We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly and welcoming”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lyme Regis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Lyme Guest House
Ranked #9 of 44 Lyme Regis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2013

very pleasant weekend stay at the old Lyme b&b, couldn't fault it what so ever, great location as well for the centre of Lyme regis. Car park is maybe 150 meters away but its great they have this facility and was one of the reasons we chose the old Lyme.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gcap74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 190 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely weekend break at Old Lyme Guest House - everything was great. We were helped with our luggage on arrival to lovely room on second floor (nice and warm) with large bathroom (the towels were possibly the thickest and softest we have encountered on our travels). Everywhere is immaculately clean and it felt very welcoming. You are given a pass for a nearby car park. The location is very central in a lovely old part of the town - everything in walking distance. The breakfast had a good choice including fresh fruit, cereals and a cooked breakfast (including vegetarian options) - all freshly cooked. Paul and Tracey are very good hosts and we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again - didn't want to leave! Perhaps less rain next time would be great!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nottsgirl487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsGLyme, Owner at Old Lyme Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay (and our towels!)... we look forward to seeing you again and will order some better weather for next time! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

A guest house with period charm but contemporary high standards. Was welcomed on arrival and assisted with luggage. The guest house was immaculately clean and tastefully finished.
The breakfast was superb and as good as any I have tried. My only regret is that I could only stay one night. Conveniently located in the historic part of the old town..

Will visit again !

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Just returned from a very pleasant stay at the above bed and breakfast. It is probably the best B& B I have ever stayed in. Paul and Tracy made us very welcome and helped with luggage etc. They include free parking and the house is in a very good central position only minutes from the sea front and delightful town. We had a very spacious room on the top floor and it was beautifully heated and with its own en suite. The breakfast was brilliant and we would be very happy to stay there again. Thanks again Paul and Tracy!

Room Tip: I was with my sister and we wanted a twin room but Tracy offered us the family room which was very s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felicity128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed at Old Lyme Guest House for a couple of nights last weekend. First time here and for a February stay the house and room were was so warm and cosy. Very clean and smart. Bed....really comfy. had a great time. Definitely be the place next time we are Lyme Regis.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsGLyme, Owner at Old Lyme Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We're so glad you stayed warm and toasty despite the chill outside! It's always nice to be assured that our boiler is firing on all cylinders :-) Look forward to seeing you again some time at the Old Lyme !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed here a couple of weeks ago and had a lovely time, we chose the B and B as it was near to the beach. Perfect we stayed in the family room and had everything we needed and it was spotless. Breakfast was cooked to order and was yummy. All I can say is perfect and cant wait to stay again. Maybe when the weather is warmer ! it was cold on the beach !! Thank you.

Room Tip: Family room TV had a dvd player so when our son woke early he watched Lion King that was provided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Once again another brilliant weekend with friends at Paul and Tracey's lovely home from home guest house, for bonfire on the beach, even better than last year!
Hoping that you Having a rest now after your hectic year.
Thank you again P and T
keep up the good work and see you next year.
love
Elaine Nige Shirley and Bri. x

Room Tip: Any room is good to be honest they are all clean and comfy !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElaineNewbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyme Regis hotels
0.3 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
449 reviews
3.1 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clovelly Guest House
Clovelly Guest House
#10 of 44 in Lyme Regis
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lyme Townhouse
Lyme Townhouse
#8 of 44 in Lyme Regis
112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dorset House
Dorset House
#1 of 44 in Lyme Regis
784 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Monmouth
The Old Monmouth
#6 of 44 in Lyme Regis
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Lyme Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Lyme Guest House

Address: 29 Coombe Street, Lyme Regis DT7 3PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Lyme Regis
Price Range: $109 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA "Highly Commended" winner of Gold Star award for 5 consecutive years. 200 Yards LEVEL walk to the sea, restaurants and shops from our front door, in the "Old Town" area of Lyme Regis. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Lyme Guest House Hotel Lyme Regis
Old Lyme Hotel
Old Lyme Guest House Lyme Regis, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing