We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, great hideaway for booklovers!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lyme Regis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sanctuary Bookshop and Booklover's B&B
Ranked #17 of 45 Lyme Regis B&B and Inns
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent value, great hideaway for booklovers!”
Reviewed June 30, 2011

This B&B was a great find. We stayed for two nights and paid the same as we'd previously paid for one night in another Lyme B&B. Overall, it was a very good experience. The owners were friendly and accommodating - we were late arriving due to a huge traffic hold-up, but that wasn't a problem. We were even offered use of their garage, which is a short distance away.
The room was great - very comfortable, with a sea view and full of all sorts of books! Our bathroom was down a flight of stairs, but as there are only two rooms that really wasn't a problem as we felt quite comfortable wandering around in our dressing gowns. This was just as well, as getting there involved walking past hundreds more books stacked high on the walls, so we regularly found ourselves browsing these on our way there or back! The bathroom was spacious and very clean, and although we were offered use of the smaller bathroom upstairs on our second night, we preferred to keep using this one.
Breakfast was very tasty and decent size portions, and a veggie option was no problem (although I believe you need to mention this when you book).
It's not posh, but it is extremely friendly and homely.
Overall excellent value... although we did end up spending quite a lot on books!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JuliaG_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    13
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
34
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Fantastic little bed and breakfast....great position sitting at the upstairs bay window looking out across to sea....and with so many books to browse you'll find it hard to go to bed at all... Amazing second hand bookshop downstairs which has every conceviable book you could want.Mariko made us very welcome...we had the use of the living room in the evening, a lovely full English breakfast with newspapers and we were able to leave our bags there the following day until we left Lyme Regis. We will definitely be back...it was great to be there on a sunny day but also the perfect place to stay indoors on a wet day!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2010

As the other reviews state, this is an extremely quirky B&B, filled with books. Excellent hosts; Bob met us in the nearby public carpark (immediately behind the B&B/shop), showed us the ropes about the parking ticket machine (saves money!). The rooms are homely; if you are expecting a hotel experience, this is not for you. If you are expecting somewhere to feel instantly at home, and comfortable, it is (and bargain rates). Mariko's English breakfast was excellent; I didn't have the opportunity to sample her Japanese breakfast, but I'm sure that is also of an equally high standard. If you want to browse the books in the shop while staying, after hours, be sure to ask where the light switches are (difficult to find). The B&B is also ideally situated in the heart of Lyme Regis, near the pubs and beach. If fossil hunting, have a word with Bob, who can make good recommendations about where to go.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyTLeightonBuzzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2009

This B&B is in a very central location in Lyme Regis - the front room that we stayed in has a view of the sea. It is located on top of a book shop and if you are into books this is a great place as you have access to the bookshop 24 hours and each room is crammed full with books.

The place is run by Bob and his japanese wife Mariko, both who are friendly and keen to make your stay pleasant. The B&B itself is decorated in a rather quirky style and may not be to everyones taste, but for the price of 60ish pounds per night it is good value for a short stay.

Bathroom for the front room is 1 floor down, large bath and shower with good hot water supply.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polarbjorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2009

We visited Lyme Regis for a short holiday with our 1 year old son. We stayed in the room with a sea view. The room was very small once the travel cot was erected and with a 1 year old who is into everything the books and crockery/ornaments didn't stay on the shelves for very long. While we were in Lyme the weather was quite bad and the room wasn't suitable to sit and chill while the weather passed with our little boy and there was a lady in the communal lounge ironing and we weren't comfortable sitting in there while she was working away!

Mariko is a lovely host and nothing is too much for her, you can have whatever you want for breakfast as it is made to order.

We didn't pay a lot for our stay and although I wouldn't return to the B & B with children, I would recommend it to couples/singles who can manage a lot of stairs and like books. The location is perfect for the beach and surrounding restaurants and areas (Beer is a lvoely spot, our favourite place visited!). The room we stayed in was ok for a couple of nights but I wouldn't recommend it for a long stay. The bathroom we used was on a different floor too, negotiating the stairs during the night was a task in itself! I would say that the decor is a little run down and tired but I suppose to some people that adds to the 'charm' of the place.

There is parking available but only for 1 car and this is a 15/20 minute walk away from the B & B, if you don't manage to get the parking space, parking in Lyme Regis is quite a struggle.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TurkeyBurger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2009

The bookshop b&b is a fabulous idea and Mariko was especially helpful with hints on where to eat and things to do! The bedrooms are romantic and full from floor to ceiling with books! Although it was a little shabby in areas such as the desk in the window and under the bed I found dust and old shoes and clutter which put me off slightly. The bathroom was spotless and the breakfast was very yummy. The b&b has a family feel to it as the couple who own it have small children, so do expect them to be around in the morning at breakfast time. I would have preferred to walk in and not find push chairs etc in the hall way as with luggage and the skinny staircases, it is difficult to maneuver at the best of times! But overall the bookshop is a great place to stay in terms of value and originality and i would love to stay again!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fayzeepoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2009

We stayed here May 18th. Bob (retired astro-physicist) runs the bookshop, whilst Japanese wife, Mariko runs the B&B upstairs. The bookshop is a cavern of delights. The books continues up the stairs, in the sitting/breakfast room and into the bedrooms. This is a clever ploy as you cannot help but pick up books and end up taking more home. The B&B is £26 per person. The Breakfast is excellent and you can ask for whatever you want. The rooms are comfy, have internet (if you must!) and TV plus the sitting room has a TV. The bathrooms are separate but literally two steps away and very well equipped.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Icehorsestud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyme Regis
0.3 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
434 reviews
3.1 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
349 reviews
13.9 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
797 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lyme Townhouse
Lyme Townhouse
#9 of 45 in Lyme Regis
99 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cobb Arms
Cobb Arms
#16 of 45 in Lyme Regis
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Bookshop and Booklover's B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Bookshop and Booklover's B&B

Property: Sanctuary Bookshop and Booklover's B&B
Address: 65 Broad Street | The Sanctuary Bookshop, Lyme Regis DT7 3QF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Lyme Regis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Bookshop And Booklover's B&B Lyme Regis, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing