We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inspiring and comfortable”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lyme Regis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arty B+B By The Sea
Ranked #22 of 45 Lyme Regis B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Just had a lovely winter weekend here. Beautifully decorated red room, plenty of space and very comfortable. Loved the house - welcoming and relaxed atmosphere and came away inspired to try some simple printing which was an unexpected bonus! The view from the garden only appeared briefly through the mist but was worth the wait. If you eat out, don't miss the Tierra Kitchen - new vegetarian restaurant which is fantastic.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanandmark33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 77 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013

We were lucky enough to spot this little gem of a B & B, whilst looking for somewere to stay near Park Farm (River Cottage), whilst undertaking a cookery course there. Having an arty streak myself we were drawn to the wonderful photos of the interior and the excellent reviews. The place itself is quirky and welcoming. The art (of which there is an abundance) is stunning, vibrant, thought provoking.

Hugh (the artist of most of the art displayed) and Candida were very welcoming and attentive and the breakfast with eggs from the garden (orange yolked) and homemade bread a lovely treat.

We stayed in the blue room which was very pretty. On opening the door we were greeted with a beautifully decorated room, canopied bed and the heady smell of hyacinth. When we return (as we said we would) we would like to stay in the red room, to experience this too.

Much has been made of Hugh's handmade wall paper and we are hoping to go back to the Arty B & B to take the course in learning how to make these exquisite hangings, at the end of the year.

All that is left is to thank Hugh and Candida for a lovely weekend break! Amanda and Giles

Room Tip: Purely down to colour preference. Does Blue or Red appeal to you the most?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candida B, Owner at Arty B+B By The Sea, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thank you Amanda and Giles, it is a pleasure to host such appreciative guests, and we look forward to seeing you when you book in to the red room! All the best, Candida and Hugh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

One of the best views in Lyme, staying in this wonderfully Bohemian house full of colour, light and character, was an absolute treat, with stunning hand-printed wallpaper adorning the bedroom walls, vibrant paintings througout, and getting to meet the Artist and his lovely ecological and creative wife - we can't wait to go back. Add to that the home made bread and attention to detail in every way, the memory will really stick in our minds.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Red Room with a four poster bed and lovely ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sacredspring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

A beautiful quirky and interesting B&B by the sea. once you have entered the front door which is adorned with welcoming peaceful messages you feel as if you have been transported to another world .Beautiful wallpaper handmade by one of the owners Hugh Dunford Wood & art covering the walls made it a fascinating place to stay.
The rooms were comfortable & well equipped. Food was healthy and wholesome.
The owners made us feel very welcome.

Room Tip: Perfectly located to be near the town and sea..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caroline r r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

A very welcoming stay by the sea. A great house with lots of interesting features. Very accomodating hosts and an amazing breakfast. Super location at the top of the high street. Hope to be back over the summer!

Room Tip: Red or Blue? They are equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RGAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candida B, Owner at Arty B+B By The Sea, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Thanks very much for your trip advisor review!
We look forward to seeing you in the summer,
All the best
Candida and Hugh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We love this little place so much we have been back twice and tried both rooms... Each one is nicer than the other! Lovely hosts, inspiring art in every nook and cranny, yummy breakfast... And where else do you get home made biscuits in each room ? If for you the B&B experience means beige and bacon, don't come here... Otherwise, prepare to be delighted.

Room Tip: The red room is as lovely as the blue room which is as nice as the red...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rajajarrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a perfect B&B in beautiful Lyme Regis, boasting so many things - glorious surroundings, luxurious and very individual rooms, delicious home made healthy breakfasts and wonderfully welcoming hosts. Guests become part of a fabulous home, surrounded by beautiful art and they can enjoy the best views in the world! I had the most glorious time and would recommend the Arty B&B to anyone.

Room Tip: There are just two rooms and they are both beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyme Regis hotels
0.1 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
445 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alexandra Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clovelly Guest House
Clovelly Guest House
#12 of 45 in Lyme Regis
112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lyme Townhouse
Lyme Townhouse
#10 of 45 in Lyme Regis
109 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cobb Arms
Cobb Arms
#16 of 45 in Lyme Regis
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arty B+B By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arty B+B By The Sea

Address: The Little Place Silver Street | Dorset, Lyme Regis DT7 3HR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Lyme Regis
Price Range: $124 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay the weekend, or longer, in our beautiful Georgian home in the pretty seaside town of Lyme Regis, the Pearl of West Dorset's Jurassic Coast.Here in Lyme Regis you will never be bored. You can laze on a beach, collect fossils or jetsam from the Victorian dump that is crumbling onto the shoreline. You can trawl the shops or eat yourself silly. It takes a morning to explore the face of this charming Georgian gem, but this is a small town with a large town's appetite for adventure.Turn to the page Things to Do, or ask Hugh when you arrive - what's new? Decorated in handprinted wallpapers, paintings of the coast and of the artist's family, this studio home* is set in the very heart of the town. Little Place is 5 minutes uphill from Broad Street, the main drag, and Langmoor Gardens with its celebrated view and access to the ancient Cobb, the harbour and the beach. We have two rooms with en suite shower, not sea views. You can have breakfast on the verandah with a stunning sea view overlooking Golden Cap, and sit in our garden. Most of the breakfast is home made produce; and we strive to live in an environmentally-friendly way. Parking in nearby pay and display carparks. "One of the prettiest places in the UK" as recently described by John Sargeant, Lyme Regis and especially Little Place continue to be an inspiration to its present artist owners. Here's your opportunity to share that inspiration by staying in a quite unique house in this jewel of a seaside town.This arty house has pedigree. For many years it was the home of Sir Laurence Whistler, The Queen's Glass Engraver. He left his mark on several beautiful windows about the house.This is a creative, working house and we welcome those who respect a quiet atmosphere. Your host Hugh is a working artist with a busy practice in portraits, landscapes, & lino prints together with textiles & wallpaper making. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Arty B+B By The Sea Lyme Regis, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing