We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Aggressive Owner” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westwood Guest House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Westwood Guest House
Ranked #2 of 47 Lyme Regis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Channel Islands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Aggressive Owner”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2008

The accommodation claims to have many features to a high standard but whilst the soft furnishings are new and stylish, some basic standards are lacking.
One of our two rooms (the one upstairs on the front right of the house as you enter) did not have hot water and neither of the rooms' tower rails worked, on asking for help from the owner she was gruff and said that she would turn on the heating. Despite there being unoccupied rooms we were not offered an alternative to the room without hot water, (which also was of concern because the bathroom was unfinished with exposed pipes and unfinished tiles) and not cleaned properly (still builders labels on the sanitary ware). Two days later as there was still no hot water in one of the rooms we asked again, after all the guests had finished breakfast, and she denied that there was a problem with the hot water and said that hot water was not allowed for safety reasons. Eventually she came to the room and admitted that the water was tepid, and said ‘if you don’t like it, leave and don’t pay for the room.’ We returned later that day, having found alternative accommodation and paid for the room which we had not complained about. She then became abusive and said that we would have to pay for the room for the next night because it was after 11am. We said that we needed to pay for alternative accommodation because she had not offered a satisfactory replacement room. She followed us down the road being aggressive.
The other room we had had rising damp on the outside wall (the room to the right on the ground floor as you enter). The shower room also smelt of a drainage smell.
We enjoyed our stay in Lyme Regis, but it is was a shame that the poor attitude of this guest house owner was unpleasant.

  • Liked — Soft furnishings and sea views
  • Disliked — Lack of hot water and unpleasant attitude of owner
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrunelChannelIslands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    54
    9
    4
    7
See reviews for
36
254
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tring
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2008

Very clean and comfortable guest house with nice views to the sea and coast line.

We particularly liked the spotless room and en-suite.

Breakfast was a good experience. The dining area is very well presented and I recommend getting up early for a table in the conservatory where the views are excellent. My only criticism, and this is a very minor issue, was that the bacon and sausage tasted a bit cheap. The stay at Westwood is not cheap so I expected better quality ingredients. Other people might think differently.

The parking is interesting but there were no problems and always space.

Nice walk down into town but the walk back is not for those that are mobility challenged!

The owner is very pleasant and friendly, as were the other staff.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Bacon!!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NotBillBryson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2008

This is one of the best B&B's that we have stayed in. The service was great and Lavinia is a wonderful hostess. Rooms are spacious, the shower was room-y with the right pressure and the breakfast was generously portioned. Will definitely be staying there again!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FrankieRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2008

Westwood House has recently been refurbished and the rooms are very tastefully decorated. The breakfast is very good served in a conservatory with a great view. Lavinia who only took over last year is doing a great job to make guests welcome. As you will know if you have visited Lyme Regis the town is in a dip and there is a very steep walk back up to the property which gets easier the longer you stay. Parking is somewhat limited, but it is well worth accepting this because you will enjoy your stay at Westwood.

  • Liked — Very comfortable beds and decor
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2008

Chose the Westwood after reading reviews on TripAdvisor and was not disappointed. This is everything a modern guest house should be - light, airy rooms, contemporary furnishings, huge comfortable bed, flat screen TV, excellent breakfasts. The house sits high on a hill overlooking Lyme bay and the ground floor rooms have balconies with great views. Lavinia, the owner, is very welcoming and offers good recommendations on places to eat around the area. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Quality of rooms
  • Disliked — car parking
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pontman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyme Regis
2.8 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hensleigh House
Hensleigh House
#1 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
4.4 mi away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dorset House
Dorset House
#1 of 47 in Lyme Regis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwood Guest House

Property: Westwood Guest House
Address: 1 Woodmead Road, Lyme Regis DT7 3LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Lyme Regis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westwood Guest House is a luxury bed & breakfast accommodation in the beautiful Dorset resort of Lyme Regis at the heart of the Jurassic coast. The building as been extended and tastefully refurbished to the highest standards. The contemporary feel to Westwood offers much, much more than you’d expect from a guest house. We think you’ll be pleasantly surprised!Each room has been individually designed to be comfortable, relaxing and features stunning views from every aspect. From the front of the house you can look over Lyme Bay, right across Lyme Bay to Portland Bill and Golden Cap, from the rear of the house you can enjoy wonderful woodland views.All our rooms have either Super King, King or Twin beds and feature large en-suite shower rooms, each one offers a host of features such as: flat screen TV’s, hairdryers, iron and ironing boards.On arrival you will find fresh milk in your own fridge, in addition, there’s a safe for your valuables… just the right size for your laptop. And talking of laptops, the whole of the house is totally ‘wifi’ enabling you to stay in touch whenever you take your holiday break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Westwood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westwood Guest House Hotel Lyme Regis
Westwood Guest House Lyme Regis, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing