We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“THE MOST RELAXING, TRANQUIL, FANTASTIC HIDEAWAY...”
other travelers have booked this property
Retreat Hot Tub
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Retreat Hot Tub
Fully equipped kitchen with every appliance - perishable items in photo  for advert not supplied. Retreeat for Couples with Private Garden with open air Hot Tub - bottle for photo & not supplied.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
135 reviews
Retreat Hot Tub
Fully equipped kitchen with every appliance - perishable items in photo  for advert not supplied.
Retreeat for Couples with Private Garden with open air Hot Tub - bottle for photo & not supplied.
Polycarbonate glasses for Hot Tub - bottle for advertorial purposes not supplied.
The Retreat for couples with own private open air Hot Tub
Private garden with Hot Tub - bottle for photographic purposes not supplied.
Brass Bed - overlooks gardens -  ensuite rainfall shower with underfloor heating.
King Size bed with specialist allergy free bedding
The Retreat secluded and private Hot Tub for your exclusive use.  Bottle for photo and not supplied.
Retreat Hot Tub, private, secluded with LED light function - simply fabulous
Retreat Sitting Room with feature fire, TV/DVD
Dualit & Joseph Joseph accessories. Fully equipped, every appliance.
Retreat Hot Tub, use it year round, light function, robes, slippers provided,
Brass Bed with blackout blinds, mobile phone charging station, dressing gowns, slippers.
We support the Jurassic Coast Heritage Trust
Kitchen diner with every appliance, dish washer, washer drier, hob, microwave, oven etc.
The Retreat for Couples is based at Hedgehog Corner!
The Retreat's own pear tree with fruit for you to compote and take home.
View of open Double French doors leading into Retreat  from Hot Tub
Huge Cantilever 2.7m x 2.7m umbrella for hot tub for rain or sun.
Great for Star Gazing!
3 minutes drive from TVs River Cottage - overlooking the Axe Valley
South West Coastal path just minutes away at Lyme Regis
Walking near the coastal foot path - so near Charmouth, Lyme Regis, Seaton.
Seatown beach just minutes away - great pub - great walks.
Everyone off to Forde Abbey Fete every July!  Historic house with gardens
Lyme Regis just a few miles from The Retreat at Hedgehog Corner
Beach huts on the prom at Lyme Regis just over two miles from The Retreat
The Cobb harbour at nearby Lyme Regis - fishing trips, fossilling, beach life
5 minutes drive from the Hix Oyster and Fish House at Lyme Regis
Near forest walks in Area of Oustanding Natural Beauty minutes away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Lyme Regis, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 135 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
apenmart
bmouth
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“THE MOST RELAXING, TRANQUIL, FANTASTIC HIDEAWAY WITH THE MOST LOVELY OWNER JOY.”
Reviewed June 14, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Myself and my husband always look to get somewhere quiet, relaxed and must have a hot tub! this place ticks ALL our boxes! and we are fussy people! Clean, tidy, fantastic breakfast. ALL your needs met. Wonderful.

Joy the owner is such a lovely kind hearted lady, you couldn't meet a lovelier person, and her retreat is second to none. Would recommend this retreat to couples who like to sit and chill, hot tub, sleep, and not be disturbed! the minute we got back home we re booked! so don't waste anymore time looking for somewhere better as this is the place! April and Martyn xx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: all of it
Liked least: nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 14, 2015
Fancy that! And to rebook the minute you get home is just Amazing!

Thank you to you both for your lovely review. It is fabulous that our guests are enjoying the new Hot Tub - that each of our properties here now have. The tips you were able to pass on were very helpful too!

Soon see you again!


Joy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Reviewed June 13, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 14, 2015
How very kind of you to write such lovely words about the Retreat now with it's own Hot Tub.

I'm just so pleased you enjoyed your River Cottage course.

It was a pleasure to meet you both and hope to see you again.

Best wishes,


Joy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 7, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 7, 2015
And I can't wait to welcome you back!

(p.s. Hot Tubs are great in winter too!).

Joy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SarahBerr...
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hot Tub Paradise!!!”
Reviewed June 1, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Me and my Husband have stayed with Joy 2 years ago in Joys Hedgehog corner bed and breakfast. Unfortunately she no longer offers that service but we were completely blown away by the "retreat" that we booked. The accommodation was spotless. The attention to detail is unparalleled and the furnishing was outstanding. We are completely converted to self catering from now on as it offers the ability to do what you want, when you want. The retreat offers complete privacy as it is surrounded by fence but this doesn't stop ant light coming over. On the first night we were absolutely shattered from a fun filled day in Lyme (which is absolutely stunning). We jumped straight into the brand new hot tub joy has had installed and it was amazing. One of the best parts of the holiday. Having the sun shine down while sat in a beautiful jet filled and illuminated hot tub was the perfect end to a perfect day!

I would definitely recommend this property to anyone who is visiting Lyme. Look forward to the amazing hot tub, the breakfast basket with freshly baked home made bread, the great food at the local pub and of course your host Joy. Its easy to see why she has won so many awards. Such a fantastic weekend away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot Tub
Liked least: No Wifi
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 2, 2015
Thank you so much for writing of your happy short break here at The Retreat Cottage for Couples with Breakfast Basket. Delighted you like our new private and secluded Cedar Hot Tub which is exclusive to our guests with one Tub for each property here. Delighted our guests enjoyed the evening lights in the Tub too - such a lovely addition for the Tub at night with garden lanterns too!

It's fabulous that our former traditional B&B guests are now visiting us again and enjoying our new set up - your very own one bedroomed fully equipped Cottage or Garden Apartment for Couples with a Breakfast Basket with enough supplies for the duration of your visit- be it 2,3,4,5,6,7, days or more!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilfracombe, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 1, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: hot tub
Liked least: nothing
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 1, 2015
Just delighted you enjoyed the new Cedar Hot Tub that comes with The Retreat Cottage for Couples.

It's a real hit with our guests who enjoy it at night with the pretty lights as much as in the daytime.

So glad you had a restful break and thank you so much for your kind words.

Best wishes,


Joy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
miniman28...
Berkshire
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Perfectly appointed”
Reviewed May 4, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Joy has pushed the boat out with this rental. The Retreat is so well appointed it is hard to see how it could be improved upon. Lounge and bedroom have lovely furnishings. Fittings in bathroom are very stylish, and shower has a gratifyingly high flow rate. But I reserve my most fulsome praise for the kitchen. Any and all accessories are there. The breakfast hamper is most imaginative and comprehensive. We loved the homemade bread, local eggs, Hedgehog corner brand preserves, and Joy's own muesli with a deliciously high proportion of fruit and nuts. We missed the hot tub by a week!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Breakfast hamper
Liked least: Nothing! A bit closer to the other house than appeared from the website, but in fact was well secluded.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 4, 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such lovely lines.
I do appreciate it when I know how busy your lives are.
It was very uplifting to meet you both and your wife's helpful comments about my future installation of the Hot Tubs (one each for both The Retreat and Acorns Garden Apartment here).
I do look forward to meeting you both again one day.

Best wishes,

Joy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenTyler1...
Loughborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding accommodation in a peaceful setting”
Reviewed April 16, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We spent a fantastic few days here in this wonderful place, perfect for exploring the amazing Jurassic Coast. Joy has really made every effort to make your holiday run smoothly, from the clean, modern décor to the delicious breakfast basket, complete with home made bread, eggs, milk and a variety of cereals. She made us feel very welcome, greeting us with a friendly smile and showing us around, explaining everything we needed to know to enjoy our stay. Everything was perfect, from the very well appointed kitchen, the lovely bathroom, with a spacious shower and underfloor heating, not forgetting the very comfortable bed. A really beautiful place to stay in a really beautiful part of the country.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 17, 2015
How very kind of you take the time to write such a lovely review for The Retreat.

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay in this part of the world.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you both again.

Best wishes,

Here in fabulous April weather still!

Joy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing