We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, lovely food, friendly staff.”
Review of The Museum Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Museum Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Farnham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2012

My friend and I went for dinner at The Museum Inn on a Saturday night and were not disappointed. It has recently been refurbished so it looks much more up to date, but it has retained a certain rustic quality. The food was delicious. I had the burger and it is honestly the best I have ever eaten. The atmosphere too was lovely, with lots of other people eating or propping up the bar, so it was very easy to relax and enjoy our night. The staff were very polite and friendly, checking on us enough to make sure we were enjoying ourselves and had everything we needed without being intrusive.

My only criticism would be that the chair I was sat on was a little too low for the table.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imafaraway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 245 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2012

Stayed here for a birthday treat. Told hotel at booking it was for a birthday and they said they would note it with the booking. Don't know why because we were not made to feel special, in fact at times they do seem to lack attention to guests.we had been warned they were doing a refurb but even so it all seemed a bit chaotic and inattentive at times. That aside food is excellent. Best dinner in a long time and chef is certainly gifted.
Room was good, although a little dark. Bed was a Hypnos and very comfortable. Room and bathroom very clean. Tea and coffee making in room. Breakfast was average.
We had a great rate as there is a special offer on. Would return as food is truly high standard; service however is a bit hit and miss and although friendly certainly not as professional as might be expected. Village is delightful and this is a great spot for a break in the countryside.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

I do not write very often, but feel this establishment did not measure up to what I had read. Went with friends who had booked, as had all the other diners so there was no excuse in my opinion for the extremely slow service.
After a wild mushroom pasta which was drowned in cream and cheese to the detriment of the mushroom flavour I'd had enough. My fellow diners after waiting 40 minutes for a plate of cheese amongst them were falling asleep so we left!! What a shame.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

A warm welcome from the new owner/manager and his team. Nothing was too much trouble. The food was really outstanding...........interesting variations on some of the classic dishes all faultlessly prepared. Our room was extremely spacious and comfortable.
I think it is now even better than it was under the old regime.
Continued success to the new team....they deserve it !

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

We have just spent a lovely Sunday night at the Museum Inn and we couldn't have been happier. Our room, The Generals, was fabulous. Large four poster, large bathroom, beautifully decorated with 2 balconies overlooking the quaint village of Farnham.
The food was amazing too. The staff were friendly and helpful. A great place to stay if you need a break from it all.

Room Tip: The Generals is fantantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShepherdSwanage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Happily we were the only residents on the night we stayed, so we were offered the best room at no extra cost. Having eaten here before, we knew how good the food could be, but I would say that they have improved even further...........it was outstanding.

They weren't busy, but it was a Tuesday in January, and the promotion that they run at this time of year was not advertised well due to new ownership. Fortunately this meant that we also got exceptional service from the none too busy, but very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast was the cherry on the icing on the cake!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

We stayed at The Museum after a recommendation from a friend and it was wonderful! The food was delicious and was equally as good as our visit to the Chewton Glen the week before. The room was a delight with nice touches such as home made biscuits, high quality bathroom products and an amazingly comfortable bed It is quite pricey but the whole experience, the food, surroundings and in particular the staff made it a throughly special experience.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosemeister1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Museum Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Museum Inn

Address: High Street, Farnham DT11 8DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Farnham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Farnham
Price Range: $112 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Museum Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Museum Inn is a superb 17th Century country inn situated in the delightful village of Farnham, Dorset, on the glorious Cranborne Chase, an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and a renowned countryside pursuit's destination. The pub has eight beautifully appointed double en-suite rooms, four in the pub itself and a further four in the old Stables. If you want to add an extra luxurious touch to your stay, choose our General's room which comes complete with floor-to-ceiling French windows, darkwood antique furnishings and a stunning four poster bed. Each of our bedrooms come with luxury Feather and Black bedding, flat screen digital television, direct dial telephone, Wi-Fi internet access, and tea & coffee making facilities with homemade biscuits. Our 2 Rosettes restaurant serves seasonal British food and you can expect that every plate on the Museum Inn menu is as fresh as it can be and is expertly crafted with a passion for the local countryside. With low ceilings, flag stone floors and a roaring log fire, the Museum bar has a cosy, traditional feel with a relaxing ambience that ensures a steady stream of local clientele. It offers a wide selection of imported drafts and local beers as well as an extensive wine list. Salisbury and its cathedral are only a 30 minute drive away whilst the beautiful hillside town of Shaftesbury is only 20 minutes. The Museum Inn also sits 2 miles away of the historic Rushmore Park, an area of lawn and open woodland home to the Rushmore Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Museum Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Museum Hotel Farnham
The Museum Inn Farnham, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing