosvenor Arms
The Grosvenor Arms
#1 of 2 in Shaftesbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
2.0 mi away
King John Inn
King John Inn
#1 of 1 in Tollard Royal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Inn at Cranborne
The Inn at Cranborne
#1 of 3 in Cranborne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Museum Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Museum Inn

Property: The Museum Inn
Address: High Street, Farnham DT11 8DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Farnham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Farnham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Museum Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Museum Inn is a superb 17th Century country inn situated in the delightful village of Farnham, Dorset, on the glorious Cranborne Chase, an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and a renowned countryside pursuit's destination. The pub has eight beautifully appointed double en-suite rooms, four in the pub itself and a further four in the old Stables. If you want to add an extra luxurious touch to your stay, choose our General's room which comes complete with floor-to-ceiling French windows, darkwood antique furnishings and a stunning four poster bed. Each of our bedrooms come with luxury Feather and Black bedding, flat screen digital television, direct dial telephone, Wi-Fi internet access, and tea & coffee making facilities with homemade biscuits. Our 2 Rosettes restaurant serves seasonal British food and you can expect that every plate on the Museum Inn menu is as fresh as it can be and is expertly crafted with a passion for the local countryside. With low ceilings, flag stone floors and a roaring log fire, the Museum bar has a cosy, traditional feel with a relaxing ambience that ensures a steady stream of local clientele. It offers a wide selection of imported drafts and local beers as well as an extensive wine list. Salisbury and its cathedral are only a 30 minute drive away whilst the beautiful hillside town of Shaftesbury is only 20 minutes. The Museum Inn also sits 2 miles away of the historic Rushmore Park, an area of lawn and open woodland home to the Rushmore Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Museum Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Museum Hotel Farnham
The Museum Inn Farnham, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing