We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful wknd at Old Lyme Guest House”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lyme Regis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Lyme Guest House
Ranked #6 of 45 Lyme Regis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We've just got back from our fabulous wknd in the lovely Lyme Regis and we really enjoyed our stay at this wonderful B&B. Paul and Tracey are lovely and very accommodating. The rooms are comfortable, clean and well maintained. We will definitely be going back to the Old Lyme Guest House in the new year. Can't wait for out next visit :-)

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sopherella101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsGLyme, Owner at Old Lyme Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thanks so much for your kind review. We're so glad you had a lovely time! Look forward to seeing you again next year! Paul & Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 186 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

We have just got back from a week staying here and it was outstanding. It is a Home that Paul and Tracy welcome you into with comfortable clean rooms, superb breakfast and is ideally located in the centre of Lyme with 2 minutes walk of the beach and several high quality restaurants, serving local food, are located within short walking distance.We would highly recommend this guest house to anyone. We will be going back, if there are any vacancies.

Room Tip: Room 1 is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnLane20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Have just spent three nights at the Old Lyme Guest House and have to say it is the best guest house ever - Paul and Tracey were very friendly, helpful and served up the most delicious full English breakfast. Our room was very cosy and comfortable, not cramped in any way and very quiet even though we were at the front overlooking Coombe Street. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This was my second visit to the Guest House. I loved it so much the first time I visited in April this year to go fossil hunting, I returned for the Guitars on the Beach event and never even considered booking a room anywhere else. Paul and Tracey didn't disappoint as the room was immaculate with plenty of tea/coffee etc, fluffy white towels in the bathroom and in the morning, the best cooked breakfast you could possibly have. If I visit Lyme Regis in the future, Paul and Tracey's is where I'll stay, you won't be disappointed if you do too.

Room Tip: Rooms 4 and 5 are on the top floor, if stairs are an issue, ask for rooms 1, 2, or 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

If you have got this far in your research, look no further. Just book it. You will NOT be disappointed. Just wonderful in all aspects. Paul and Tracey are helpful, friendly, polite and efficient. Placing a jug of filtered water in the room each day is a nice touch and very welcome.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColinAitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We visited this Guest House in August. It is in a very narrow street, but if you call Paul just before arriving he will meet you at the front door, give you the car park pass and take your luggage. By the time I arrived back from parking the car the luggage was already in our room. Great customer service. This continued throughout our two night stay, nothing was too much trouble. It's a great location, just minutes from the centre of the town. As stated by other reviews, very clean and comfortable rooms and a great breakfast. Next time we visit Lyme Regis this is where we will stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor could be tricky for people with mobility problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsGLyme, Owner at Old Lyme Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thanks so much for your kind review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to seeing you again. Thank you for taking the trouble to review us. Paul & Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

What an excellent Guest House this is. A lovely friendly welcome - super information given about the Guest House, and the local area. Spotless room, and very comfortable. Great little touches - soap, shampoo/shower soap, tea/coffee making facilities(and nice biscuits),even a darning kit!
Superb breakfast cooked to order, and fruit juices, cereals etc. available and plentiful. Arrangements for car parking are really good and after a little walk uphill the car park is most convenient, as is the Guest House in easy distance from the main facilities in Lyme. This lovely base helped us to enjoy a golden wedding couple of days with local friends.
It's a must say again place!

Room Tip: First floor - room 1 with en suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HiloHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsGLyme, Owner at Old Lyme Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review - so kind of you to take the trouble. Glad you liked the biscuits, I must say the butterscotch crunch are my favourites... although Paul prefers the chocolate shortbreads :-) . Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyme Regis
0.3 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
443 reviews
3.1 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
376 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hensleigh House
Hensleigh House
#1 of 2 in Charmouth
153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dorset House
Dorset House
#1 of 45 in Lyme Regis
735 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lyme Townhouse
Lyme Townhouse
#10 of 45 in Lyme Regis
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Lyme Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Lyme Guest House

Address: 29 Coombe Street, Lyme Regis DT7 3PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Lyme Regis
Price Range: $104 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA "Highly Commended" winner of Gold Star award for 5 consecutive years. 200 Yards LEVEL walk to the sea, restaurants and shops from our front door, in the "Old Town" area of Lyme Regis. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Lyme Guest House Hotel Lyme Regis
Old Lyme Hotel
Old Lyme Guest House Lyme Regis, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing