We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home, but better!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The White House

Relax in comfort & style with friends and family in this exceptional holiday destination by the sea
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax in comfort & style with friends and family in this exceptional holiday destination by the sea
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
77 reviews
Relax in comfort & style with friends and family in this exceptional holiday destination by the sea
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
7 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Lyme Regis, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SJC900
London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Home from home, but better!”
Reviewed March 13, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Great location at the top of the High Street, off street parking, warm welcome, excellent accommodation throughout including really well equipped and thought through kitchen. Stylish and comfortable sitting room and games room. Plenty of bathrooms.
Very happy to recommend and hopefully will get to return another time.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 14, 2018
Hi H, Thank you so much for your very positive review and for being such great guests - look forward to seeing you again soon. Terry & Jinling.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJHARR201...
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful House in a great location - perfect for a large family gathering!”
Reviewed January 3, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

This property exceeded all our expectations. The location was great - just off the Main Street - with plenty of private parking (a real bonus in Lyme) and the sea views from many of the rooms were fabulous.
The house was spotlessly clean and all the many en-suites immaculate.The beds were comfortable with lovely crisp white bed linen and TVs in each room. With so much attention to detail, contemporary furnishings and a very well equipped kitchen, suitable for catering for large groups, it really did feel like a home from home.
The rooms were far more spacious than they appeared in the photos and it was lovely to be able to have everyone fit comfortably into one room for a film night on the huge TV!
The only reason I would not recommend this property is that I would like it to be available for my next trip to Lyme Regis!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 4, 2018
T, Thank you so much for your fabulous review - very much appreciated. Please let me know the dates in 2019 you are interested in. Happy New Year.
Terry & Jinling.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nood1986
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Amazing Christmas”
Reviewed January 1, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We booked the White House to celebrate our baby's first Christmas with both sides of the family. It was a fantastic house and exceeded all expectations! We loved everything and the owner's had even put up a tree for us. Truly the best way we could have spent our first Christmas as a new family and it felt like a real home.
The location was brilliant, right in the town. All the bedrooms had en suites and were well kitted out (nearly a tv in every room). The lounge and games rooms were very spacious. The whole house was fabulous.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 2, 2018
Dear Nood1986,
Thank you so much for your review and positive comments - my wife and I love The White House and are so pleased that guests appreciate its charm and beauty also. Hope to see you guys again soon. Happy New Year. Terry & Jinling.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Dec 1, 2017
David, Thank you so much for your positive review - look forward to you booking again. Best Regards. Terry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Perfect location and everything you need for a perfect break away.”
Reviewed November 20, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We are a group of 13 friends who enjoy meeting up to celebrate an early Christmas together. The White House is perfectly situated in Lyme Regis, and only a short walk to the shops, beaches and the Cobb. We enjoyed a takeaway from the Indian next door which was very tasty. The house is very homely and welcoming and the views from most of the bedrooms are stunning. It was very clean and modern. We had good weather so didn't get to enjoy the games room but maybe next time. There are lots of original shops in Lyme Regis and can recommend the Lyme Bay Christmas Pudding Wine. Have already recommended the White House to my work colleagues and will definitely return one day. Its a wonderful place to unwind and have fun with family and friends.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 22, 2017
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your fantastic comments - Look forward to seeing you all again soon. Best Regards. Terry & Jinling.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The White House”
Reviewed October 26, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

The house was very clean, comfortable and well equipped. We were a party of twelve and there was plenty of room to relax in the lounge. The games room and multiple large screens were very popular. The location is perfect to explore Lyme Regis and the surrounding area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 5, 2017
David,
Thank you for your positive comments and for leaving the house as you found it. Look forward to your group visiting again. Regards. Terry.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellie B
Perranporth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic house for a large group”
Reviewed October 24, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

The house is in such a great location that once you park you don't need to use your car again. The house is large enough for a big group to have plenty of space, with each room having an ensuite. The football table was a huge hit with our toddler and the foot massager with us! Terry was helpful and answered all questions and queries promptly. This is the second time we have stayed at The White House and probably not the last.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 24, 2017
Dear Ellie,
Thank you so much for your very positive comments on TA and for leaving the house as you found it. Look forward to seeing you guys again soon. Best Regards
Terry - The White House - Lyme Regis.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing