We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent,comfortable and relaxing accommodation”
other travelers have booked this property
Retreat Hot Tub
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Retreat Hot Tub
Fully equipped kitchen with every appliance - perishable items in photo  for advert not supplied. Retreeat for Couples with Private Garden with open air Hot Tub - bottle for photo & not supplied.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
126 reviews
Retreat Hot Tub
Fully equipped kitchen with every appliance - perishable items in photo  for advert not supplied.
Retreeat for Couples with Private Garden with open air Hot Tub - bottle for photo & not supplied.
Polycarbonate glasses for Hot Tub - bottle for advertorial purposes not supplied.
The Retreat for couples with own private open air Hot Tub
Private garden with Hot Tub - bottle for photographic purposes not supplied.
Brass Bed - overlooks gardens -  ensuite rainfall shower with underfloor heating.
King Size bed with specialist allergy free bedding
The Retreat secluded and private Hot Tub for your exclusive use.  Bottle for photo and not supplied.
Retreat Hot Tub, private, secluded with LED light function - simply fabulous
Retreat Sitting Room with feature fire, TV/DVD
Dualit & Joseph Joseph accessories. Fully equipped, every appliance.
Retreat Hot Tub, use it year round, light function, robes, slippers provided,
Brass Bed with blackout blinds, mobile phone charging station, dressing gowns, slippers.
We support the Jurassic Coast Heritage Trust
Kitchen diner with every appliance, dish washer, washer drier, hob, microwave, oven etc.
The Retreat for Couples is based at Hedgehog Corner!
The Retreat's own pear tree with fruit for you to compote and take home.
View of open Double French doors leading into Retreat  from Hot Tub
Huge Cantilever 2.7m x 2.7m umbrella for hot tub for rain or sun.
Great for Star Gazing!
3 minutes drive from TVs River Cottage - overlooking the Axe Valley
South West Coastal path just minutes away at Lyme Regis
Walking near the coastal foot path - so near Charmouth, Lyme Regis, Seaton.
Seatown beach just minutes away - great pub - great walks.
Everyone off to Forde Abbey Fete every July!  Historic house with gardens
Lyme Regis just a few miles from The Retreat at Hedgehog Corner
Beach huts on the prom at Lyme Regis just over two miles from The Retreat
The Cobb harbour at nearby Lyme Regis - fishing trips, fossilling, beach life
5 minutes drive from the Hix Oyster and Fish House at Lyme Regis
Near forest walks in Area of Oustanding Natural Beauty minutes away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Lyme Regis, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 126 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Clive P
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Excellent,comfortable and relaxing accommodation”
Reviewed October 18, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Joy has put together a very immaculate retreat with all the amenities you need for a pleasant stay. Quiet and easily accessible to Lyme Regis and the surrounding areas.
After a three hour drive from London Heathrow airport following an overnight flight from Canada, this place just hit the spot to recuperate. Would certainly recommend it to any couple who want this type of accommodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 20, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to write such lovely lines about The Retreat (with Breakfast Basket).

As you were visitors from Canada this is particularly appreciated as I know very high standards of hospitality are found on your side of the world.

I'm so glad we met and I enjoyed our chat - particularly since you were on an "ancestry" tour and met up with various cousins here in the Lyme Regis area.

Joy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susiebate...
Wirral
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I wish we could have stayed longer!”
Reviewed October 4, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

The attention to detail is wonderful in this beautiful, peaceful sanctuary. (It was also an excellent base for its proximity to River Cottage HQ, and the fantastic scenery and eateries in Lyme Regis and Axminster).
The Retreat is spotlessly clean,extremely comfortable,well equipped and private.
The breakfast hamper was packed with yummy goodies,and the special touches which make this place so worth a visit,mean that all that's required is that you bring an overnight bag..and unwind. I look forward to returning!!

Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 14, 2013
Thank you for your lovely words. I am very grateful for you taking the time and trouble to write such lovely lines.

Joy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utopia69
Hampshire, England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing accommodation at The Retreat”
Reviewed September 20, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We stayed here at the end of August/beginning of September 2013. It is beautiful. A private garden, fantastic clean comfortable accommodation with everything thought of that you could possibly need for self catering, right down to bread, milk eggs and preserves, all of which are delicious and very fresh. The bed is fantastically comfortable and the rainfall shower is amazing. It's definitely the best self catering apartment we have ever stayed in and Joy is a joy! Very friendly, helpful and nothing is too much trouble. We will return again and again. The bonus is being right on the border of Devon and Dorset there is so much to see and do.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind words - delighted you found The Retreat great for a short break!

Joy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnie100
Surrey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous hideaway.”
Reviewed September 11, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We went to Lyme Regis for the Guitars on the Beach event and needed somewhere to stay. Not being great fans of B&B, this place looked perfect as it has a fully equipped kitchen and is self-contained.

It's bright, clean, modern and beautifully decorated. (I fell in love with the kitchen worktops!)

An additional bonus was the provision of a dedicated parking space and the fact that the bus into town stops nearby. This was important as parking in Lyme is limited.

The breakfast basket was generously filled and the home made bread is a lovely personal touch.

All in all, we couldn't have found a better place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sorry, it has to be the kitchen worktops!
Liked least: Leaving......
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 13, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time & trouble to write such lovely lines about our Retreat Cottage for Couples with Breakfast Basket.

I'm so glad you found us so convenient for Lyme Regis too - either by car just 5 minutes drive or by catching the local double decker at the end of our road near the pub.

We personally meet and greet our guests and are able to pass on local knowledge of the best places to park (there's a fantastic car park in Lyme Regis for just £1.70 all day!) the best places to visit and where to eat (having tried them all!!).

Hope to see you again and thank you for your uplifting correspondence and review.

Joy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agata M
Leatherhead, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“river cottage stop-over”
Reviewed September 2, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

what a lovely place! i wish we could stay longer. we had tickets for river cottage course so only stay in retreat for two nights. it's a lovely cottage, very modern with great facilities. the owner was very nice and helpful. plenty of greenery around. wake up to birds singing every morning. i would love to come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: area, modern finishing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2013
Thank you for these lovely lines - delighted this 2 night short break was so enjoyed.

It was a pleasure having you visit us and hope to see you again.

Check out our new Apartment for couples, with slipper bath that is also listed on this directory and available from 20th December onwards.

Best wishes,

Joy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del C
Buckingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Weekend Away”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

I have just returned from a weekend away with my wife and have had to write my first review on Trip Advisor as I was so pleased with our accommodation. The Retreat was a 5* gem of a place and exceeded my expectations. Every modern convenience has been thought of and the whole place was sparklingly clean and well-equipped with everything you could need for a break away. We especially appreciated the breakfast hamper with freshly baked bread. Thank you for the extra loaves Joy - delicious! If you are visiting the East Devon area, then you are in for a superb treat if you book the Retreat. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It had everything going for it
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 28, 2013
It's wonderful to read such fantastic comments - and just delighted you enjoyed the bread - especially as it was such a special occasion for you.

Very much hope to see you again - and readers - our new Apartment here at Hedgehog Corner with slipper bath is available from December onwards for couples seeking peace and relaxation.

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to do such lovely lines.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda C
Buckinghamshire
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We wouldn't change a thing”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Firstly, thank you to Joy for making us feel so welcome in her home and for enabling us to enjoy two wonderful days at the Retreat! From the moment of booking up until our departure, we were kept well-informed and given details of local events and handy information which saved us lots of time. The accommodation is just as lovely as the pictures show: bright, airy and immaculately clean! The rain shower was fab, the bed super comfy and the reclining sofa a nice treat. Every time there was something we needed we opened a cupboard and it was simply there. The attention to detail is fantastic, with lots of modern features, and we are sure lots of future reviews will say the same thing. The location is great too, only a couple of minutes taxi ride from The River Cottage HQ and a short drive from the lovely restaurants of Lyme Regis and Axminster. Although we had the privacy of a self-catering unit and our own private parking space, it was also very handy being in the grounds of Hedgehog Corner B&B, with Joy and staff on hand when required. The breakfast hamper was exactly what we needed, with the best homemade bread, fresh eggs, butter, jams, juice and cereals etc. We had booked the Retreat to celebrate my 40th birthday, and I am so glad that we did as it was just perfect!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was SO clean and the attention to detail
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 26, 2013
Thank you so much for such lovely words about our new Retreat Cottage for Couples.

I am pleased you enjoyed the Breakfast Basket and our home made bread. Being foodies I did appreciate your kind words about it.

So glad you enjoyed such stunning weather - the Jurassic Coastline at its best!

I look forward to welcoming you again.

Joy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing