We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great little local museum!”

Lyme Regis Philpot Museum
Ranked #5 of 29 things to do in Lyme Regis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum has a large display of fossils from the area.
Chalgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A great little local museum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Rainy weather and a suggestion from our B&B brought us to this great little museum with a very reasonable entry fee (less than £8.00 for two adults). There was plenty to be of interest to all visitors from local history to fossils and geology of the area. The staff were very helpful, answering our questions and telling us entertaining stories about some of the exhibits. We especially liked that the museum was continuing to record the history of Lyme by encouraging locals to add to their story through photos of local events and documenting everyday life in Lyme. We easily spent a few hours here while the rain came down but it was such an interesting place we would recommend anyone to visit whether it was raining or not.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank dontlikeroughinit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    85
    19
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is a beautiful building. An amazing amount of material to view, on very varied themes. This being Lyme, I suppose the fossils just had to be impressive - and they are magnificent. But it's not all fossils! Lyme has very high flying literary connections and these are all explored too.

A thorough visit may occupy an hour or so.

No toilets - although the public ones are just across the road.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bibs28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“For all ages”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

I have visited the museum with my three year old twin boys and they loved every minute of it. The highlight for me was being able to look through the draws containing various fossils and the delicate old costumes on display. The boys loved the building, especially the stairs and the top of the tower. They had a great fun sorting through the costumes and climbing the metal stairs. All the staff were incredibly friendly and polite, which must be difficult with two little terrors roaming around like that.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank TTaylor25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walton
1 review
“excellent fossil hunting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

this was my third fossil hunting expedition organised through the lyme regis museum.
previously i had been with the museum's very experienced and highly qualified guides - paddy and chris. this time they were unavailable and paul crossley took us out , we had an excellent afternoon finding quite a lot of nice fossils especially in the stones hammered open by paul.
a major bonus of paying the £10 to go on the walk is that paddy or chris will clean up your finds in their shop in the high street free of charge afterwards.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank opinionatedWalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Built as a museum, which is unusual, it is a mine of information on the local area, fossils etc. Well worth a visit, and excellent for children too.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank cms7275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lyme Regis Philpot Museum also viewed

 

Been to Lyme Regis Philpot Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing