We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Fossil Hunting walk

We walked along Lyme Regis with Paddy and Chris. It was really fun and we got to keep lots of... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Seánna O
Fossil Walk

We recently visited the brilliant little museum which was a delightful surprise. Lots of... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Wendy S
Read all 432 reviews
  
Reviews (432)
Filter reviews
432 results
Traveler rating
286
119
25
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
286
119
25
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fossil walk mary anning local history fossil hunting interesting exhibits quirky building well worth a visit jane austen jurassic coast on display literary connections three hours take home little gem rainy day chris paddy
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 432 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We recently visited the brilliant little museum which was a delightful surprise. Lots of interesting exhibits and interesting touches. The fossil table with drawers, noises and things to look at through magnifying glasses was enchanting. Our highlight was the fossil walk with Chris and Paddy. I wanted to do it all again, it was riveting. They were so well informed and brilliant teachers making sure everyone went home with something. I really can’t wait to go back and even though we only arrived home today are planning our next trip. I’ve got lots of reading and learning to do in between trips all sparked by their contagious enthusiasm. First rate, thank you so much we had a wonderful afternoon

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A small museum which is crammed (probably too crammed) with a lot of artifacts relating to the history of Lyme Regis plus a lot of information boards. Interesting but not easy to navigate your way around the floors.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank LichfieldBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2019

In an old quirky building originally designed as a museum this holds a wealth of artefacts about the history of Lyme and also famous people associated with it. It’s major exhibition are the fossils found in the nearby cliffs with much information about them. They are stunning and well displayed. Children are catered for with questionnaire sheets. The entry ticket lasts for a year so you can keep returning.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank ticus15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2019

What a charming museum. The staff/volunteers were very good as well. From grandparents to grandchildren we all enjoyed our visit. Furthermore, on the day after our visit to the museum we happened across a team of museum volunteers who'd set up a pop-up fossil polishing centre on the promenade. Their aim was to raise awareness and to raise a little cash for the museum - both quite reasonable aims - but in the process they wowed my grandsons, who each left with their own polished fossil ammonite.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Bob_MatPhys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2019

A gem of a museum right by the sea front, not too big, and with quirky architecture that adds to its charm. The fossil room has some spectacular and famous fossils and yet maintains its local feel and sense of being a community asset. Make sure to check out the drawers beneath the display cases as they contain even more information and material. If you are lucky enough to meet and talk with Chris the Education Officer you will learn even more as he is so enthusiastic, passionate and knowledgeable.

The museum is about much more than fossils though - literary connections abound. We knew about Jane Austen, but Beatrix Potter?

Check what extra activities the museum is offering - we lucked onto a fossil polishing activity being held under one of the shelters just along on the Marine Parade. For a couple of pounds you chose a fossil and then polish it; very well organized and a lovely souvenir, for adults as well as children.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews