We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lyme Regis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rotherfield House B&B
Ranked #9 of 45 Lyme Regis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We spent a very comfortable weekend at Rotherfield House - beautifully appointed rooms, with lots of extras, and off-street parking - a real bonus in the centre of Lyme. A very substantial breakfast was served in our room (choices to be made by 9pm the previous evening). Jaqui was very friendly and welcoming. We come to Lyme regularly (to visit an elderly mother) and this is the best b&b that we have stayed in.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
170
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed at Rotherfield for two nights for a break from the hustle and bustle of London. We were so pleased that we chose this. It was quiet and peaceful, walking distance to the beach and lovely restaurants within minutes. We stayed in the patio room which was decorated to a very high standard, including an incredible sensor bathroom mirror. The breakfast is amazing - Jaqui is a wonderful host and she was always available with tips and ideas for exploring Lyme regis. We will certainly be back and would recommend this to everyone.

Room Tip: The patio room is excellent,with access to the lovely courtyard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rayfay2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We visited Rotherfield House for two nights last weekend; a late birthday treat for my partner as we were going to the River Cottage HQ on the Friday night.
Rotherfield House has two beautiful rooms, with patios to the front (which if the weather was better we would have made good use of). We were in the Patio Suite room, but got a glimpse of the Patio room the next day, and both are of equal appeal (though ours was slighly bigger). Beds comfy, decoration gorgeous and really bright and well looked after. There are lots of treats and drinks provided; a real winner for us :)
Breakfast was a real treat, delivered to your room, excellent first and second course!
Jaqui is a natural host, with the perfect level of service, and attention to detail.
Thank you for an excellent stay, we really enjoyed talking with you, and loved your property!
Lyme Regis is a great place to visit, and we thoroughly enjoyed the River Cottage experience,as well as dinner on the Saturday evening at The Harbour Inn.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollyCottrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We spent a lovely long weekend at Rotherfield House for my girlfriend's dad's 60th. We couldn't have been more welcome, there is parking and two totally independent rooms both decorated beautifully. There were lovely personal touches and any questions about the local area were answered willingly. Breakfast was a real treat with delicious fresh fruit, cereals and yogurts before a selected 'hot course'. Everything was special about our stay and we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank a_melks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Very friendly welcome and superb hospitality throughout. The accommodation was perfect, the breakfast was excellent and very filling! Lyme itself was charming and the surrounding countryside lovely. If you're staying for a weekend, try the cliff walk from Charmouth to Golden Cap. We had a great fish dinner in the Bay restaurant. We also sampled a very tasty curry!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SeanJacko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

My mum, sister and I took both the B&B rooms at Rotherfield house for a long weekend recently. We were warmly welcomed when we arrived on Friday evening with a tour of the rooms and an introduction to the way breakfast works. The rooms were spacious and warm and beautifully decorated. I particularly liked the sofa with hidden footrest in the suite. We completed the slip for our breakfast orders and posted it under the door as instructed. The breakfast experience was fab - a Victorian trolley delivered into our living space with yoghurt, fruit, cereals, juice, tea, toast and then followed by our full English break kid about 15 minutes later. Our hosts were always available and helpful but only when we needed them - they struck a perfect balance between helpful and hidden! This was a great location for our wanders into Lyme and for getting out and about into the countryside.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beeples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2013

A warm friendly welcome ,comfortable accommodation with touches of luxury ,in a beautiful town! What more could you ask for?
My husband and I enjoyed a great weekend in this lovely resort. Jaqui not only provided a delicious breakfast but also great tips on where to eat in the evenings that we stayed in Lyme. The Patio room was very comfortable and warm during our chilly November stay! Lovely tasty treats provided add to the feeling of being thoroughly spoilt. Our weekend was completed with a walk, also suggested by Jaqui , along the coast path between Beer and Branscombe. Looking forward to our next stay in this beautiful part of the country....

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyme Regis
2.9 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Westwood Guest House
Westwood Guest House
#2 of 45 in Lyme Regis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dorset House
Dorset House
#1 of 45 in Lyme Regis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lyme Townhouse
Lyme Townhouse
#10 of 45 in Lyme Regis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rotherfield House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rotherfield House B&B

Property: Rotherfield House B&B
Address: B&B View Road, Lyme Regis DT7 3AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Lyme Regis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious contemporary guest accommodation in the heart of Lyme Regis, just a few hundred metres from the beach and High Street. At Rotherfield House our aim is to give you the freedom and convenience to come and go as you please, much like a hotel, but with all those personal touches you only get from an independent guest house. Our newly refurbished rooms enjoy independent access directly from private patios which have views to the sea and Jurassic Coast. Both rooms are beautifully appointed with Egyptian cotton bedding, modern shower rooms, Satellite TV/DVD, ipod dock, free WiFi, your own kitchen facilities stocked with breakfast welcome pack. Each room has allocated on-site parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rotherfield House B&B Lyme Regis, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing