We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good stay in excellent walking country”
Review of The Museum Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Museum Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Farnham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We have stayed at the museum several years ago and were delighted to find that it was still the same very high quality. The bedrooms are delightful with all amenities provided. The beds are so comfortable it is tempting to stay there all day! Food was first class and the staff very friendly. The Museum is a pub/restaurant with rooms and has the 'buzz' and friendly busyness that one doen't get in hotels

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SebDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 245 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2013

Having phoned to book only this morning, managed to book a table for noon.. bit early but kept breakfast minimal! Nevertheless, due to miscalculation arrived about 20 mins late but service was friendly, prompt and attentive yet unhurried and without those unwanted intrusions.
Good to note locals (presumed) feel able to drop by for just a drink.
Sunday papers to browse.
Belly pork superb; selection of veg plentiful but Yorkshire puds (clearly comes with all roasts) dry and unpleasant. Small gripe really.
First course was small but delicious; did what it was supposed to - provide a tasty prelude to the main.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 505loneranger505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Great location for a high-end pub/Inn with rooms for an overnight stay.
Situated in deepest Dorset, north of Ringwood and nearby Verwood, west of Salisbury. So if you are not a local, take your sat nav. and be prepared to drive down single track roads on your approach. Plenty of parking outside or round the back.
Visited here several times, so chose to pre-book for an early Saturday night table.
Upon entry you are in the bar area. If you like dining with a din, ask to eat here which boast a lovely open hearth fire, with four or five tables. (However, these are given to the locals).
We were sat just off the main bar in one of the two front rooms away from the more-formal rear dining areas. Nice and spacious and very rustic. Not smelly or musty like you could find in traditional pubs.
Nice welcome and service was fast and snappy, which suited us fine.
Menu very game-focussed, with little fish (two main choices), so if you are fishy people watch out. Very eclectic starters (pigs ear terrine) and lots of beetroot and earthy foods. Most of them are priced at £6-£10. We chose the scallops and crab risotto, which for £9.95 was really small, but nonetheless, tasty. We also had the bloomer and butter at £2.75, literally two slices of bread cut in to 4 pieces with a knob of butter.
For our mains we chose the fillet of venison which was wonderfully cooked. Also, we had the sea bream, fish & chips and burger, all of which we really small and disappointing.
We decided to have desserts to fill us up and chose rhubarb crumble and the lemon jelly, both were really nice, but tiny.
The Museum had a nice buzz throughout but there is a change here. It feels a more 'pubby' and less classy than previous visits. Food is good, but not value for money.
Will think twice about returning.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RUSS1602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We've eaten at The Museum on several occasions, although we've never stayed there as it is fairly local to us. It has changed hands several times since we've been dining there over the years but now seems to have settled down to be a consistently good, not-too-expensive place to eat. The times we have eaten there recently, we have enjoyed very good food from a varied menu. The service is friendly and the place is always buzzing - if you want a quiet corner, ask for a table in the room to the left of the bar. If not, a table in the bar area is a good place to 'people watch'; there are also two other dining rooms available for larger parties. Despite the changes in ownership, the chefs have always been excellent. We keep going back there so it must be good!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Terry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I decided to head to The Museum for a Sunday roast, having a 30minute drive there we phoned ahead to confirm a table for 2. The drive out to Farnham was breath taking, snow covered fields and beautiful quaint cottages, it is in a lovely country location. We were able to park although there are limited spaces at the Inn itself, plenty on the roadside. We entered and were greeted with the warmth of the log fire and smiling staff. The bar was busy and there were tables of families. We were seated in the bar area and our drinks order was taken. When our drinks arrived we were asked if we were warm enough as there was a draft coming through, we had actually just been saying we would ask to be moved so it was nice to be offered and we were shown to another room. My cappuccino was served with a shot glass of maltesers, cute! We both ordered a roast, Beef and belly of Pork. We waited about 10 minutes and our food arrived, the meat and Yorkshire served on the plate and all the trimmings on a separate board to share. All looked delicious and didn't disappoint on the taste buds. The beef was tender and a lovely shade of pink whilst the pork belly had a fantastic strip of salted crackling, divine! We ate most of what was on the board and the highlight I would say was the cauliflower cheese, my partner would argue it was the crispy yet fluffy roasties. We were checked once while we were eating and offered more drinks. The staff were very relaxed and natural and made conversation with us both. The actual room we were in had a lovely country feel about it with striking black and white photos and comfy cushioned window bays. A great spot for a half at the bar or a hearty meal. The only comment I would have here is if you have a sweet tooth it's unlikely you'll make it to dessert, the portion sizes are great. We will certainly be back and looking forward to trying the menu out on another day.
I must say, I would be comfortable in there dressed up for dinner or in wellies having just been for a walk, very nice atmosphere. The essence of a 'local'.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank ForFussyFolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed in a stable room, was a little worried after reading some older reviews, but...fear not, the rooms were very clean, lovely huge bed, good bathroom and perfect for the two nights sleep we needed while at a wedding. Much nicer than expected- a wonderful stay!

Ate in restaurant one night, food was great but service a bit slow, we weren't in a rush luckily!

Bar snacks were yummy-fresh crackling, naughty but nice!

Room Tip: Don't be afraid of the stable rooms, were very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LouFlower80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Farnham over the New Year period and visited the Museum Inn frequently as it was local. We ate there twice and enjoyed excellent food, an extensive wine list and well-kept local ales. I'd certainly recommend the lamb or steak. We dined on New Years Eve and thoroughly enjoyed the a la carte menu. Service was friendly and very efficient with great "banter" and good conversation. Will hopefully return.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank JorgiandFee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Museum Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Museum Inn

Address: High Street, Farnham DT11 8DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Farnham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Farnham
Price Range: $112 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Museum Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Museum Inn is a superb 17th Century country inn situated in the delightful village of Farnham, Dorset, on the glorious Cranborne Chase, an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and a renowned countryside pursuit's destination. The pub has eight beautifully appointed double en-suite rooms, four in the pub itself and a further four in the old Stables. If you want to add an extra luxurious touch to your stay, choose our General's room which comes complete with floor-to-ceiling French windows, darkwood antique furnishings and a stunning four poster bed. Each of our bedrooms come with luxury Feather and Black bedding, flat screen digital television, direct dial telephone, Wi-Fi internet access, and tea & coffee making facilities with homemade biscuits. Our 2 Rosettes restaurant serves seasonal British food and you can expect that every plate on the Museum Inn menu is as fresh as it can be and is expertly crafted with a passion for the local countryside. With low ceilings, flag stone floors and a roaring log fire, the Museum bar has a cosy, traditional feel with a relaxing ambience that ensures a steady stream of local clientele. It offers a wide selection of imported drafts and local beers as well as an extensive wine list. Salisbury and its cathedral are only a 30 minute drive away whilst the beautiful hillside town of Shaftesbury is only 20 minutes. The Museum Inn also sits 2 miles away of the historic Rushmore Park, an area of lawn and open woodland home to the Rushmore Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Museum Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Museum Hotel Farnham
The Museum Inn Farnham, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing