We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff, lovely room”
Review of Mariners Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mariners Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lyme Regis
Reviewed May 10, 2014

A very nice Hotel, though located on a steep Hill so not for everyone. Staff were extremely accommodating which was nice as single traveller.
Comfy double bed, good ensuite.
Only complaint though was breakfast lacked traditional Baked Beans and a little greasy with it. Excellent Croissants and Jam selection.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cometconsumer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (443)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 443 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2014

Found this gem last year and brought the family back. With ages between 4 and 73 all were delighted with the Sunday lunch, Amazing to find, on a Bank holiday weekend, a restaurant at the coast that was not heaving.Excellent food, attentive staff with nothing too much trouble. A pleasure to finish with coffee in the garden overlooking the coastline, we will definitely be back!,

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We arrived at The Mariners for a 3 night stay and were shown to our room, room 9. It did have a lovely sea view but that was all it had going for it. The valanced sheet was filthy & clearly hadn't been washed in ages, the bedside tables were badly stained, the walls were stained and the windows and wall had cobwebs on them. Not what I expected for £150.00 a night b & b. We left immediately. Even the staff agreed with us and gave us a full refund. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinersLymeRegis, Manager at Mariners Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Dear Sarah T,

I can only apologise that the room did not meet our usual high standards. As you can see from our other reviews this is not the norm.
By way of an explanation, we had a new cleaner on our staff and the room had not been checked after she had cleaned it, however this is no excuse. I have spoken to all members of housekeeping in relation to this and I can assure you that this will not happen again. I hope we can welcome you back to the Mariners in the future.

warm regards
Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

I stayed here for a night on Business - The hotel had friendly staff who were eager to please. the room I boked was a bit small - but it was just a single room. Breakfast was good All in all a pleasant stay - I will come again!

Room Tip: The single rooms are small - no bath just a shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

First visit to Mariners hotel ,good friendly staff , our room ,tidy ,but shower room needs a up grade ,shower cubicle quite dirty ,some grouting needed now .
Dinner first night , my wife's had dressed crab it was excellent , i had ordered moules marinieres but received moules mariners there own type with chorisa sausage ,not good ,very bitter , they offered to replace or take it off the bill ,but I had eaten it ,so paid for it but should not have happened . would stay again in hotel but would check room . enjoyed our two nights there .

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

This hotel is in a very old building which brings with it a lot of charm. It was approx a 10 minute walk into town but uphill on the way back so may have taken a minute or two more.

We found the service to be friendly but would have appreciated a couple of pointers and/or a map of the town having arrived late evening and wanting to find somewhere to eat. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast freshly cooked and of a good standard.

All in all if we were to return to Lyme Regis, we would happily stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DLF12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

If you ar looking for show off - don´t come. But if you are looking for warm and frendly service and good food. Clean and nice rooms and sea wievs from the common areas and some of the
rooms and the small garden.Then it´s perfect for a couple of days. The restaurant was so good we prefer not to go out, but stayed for dinner.
Realy value for money.

B. Nielsen, Denmark

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nielsen2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyme Regis
2.8 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
376 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
256 reviews
4.4 mi away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
846 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lyme Townhouse
Lyme Townhouse
#10 of 45 in Lyme Regis
104 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dorset House
Dorset House
#1 of 45 in Lyme Regis
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariners Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariners Hotel

Address: Silver Street, Lyme Regis DT7 3HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lyme Regis
Price Range: $150 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mariners Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mariners Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariners Hotel Lyme Regis, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing