We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Welcome” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mariners Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mariners Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lyme Regis
Norton Canes
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Welcome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

The location and staff at the Mariners are excellent and we would recommend the hotel to anyone wishing to visit Lyme Regis.

The hotel however does need a bit of TLC, the decor is looking a little tired and premises does require a bit of a "tidy up". This does not detract from a very enjoyable holiday in a very friendly town.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a garden and sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ptbutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    153
    57
    24
    9
See reviews for
48
244
26
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

Generally friendly and accommodating staff (see below). From the garden, beautiful views overlooking the coast. The room was pleasant and good bedlinen. Happy to stay there again if there are improvements. Suggest to allocate a lockable cupboard for left luggage if one cannot check in before 2pm. The location was highly accessible, so is attractive from that point of view.Lack of internet in room was a problem as I was told there was when I booked the room (staff did not care at all about this)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank orp73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Stayed in room 8 and was astonished to find a small room with tiny ensuite with shower - for £130 per night B&B. Booked for two nights - left before breakfast after one uncomfortable night. Gentleman on reception unhelpful - I complained about small room and he showed me another of similar size. Arrived having stayed 3 nights at the excellent Norfolk Royale (4*) in Bournemouth for the same price. In fairness room clean and young morning receptionist professional.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank devonandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinersLymeRegis, Manager at Mariners Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Devonandrew,

I'm sorry you felt the room was small and poor value at the Mariners, I'm afraid that we are a period 17th century listed building and not a purpose built hotel. As such some of our rooms are smaller than you would find in a modern hotel, however we do find that this adds to the charm and character of the Mariners.

I'm not sure why you found the receptionist unhelpful as we only had one other available room that night and he did offer it to you.

We do try and price ourselves competitivly with the other accommodation in Lyme Regis, with other hotels typically costing between £125 and £200+ per night, and B+B's between £70 and £150. We feel we are in the correct price bracket as you could pay the same for a B+B and would not have private parking, a Lounge, Garden, Bar and Restaurant available on site.

Lastly I'm glad the room was clean and you found our staff proffessional, as we have had some issue's with new cleaners, and I am happy that seems to have been sorted out.

I hope we can welcome you back to the Mariners in the future.

warm regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
314 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We have just returned from a two night stay at the Mariners over the bank holiday weekend. Unfortunately we were disappointed with our stay. This is not a family friendly hotel. On arrival the receptionist did not speak to our three children and his face clearly showed his displeasure! Our interconnecting family room was small and cramped for our three children. We also had no view which was disappointing. Most of the staff (except one lovely girl) did little to enhance our stay. It seemed as if we were too much trouble..! The food was good but the service poor and again staff could not be bothered to interact with the children. We shall not be returning to the Mariners Hotel and i would not recommend to anybody with children.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoLiveYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinersLymeRegis, Manager at Mariners Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Nickyxwilliams,

I'm sorry you did not enjoy your trip to the Mariners as much as we hoped. I have spoken to the staff about your comments on them not interacting with the children and they were most apologetic about this, and quite surprised as we consider ourselves very family friendly, and pride ourselves on our customer service.

Our family room is designed for 2 adults and 2 children, we do allow a Z-Bed in the room on request, as you did, however this will obviously reduce the space in the room as you have an extra bed in it. We do have sea view rooms available but these do come at a premium over the standard rooms.

I'm glad that you enjoyed the food at the Mariners as we have worked hard to maintain our rosette award in our restaurant.

Warm regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Room hugely overpriced for the size of it and it was very very dirty, the carpets badly stained and the headboard grease made you shudder and resolve not to SIT up in bed. We paid for our little dog to stay and as he is, like most other dogs, well house trained we did not understand why the room was so grim, afterall our home is not like this. We dread to think how owners with a larger dog would have coped. The shower room was a definite health hazard, mould on every wall, floor and ceiling and the shower door would only fit a size 10 person, sideways! The bed was not much more than 4 foot wide. Restaurant food was good but pricey, on our last evening, and before 9pm, we asked for a bar meal or sandwiches, well the Scottish receptionist nearly had a fit, 'the kitchen is closed and we don't do sandwiches" she said with true unbridled disgust. So off we went to the Tesco express in the high street and bought some. The young staff were very friendly and helpful. The grass in the back garden was so long we lost sight of our little dog, Fossil festival was good but we would not recommend this place to stay, other reviewers were correct about the steep hill, we renamed it cardiac hill! Beware, if the mould doesn't get you then the hill probably will.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinersLymeRegis, Manager at Mariners Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Ann P,

Firstly I would like to apologise for the cleanliness of your room not meeting our usual high standards. We have had some problems with cleaning staff at the Mariners but this has now been rectified and replacements have been found.

The bed in your room is a standard double bed, 4 foot 6 inches. We are a period 17th century building, and as such, we are limited in the space we have, in much of the hotel. Unfortunately there is not enough room for a bigger bed in your room.

I'm sorry if Lynn's enthusiastic manner was interpreted as having a fit, she can be quite loud and gesticulate a lot, but did not mean for it to come across as 'unbridled disgust'. I would like to point out that when you stayed at the Mariners, we were still on our off season restaurant times which did not change until the bank holiday weekend. Up until then the restaurant closed at 8:30pm.

lastly i'm glad you found the food enjoyable in our restaurant, we are very proud of our chefs and the high standards they maintain.

I hope we can welcome you back to the mariners in the future.

Warm regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Disappointed to be given a room overlooking the road. The bathroom and the shower was dirty the shower head was blacken with mould, my husband would not use it, even thought I tried to clean it. I requested a table with a view for dinner as we were celebrating our wedding anniversary, but the resturant was closed as there was not enough people to open it. So we had to sit in the darkened bar, which was not helped by the weather. But the food was good and plenty of it.Breakfast was served in the resturant but with little finesse by the serving staff. Ideal location and car park, but will not be visiting again. Signs in the hotel advertising for housekeeping staff were reflected in the lack of care to the cleanliness of the rooms bathrooms in particular.

Room Tip: I think that our room was number 8 try to request a room at the back overlooking the garden, but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marylambr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

Sadly the weather coloured my view of our stay at The Mariners - which, I know, is very unfair. Wanting simply to go fossil hunting we booked for two nights but cold lashing rain drove us home after one night and we had to forfeit money for the booked room although the charming receptionist did say they would refund this if the room was rebooked that day. Although young, all the staff we came into contact with were very pleasant and could not have been more friendly or helpful.
Our sea view room was clean and adequate but a couple of small niggles re our ensuite would annoy if I had stayed for longer - e.g., if your towel doesn't need washing you are requested to hang it on the towel rail but this is so small you would be hard pressed to get two hand towels on it, there wasn't a shower cap supplied and the wire unit in the shower was very rusty. So saying, the shower itself was excellent.
We had no complaints at all about either breakfast or the dinner. In fact, the food on our one and only night was very good and we were presented with a very impressive wine list. I do particularly like choosing my meal over a pre-meal drink in the lounge and being escorted to my table when the first course is ready. To my mind this small hotel has unexploited potential to be very good indeed but just lacks a few finishing touches.

Room Tip: This is not suitable for anyone with mobility problems as situated on a steep hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geemag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyme Regis
2.8 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hensleigh House
Hensleigh House
#1 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dorset House
Dorset House
#1 of 47 in Lyme Regis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariners Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariners Hotel

Property: Mariners Hotel
Address: Silver Street, Lyme Regis DT7 3HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lyme Regis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mariners Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Mariners Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariners Hotel Lyme Regis, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing